R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2017, 06:30 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Stiggosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default "Over Voltage" error on Venom Pro Duo

Hey guys,

Got a battery issue that has me stumped. I'm trying to charge a 5000mAH 2S Gen Ace LiPo on a Venom Pro Duo charger. Not doing anything different that I have been for months now, but tonight I'm getting an "Over Voltage" error when trying to charge with the balance cable connected (even if I'm not balance charging).

I've confirmed the LiPo program mode is set properly at 3.7v. When accessing the LiPo Battery Meter, the cells show balanced at 3.8v. Charge rate is set at 5.0 amps and cell count is set to 2S(7.4v). Charging fails after it checks the battery, telling me it's "Over Voltage".

Tried measuring the charge with a voltmeter. Here's what I'm looking at:


With the red voltmeter lead on the red contact and the black voltmeter lead on the middle black contact, voltage reads 3.81v (consistent with what the battery meter read). However, with the red lead on the red contact and the black lead on the far left black contact, voltage reads 7.62v. This startled me at first, but this seems to be the voltage of the whole pack. I assumed the two black wires would correspond to the two cells in the pack individually. Is this not the case?

Can anyone set me straight on what's going on here?
Stiggosaurus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 07:11 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,174
Trader Rating: 215 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiggosaurus View Post
Hey guys,

Got a battery issue that has me stumped. I'm trying to charge a 5000mAH 2S Gen Ace LiPo on a Venom Pro Duo charger. Not doing anything different that I have been for months now, but tonight I'm getting an "Over Voltage" error when trying to charge with the balance cable connected (even if I'm not balance charging).

I've confirmed the LiPo program mode is set properly at 3.7v. When accessing the LiPo Battery Meter, the cells show balanced at 3.8v. Charge rate is set at 5.0 amps and cell count is set to 2S(7.4v). Charging fails after it checks the battery, telling me it's "Over Voltage".

Tried measuring the charge with a voltmeter. Here's what I'm looking at:


With the red voltmeter lead on the red contact and the black voltmeter lead on the middle black contact, voltage reads 3.81v (consistent with what the battery meter read). However, with the red lead on the red contact and the black lead on the far left black contact, voltage reads 7.62v. This startled me at first, but this seems to be the voltage of the whole pack. I assumed the two black wires would correspond to the two cells in the pack individually. Is this not the case?

Can anyone set me straight on what's going on here?
Why is program mode set to 3.7 volts? You're charging a 2 cell battery, right? Should be 7.4 volts for a 2 cell.
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 07:12 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Stiggosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
Why is program mode set to 3.7 volts? You're charging a 2 cell battery, right? Should be 7.4 volts for a 2 cell.
It's 3.7v per cell.
Stiggosaurus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 07:35 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,174
Trader Rating: 215 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiggosaurus View Post
It's 3.7v per cell.
Correct, but shouldn't there be a setting for 2S pack? Don't know anything about these Venoms.
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 08:30 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Stiggosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
Correct, but shouldn't there be a setting for 2S pack? Don't know anything about these Venoms.
Maybe "program mode" isn't the correct term. What I mean is that in the general settings the LiXX mode is set to LiPo at 3.7V (as opposed to LiFE at 3.3V for example). The actual charge mode is set to 2S at 7.4V.
Stiggosaurus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 12:54 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,879
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Some questions to find out:

- Is it on both ports?
- is it also with another battery?
- Is the message not from the input voltage?
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:40 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,174
Trader Rating: 215 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiggosaurus View Post
Maybe "program mode" isn't the correct term. What I mean is that in the general settings the LiXX mode is set to LiPo at 3.7V (as opposed to LiFE at 3.3V for example). The actual charge mode is set to 2S at 7.4V.
That's what I was referring to.
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 06:39 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Stiggosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Some questions to find out:

- Is it on both ports?
- is it also with another battery?
- Is the message not from the input voltage?
- Yes, it does happen on both ports.
- Yes, happens with both a 2S and 3S Gens Ace battery I have. Doesn't seem to happen with the two 4S SMC batteries I have. I doubt it matters, but Gens Ace batteries have Traxxas connectors, SMC have EC5.
- Not sure what you mean by input voltage. I have it plugged into the wall via an AC power cable just as I normally do.

I can charge the batteries without the balance cable plugged in, but I'm a bit leary about doing that. The voltmeter seems to indicate the packs aren't actually over voltage. Would it be safe to go ahead and let them charge without the balance cable attached?
Stiggosaurus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 12:32 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,879
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Are you using a balancer board or do you stick the balancer cable directly into the balancer port?

1 case 1 try to skip the balancer board and in case 2 be sure you stick the connector right.
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 04:29 AM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Stiggosaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
Are you using a balancer board or do you stick the balancer cable directly into the balancer port?

1 case 1 try to skip the balancer board and in case 2 be sure you stick the connector right.
I am using a balance board, but I'm seeing the same results on two different balance boards using two different channels on the charger. Charger is packed up for some practice today, but I'll try plugging it in directly when I can.

It dawned on me last night that I also had a Hobbywing LCD Program Box that has a battery voltmeter on it. Voltages on all my batteries are all within acceptable ranges (lower than 4.2v, higher than 3.5v). It's really looking to me like its something up with the charger, but that still doesn't explain why my 4S SMC batteries balance and charge just fine.

My buddy has a single Venom charger and I think I'll try them on his today and see if I get a similar error.
Stiggosaurus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 06:09 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
RC Juice's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 1,697
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

I have seen this happen before and was never able to pinpoint exactly what caused it, but it does seem that if you just charge them without the balance plug in standard charge mode it will work OK.
RC Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:44 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net