R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > RC Boating

Old 12-25-2010, 03:52 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Default New to RC Boats, thinking of getting a Shockwave 26

Hi,
As said I am new to rc boats, NOT RC in general, and I would like to get my first. I have recently moved to the Dominican Republic and have a large pond near my house as well as going to the beach on weekends! I have been looking around and am especially interested in the ProBoat Shockwave 26 BL RTR, I want electric FOR SURE and BL. IS this a decent boat to start? I have heard of prop breaking issues but in theory that has been corrected with a metal prop now, correct? Anything I should look out for?
Now for the real noob question, how do you get ur boat back if ur battery dies or ESC fries or whatever!!!?? How do LIPO cutoffs work in boats? Does it cut and give you enough power to get back to shore? Will running on the beach be a problem? I know I cant do speed runs with waves and such and I should wipe it down with fresh water after running, anything else to look out for?
Thanks guys!
Nesal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 05:16 PM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)

I can't answer all of your questions, but I think I can help with a few. First I will say that when I got into boats someone told me to check out http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/ They helped me out a lot with the questions that I had.

Whenever I run my boats I take a fishing pole with me with a big bobber on the end of the line. I have fished many of boats out of the pond with it. It is a lot better than waiting on the wind to push it to shore (I have gone that route as well). I also now have a recovery boat. It's a cheap boat that I picked up for $50 and I use it to go and push my boats back in when they die in the water.