Search

Box Stock Racing Club

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-07-2010, 08:20 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Box Stock Racing Club

Me and a few friends are talking about starting a boat "racing" league (basically BBQ, drink a few soda's and run RC Boats). We have a good sized subdivision lake to run in and we were thinking of all buying the same boat and running them "box stock" so no one would sink a bunch of money upgrading. I have a lot of RC Car/Truck/Racing experience, but the other guys do not have much if any and none of us have driven a boat.

I was wondering about recommendations for a good RTR package. We are looking for enough speed to satisfy, but are more interested in stability and ease of driving (or at least a good balance of speed and stability). I've looked a bit at the SuperVee 27, UL-1 Superior (both may be too fast and the UL-1 appears prone to flipping easy if you're not careful), or the Traxxas Villain EX. We are open to other suggestions, but also want a boat that has good parts availability. Wrenching isn't a problem as we are all pretty mechanically inclined.

Everyone will run NIMH. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
Old 03-20-2010, 08:58 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

The Aquacraft Rio EP would be perfect I would think. Its not too fast, but fast enough to have fun, and it is very difficult to flip (I've never flipped mine). It comes with everything except a battery and charger.
Old 03-31-2010, 06:33 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

PROBOAT FASTECH, ULL B HAPPY IN EVRY WAY!
Old 04-29-2010, 07:12 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

Originally Posted by The Captain
The Aquacraft Rio EP would be perfect I would think. Its not too fast, but fast enough to have fun, and it is very difficult to flip (I've never flipped mine). It comes with everything except a battery and charger.