R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2015, 09:09 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Default Troubleshooting help. (sensored MMP)

I finally got my SCTE up and running this weekend. Ran into one problem I haven't solved yet.
The set up is:
2s 7200mh 60C SMC
MMP
Spektrum DX4C w/4210
SkyRC Toro S-Pro4 4300kv
Traxxas 2075

When running in unsensored mode it runs as expected and so far hasn't had any issues with power or heat.
When I plug n the sensor it runs perfectly smooth as long as you slowly roll onto the throttle. If you jab the throttle any more than about a quarter pull. It starts to roll then hesitates before it takes off. It does this from a stand still and from a 1/4 throttle roll. I hooked up a receiver battery to rule out a radio brown out.
I tried to post videos but it won't let me post them here yet. I have them up on my thread on "RCFiles" though. Also on my same user name on youtube.

Last edited by prof_snakes; 04-07-2015 at 07:03 AM.
prof_snakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:10 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Possible bad sensor wire. Also make sure your using the correct setting in the software. Castle has a Sensored Mode, Sensorless Mode and a smart mode where it starts in sensored and then switches to sensorless after you get rolling to increase efficiency.
__________________
In the middle of some changes
*702 RC Raceway* *WindWater Raceway*
trickedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 07:03 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Default

I currently have it in "smart sense" mode. I've tried it in sensored only without any change.
I can put a meter to the sensor cable this evening. I assume the wires should be 1-1.
I did try a different firmware last night I went from the most recent to v1.26. The hesitation changed but was still present, it looked and sounded more like cogging with the 1.26 firmware.
prof_snakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 04:51 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I have no had great luck with Castle products.. could be something with the timing sensor either on the motor or speedo... Maybe see if you can try a different motor at your local track to rule out things..
__________________
In the middle of some changes
*702 RC Raceway* *WindWater Raceway*
trickedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:31 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Default

I may have found a solution. I took off the wire loom on the sensor wire. Wrapped the entire thing in a couple layers of aluminium foil (did the same to the power wires but ended up removing it.) This stopped the hesitation before it took off, but left me with a new problem. The esc started restarting every other start. If you started from even a slow roll it was fine. I played with the torque limiting settings and ended up at "8." It quit restarting and it quit hesitating and stuttering.
prof_snakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net