R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2015, 06:37 PM   #136
Tech Elite
 
DesertRat's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noline View Post
Can you tell me what all did you do to get your sensor realignmed?
I just re-position the sensor board by slightly bending the tines the support it.
__________________
I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
If everything is under control... go faster.
WTB: Carpet racing in Arizona.
It is obvious and intuitive to the most casual of observers that RC racing is better than golf.
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 07:28 PM   #137
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,919
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Eagle Racing Dyno computer setup.
Attached Thumbnails
G-Force Motor Checker-eagle-racing.jpg  

Last edited by EDWARD2003; 01-13-2015 at 11:50 PM.
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 11:16 PM   #138
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 871
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

All the expensive rc equipment money can buy, but has a computer from 1992. Sometimes it's all about the priorities. LOL I kid, nice setup there.
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 11:32 PM   #139
Tech Elite
 
DesertRat's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm less interested in the Clinton Era computer and more curious about why Ed wants the dyno results of what is clearly a Black and Decker drill motor.
__________________
I race toy cars for fun. If I need to explain, you'll never understand.
If everything is under control... go faster.
WTB: Carpet racing in Arizona.
It is obvious and intuitive to the most casual of observers that RC racing is better than golf.
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 11:41 PM   #140
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,919
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
I'm less interested in the Clinton Era computer and more curious about why Ed wants the dyno results of what is clearly a Black and Decker drill motor.



Hey, you fools! That's not my setup. It's just a photo to give you a visual of what it can do.

My computer runs on MDOS.
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:22 AM   #141
Tech Master
 
Cridd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
I think you guys are over-thinking it. The real advantage of the motor checker is not in making sure each sensor is degree-perfect, because if they're all pretty close (for instance, after adjusting my sensor board on its mounting screws it now reads A:44 B:46 C:46) its close enough. The real advantage you will get in performance is in finding the "sweet spot" in the timing. For 17.5 motors this is about where it draws 2.0-2.5 amps, and for 13.5 about 4 amps. After setting my motors to this number and finding a gearing where the motors stayed cool, lap times dropped on punch out of corners. That's the advantage of this tool, in my opinion.
When testing for amps, is throttle turned all the way up to full red Level 8?
__________________
Chris
B6D / T5M / SC5M
Cridd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 09:17 AM   #142
Tech Addict
 
SLOWINSLOWOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cridd View Post
When testing for amps, is throttle turned all the way up to full red Level 8?
For anything over 10.5T, yes.
__________________
_____________________________________
Earl Towson
KRC WCICS.ca club rep. http://www.krcracing.ca
SLOWINSLOWOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 09:21 AM   #143
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cali
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hilarious!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post


Hey, you fools! That's not my setup. It's just a photo to give you a visual of what it can do.

My computer runs on MDOS.
damo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 09:32 AM   #144
Tech Apprentice
 
Mikkel_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noline View Post
Can you tell me what all did you do to get your sensor realignmed?
I de-soldered the sensors and moved them.

Sky RC are doing a similar Dyno to the MD2

http://www.mcmracing.com/en/home/729...dyno&results=1
Mikkel_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 04:30 PM   #145
Tech Addict
 
bigcracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 589
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Who has the analyzers in stock?
bigcracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 05:46 PM   #146
Tech Fanatic
 
swimbikerun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 886
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcracing View Post
Who has the analyzers in stock?
Superior Hobbies had a few left when I ordered from them yesterday.
__________________
-Xray T4 '16/Xray X12 '16
-2010 Cincinnati Beer Mile Champion
swimbikerun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 04:48 AM   #147
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,919
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Eagle Racing MD2 Motor Dyno results for a R1 Wurks set at 40 degrees using G-Force Motor checker. The load was a 120.3 g weight with a diameter of 40.00 mm. Using a 7.4 lipo battery, and a LRP Flow ESC. The information you see here is the maximum values. There are many other parameters you can check out. Pretty neat unit.
Attached Thumbnails
G-Force Motor Checker-image.jpg  
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:07 AM   #148
Tech Elite
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,282
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post
Eagle Racing MD2 Motor Dyno results for a R1 Wurks set at 40 degrees using G-Force Motor checker. The load was a 120.3 g weight with a diameter of 40.00 mm. Using a 7.4 lipo battery, and a LRP Flow ESC. The information you see here is the maximum values. There are many other parameters you can check out. Pretty neat unit.
That small of a flywheel isn't going to give very much accuracy; the spool-up time is too fast, making the data points spaced too far apart. At least ten times the weight would be much better.
__________________
Howard Cano
When race results are re-calculated using the IOF (Index Of Fun), I always win.
1993 ROAR 1/8 Pan National Champion
howardcano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:52 AM   #149
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via AIM to Essnowyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post
Eagle Racing MD2 Motor Dyno results for a R1 Wurks set at 40 degrees using G-Force Motor checker. The load was a 120.3 g weight with a diameter of 40.00 mm. Using a 7.4 lipo battery, and a LRP Flow ESC. The information you see here is the maximum values. There are many other parameters you can check out. Pretty neat unit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by howardcano View Post
That small of a flywheel isn't going to give very much accuracy; the spool-up time is too fast, making the data points spaced too far apart. At least ten times the weight would be much better.
Random question for compassion. How much did the fantom dyno flywheels weigh from back in the day? I remember one of the guys at the track I was at had both aluminum and steel fly wheels.

Snowy.
__________________
Team XRay, RCAmerica, Motiv, Gravity RC, Schacht Design Works.

Drive it, Dont slide it!
Essnowyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:59 AM   #150
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,919
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I do have the option of bolting on more weight. The maximum the dyno can handle grams.
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:48 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0