Community
Wiki Posts
Search

drift motor

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2016, 08:19 PM
Tech Rookie

Default drift motor

I am looking for a new drift motor since mine got burned out on the second run. what are good suggestions for a drift motor. I am a beginner. Trying to learn
Old 03-22-2016, 04:58 AM
Tech Prophet

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

I use a Novak drift system in one car. Speed Passion Drif system in another. Both are sensored brushless systems.
Old 03-22-2016, 06:57 AM
Tech Rookie

is sensored better then sensorless? can those be reprogrammed?
Old 03-22-2016, 08:49 AM
Tech Prophet

Originally Posted by Reino_3000
is sensored better then sensorless? can those be reprogrammed?
Sensored gives a much smoother throttle response. Most have some programming options. Haven't messed with programming any ESC, haven't really felt the need to.
Old 03-22-2016, 09:32 AM
Tech Rookie

Oh ok thank you...I never really messed with sensored things when it came to rc..I mainly do crawling. I am still running the stock electronics..and I never had problems with them, until I got my drift car. motor burned out after the second run. Eish. thats why I am looking for something that would burn out so quickly...thank you
Old 03-22-2016, 09:38 AM
Tech Rookie

Oh yeah...since I am just started to learn...I was looking at a 17.5 turn and 21.5 turn. are any of those good to start with?
Old 03-22-2016, 03:46 PM
Tech Prophet

What motor were you using that burned up? I ran basic 15t brushed motors for the first 6 months. An hour or more a day before going brushless.
What car are you using?
I went brushless because I'd peaked on brushed. Plus the painted plywood floor I run on had so much grip I need more. Was running 3/4 to full throttle on brushed. Rarely go more the 1/2 with the brushless. The Speed Passion system is a 10.5. The Novak I believe is a 13.5. I could have stayed brushed, but was practicing for an event that never happened.