Community
Wiki Posts
Search

problem with charging...

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2006, 06:39 PM
Tech Regular

Default problem with charging...

ok heres my problem, i just bought a tc4 a month ago wirh a epic 3000 battery and a tower power ac/dc 400 quick charger....ok that charger, charged my battery in like 30 minutes and i had like 15min of play....some poeple told me that this charger was dangerous and was really a bad charger...soo i went and bought a intellipeak digital pulse charger...ok my problem is this....dont know if the charger is ok or i dont know how to use it...i charge the battery in slow charge and dont know how much time i have to leave it charging..i left it today like 2 hours charging and went out and it gave me like 3 of 4 mines of play...whats happening? how much time does this charger take to charge my battery? do i have to leave it charging more hours?

sorry about this thread but im a newb in RC lol...thanks for the help..
Old 05-22-2006, 07:33 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I looked up that tower 400 charger, it looks to be very low end peak charger charging at low amp rates. ITs ok for bashing but its not high quality and i would not trust the latest 3300-4200 cells on it as you should have adjustable delta peak settings. AT LEAST its not a timer charger!

You new charger is a step in the right direction but again its lacking adjustable peak values but im sure it will work safely regardless. I used to run the APEX version of that charger for years good bang for the buck.. I beleive your not using it properly though, if you set it to 5 or 6amps you should be able to charge your back in 30-45 minutes. IT had trickle charge and you dont want to charge that way. READ the manual agian, if i recall it takes a sereis of button pushing to swithc modes, one push was discharge, 2 was charge and 3 was discharge before going into charge. Dont quote me on that read the manual again.