R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2015, 03:12 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default bec or no?

ok here is my esc for starters, castle sv3. will i need a bec for this servo: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...FWxo7Aod00YAFA thats all folks!
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 05:19 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

ITS A BIRD! NO! ITS A PLANE! NO! ITS A BUMP!
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 05:31 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

To get the full potential, a bec would be ideal but, it will fail eventually. Best to buy a high volt servo like the trackstar ts-920 and buy a high volt servo harness. A guy on eBay sells them for $5 I think and they give power straight from the battery so you get full power potential.
ManDime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 05:55 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

so i high volt harness takes power from the battery to power the servo? well hell i didnt know those were made! may well do that but then i am limited JUST to high voltage servos, which isnt a bad thing i guess so i think i may well give that a shot for a good bec and a cheap servo you are spending about the same as a better servo and a hv harness so i guess it balances out think i will do that when i have the need for a high power servo but when i dont like in an onroad car then i guess i can think of something else heck a good traxxas 2055 would be just fine but mine is trashed i have beaten it to hell and drove it in the rain thats what is in my rs4 only becasue it had the most power of what i have on hand (2 nearly dead trx 2018's and at the time i had some ecx/spektrum servo but i am using that in a hobby grade electronic swap i am doing on an old nikko boat)
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 06:03 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManDime View Post
To get the full potential, a bec would be ideal but, it will fail eventually. Best to buy a high volt servo like the trackstar ts-920 and buy a high volt servo harness. A guy on eBay sells them for $5 I think and they give power straight from the battery so you get full power potential.
also mind linking to the hv harness, cant seem to find it
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 06:09 PM   #6
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Perhaps try a stutter stopper / glitch buster / capacitor in the receiver first, that seems to solve most issues. If it even has issues to begin with. Much simpler and probably more reliable than a BEC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguyyouknow View Post
ITS A BIRD! NO! ITS A PLANE! NO! ITS



Lets see if anyone gets this silly reference
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 06:11 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Perhaps try a stutter stopper / glitch buster / capacitor in the receiver first, that seems to solve most issues. If it even has issues to begin with. Much simpler and probably more reliable than a BEC.






Lets see if anyone gets this silly reference
i get it
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 06:13 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguyyouknow View Post
i get it
also i only want a bec not because of issues, but to make shure i am getting the most out of my servo's the hv harness sounds like a good idea for a hv servo but i just plain and simple can find one
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 01:39 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

ya i found one: http://www.amazon.com/voltage-servo-...+servo+harness
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:04 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Why are you all worried about the BEC voltage from your Castle ESC when the servo you've chosen isn't even a HV model?
__________________
TLR 8T 1.5, AE SC10, TLR 22SCT
Yosh70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 04:11 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yosh70 View Post
Why are you all worried about the BEC voltage from your Castle ESC when the servo you've chosen isn't even a HV model?
no i am not worried i just want to get the ebst out of the servo but in the end i desided to go with the hv servo harness method
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 04:21 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
thatguyyouknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: the land of nope
Posts: 233
Default

also i found bits to make it your self and it costs about half as much this is what you need:http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008TKMC86/...I3FPXC9DG07W64
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HWLZDRA/...I1X609E8BM96AQ
__________________
"though i may not agree with what you have to say, i will fight to the death your right to say it"
thatguyyouknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net