R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2017, 05:49 AM   #1261
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,643
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Pelletier View Post
So glad i returned this radio after reading this stuff..... I'm a TLR/Orion/Spektrum fanboy but can't have these sorts of issues on race days.
Still haven't had many issues with mines. Hope you never have the Futaba issues that I've seen at my track. My 4PKS-R was about the same as the DX6R. I'd rate the Airtronics as above them both.
shagino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 11:49 AM   #1262
Tech Addict
 
JRSlash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 673
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagino View Post
Still haven't had many issues with mines. Hope you never have the Futaba issues that I've seen at my track. My 4PKS-R was about the same as the DX6R. I'd rate the Airtronics as above them both.
2 years with my 4px and never had a single issue with it. Luckily for me, I wanted to try the dx6r because one of my friends had it and when I asked him to let me check his radio he told me he got rid of it (moved to sanwa)because software issues and something about the battery (don't know). So im sticking with futaba.
__________________
SOAR 998 EP TD1
VBC Racing Firebolt DM
TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0
TD DEX410v5, DESC210R
Dialed-RC Hobbies (www.dialedhobbies.com), SOAR Seiki Racing
JRSlash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 10:46 PM   #1263
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,643
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRSlash View Post
2 years with my 4px and never had a single issue with it. Luckily for me, I wanted to try the dx6r because one of my friends had it and when I asked him to let me check his radio he told me he got rid of it (moved to sanwa)because software issues and something about the battery (don't know). So im sticking with futaba.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagino View Post
The other day at the track, I saw a guy "lose" all his models on his Futaba 4PX. Since it was on the SD card, he was able to use another 4PX to drive but he needs to send his 4PX in to Futaba. Things happen with every brand.
I know tons of folks that haven't had issues. I saw a big one. If I had to recommend one, I'd pick Sanwa. I'm still happy I switched from Futaba. Biggest reason is that I can leave all my cars on and only the proper one drives. Comes in handy with back to back mains. Side benefit of that, when practicing, I can have a "marshall" car at the ready when I need it.
shagino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 09:53 AM   #1264
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,499
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Spektrum would allow you to have multiple cars on at a time and only drive one. This is is part of the bind features. This has been a "feature" of spektrum radios for quite some time. (DX3R days)
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | Venom | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 06:44 PM   #1265
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 844
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

all good, sorry

Last edited by jnyrcr; 03-20-2017 at 07:44 PM. Reason: opps
jnyrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 10:42 PM   #1266
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'd like to say that I have had no issues with the radio software or the battery in the radio. I do have a bad receiver, but it happens.

I will say I have only one issue with it. I have the telemetry receiver mounted in my Xmaxx. Sometimes while driving the brake activates? It's usually if I feather the trigger. I don't know if it's just slightly going to the break side and activating the brake or what.
LosiMadMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 09:26 AM   #1267
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,514
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LosiMadMan View Post
I'd like to say that I have had no issues with the radio software or the battery in the radio. I do have a bad receiver, but it happens.

I will say I have only one issue with it. I have the telemetry receiver mounted in my Xmaxx. Sometimes while driving the brake activates? It's usually if I feather the trigger. I don't know if it's just slightly going to the break side and activating the brake or what.
Please be sure to contact product support about the bad receiver so it can be replaced.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 10:26 AM   #1268
Tech Addict
 
suzukipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 685
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Please be sure to contact product support about the bad receiver so it can be replaced.
Is there anyway to identify a bad SR2000? I have a couple spares and thought there might be a serial # range or other identifiable marking on them?
__________________
Eric
________________________________________________________________________
Tekno, XRAY, Team Associated & Traxxas Powered by SMC.
Innovative Hobbies Raceway, Flyin-High RC Track
suzukipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:45 PM   #1269
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,514
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suzukipro View Post
Is there anyway to identify a bad SR2000? I have a couple spares and thought there might be a serial # range or other identifiable marking on them?
Not really. It is out of the last 2 batches, some were prone to poor range. If yours get good range, they are good. When I refer to poor range, we are talking like 50 feet.
__________________
-Ryan Dunford
Horizon Hobby Spektrum Product Manager
TLR--Spektrum--Horizon Hobby--Tekin--Venom--Pro-Line--Sticky Kicks--Bradley FLD--ImagineIt Graphics--Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22T 2.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0, TLR 8ight-E 4.0, DX6R
hacker07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 04:41 PM   #1270
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Please be sure to contact product support about the bad receiver so it can be replaced.
I am but I lost my receipt, so I'm trying to get another one printed up....
LosiMadMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 04:42 PM   #1271
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 774
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Not really. It is out of the last 2 batches, some were prone to poor range. If yours get good range, they are good. When I refer to poor range, we are talking like 50 feet.
Mine just made my buggy go bat $!#/ crazy.
LosiMadMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 05:39 PM   #1272
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Default Android?

Ok my only concern is how tethered the radio function is to the android os. If android freezes does radio function as well?
Peeps21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 10:39 PM   #1273
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,499
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Not really. The app is the interface to writing commands to the controller so they are tied together but techincally android OS is not running the radio.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | Venom | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 3.0, TLR 22SCT 2.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, TLR Ten-SCTE 3.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 06:32 AM   #1274
Tech Addict
 
suzukipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 685
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I've been running mine since the original release and had some issues with the manual software updating before updates were available through the Google play store for apps. Since the app updates everything has worked flawlessly and the ergonomic adjustments are outstanding.

I was also able to get a custom trigger 3D printed and it was an improvement that fits like a glove for me now.
__________________
Eric
________________________________________________________________________
Tekno, XRAY, Team Associated & Traxxas Powered by SMC.
Innovative Hobbies Raceway, Flyin-High RC Track
suzukipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 12:12 PM   #1275
mkl
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 825
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I was also able to get a custom trigger 3D printed and it was an improvement that fits like a glove for me now.[/QUOTE]

Nice- want to sell that trigger?
__________________
Tekno SCT410, Tekno EB48, Tekno ET48, X-Ray 808E, TRCE Slash 4x4, Tamiya Lunchbox, Tamiya Frog, Slash 4x4, Axial Wraith
mkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net