R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2014, 10:51 AM   #91
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,796
Default

also the Asymmetry measurement is one of the best features, You can really feel it when you drive if you have a good one
__________________
MOD: A800 R1 Digital-2 HW G2 4.5T|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 24K |||F1:
Xray X1 2017 HW XR10 StockSpec R1 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 11:30 AM   #92
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
I severely doubt that a software update will allow the GForce unit to give you the amp draw of each phase, I think that would require a hardware change and up the price as the digital ammeter is probably a good chunk of the cost. I think the ability to measure the individual phases will remain the advantage of the Motolyser, and if people are hard-core (like oval guys, who traded in their sanity for an extra tenth a long time ago! ) it may be worth it.

As for the motor I tested, it was a Team Powers motor, not an R1. I have also tested my Tekins, Trinity Duos, LRP x12 and X20, and others and all required a little "massaging" and centering of the sensor board to get it closer to perfect.
Thanks As a recovering oval guy, I'm still searching for my sanity - it must have turned right sometime while I was busy turning left.
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 03:09 PM   #93
Tech Addict
 
Jethroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 554
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Motolyser for sale if anyone is looking for one.
__________________
JustRacin'
-------------
"Shut up and Drive!"
Jethroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 04:18 PM   #94
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 37
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Cool

Simpler? I strap my GPS to the car and run it down the street. Gives me max mph right on the screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wallace2 View Post
Thanks but I have an even simpler way to calculate the speed of my car (without a speed gun) and you don't need all those measurements (e.g., do you know the KV rating of your motor with the amount of timing you are using? - I do but I have a Motorlyser). I run my car flat out in the street in front of my house, download the RPM from the ESC, divide by the FDR and I have the wheel speed in RPM. I can convert that to MPH, KPM, or any other unit of measure I want.
christopher_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 07:05 PM   #95
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,
I bought my self a Motolyser and I have some questions.
My motolyser shows a 0.15 volt lower supply value. Is there a way to calibrate this?
The Motolyser shows drifting timing values with the same motor and the same settings
1 run 32.5, 36.6, 39.0
2 run 34.5, 35.5, 35.9
and so on.
Have you noticed the same drift or have you stable values?

Thank you
silden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 11:49 PM   #96
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silden View Post
Hi Guys,
I bought my self a Motolyser and I have some questions.
My motolyser shows a 0.15 volt lower supply value. Is there a way to calibrate this?
The Motolyser shows drifting timing values with the same motor and the same settings
1 run 32.5, 36.6, 39.0
2 run 34.5, 35.5, 35.9
and so on.
Have you noticed the same drift or have you stable values?

Thank you
which firmware version?
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2015, 11:55 PM   #97
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Firmware 142.
The deviation on the tiiming came from the motor. I checked two other and the timimng was consistent. It looks like I grabbed a dull one for the first test.
silden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 09:39 PM   #98
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torg View Post
which firmware version?
TORG are you having problems since you upgraded the firmware with the motors shutting down because of too high of current draw? I'm just using 21.5 and 17.5 motors.
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 09:44 AM   #99
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wallace2 View Post
TORG are you having problems since you upgraded the firmware with the motors shutting down because of too high of current draw? I'm just using 21.5 and 17.5 motors.
Can't say that I have, but then again I haven't re-tested all my motors. Wish they would make a USB readout available as they claimed was possible.

When the high current draw occurs I just turn down the timing on the end bell.

If you don't mind, which motor(s) and at what timing do you see it? If I have the same I can run a test. Otherwise email them, I've found them to be very responsive.
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 11:53 AM   #100
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torg View Post
Can't say that I have, but then again I haven't re-tested all my motors. Wish they would make a USB readout available as they claimed was possible.

When the high current draw occurs I just turn down the timing on the end bell.

If you don't mind, which motor(s) and at what timing do you see it? If I have the same I can run a test. Otherwise email them, I've found them to be very responsive.
Team Powers 21.5 Timing at 4 (~52 degrees).

Kill Shot Maxilla 17.5 58 degrees on end bell (~45 degrees)
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 12:00 PM   #101
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,541
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wallace2 View Post
Team Powers 21.5 Timing at 4 (~52 degrees).

Kill Shot Maxilla 17.5 58 degrees on end bell (~45 degrees)
Have your tried testing with a 1s ?
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 12:06 PM   #102
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Have your tried testing with a 1s ?
Nope! I don't recall having a problem before using my 2S battery.
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 01:52 PM   #103
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,541
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wallace2 View Post
Nope! I don't recall having a problem before using my 2S battery.
Neither have I
But, don't have those motors either
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 05:57 AM   #104
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 37
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I read on here somewhere that the new version had a current cutoff to keep people from burning up the unit.
christopher_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 06:01 PM   #105
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,702
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

these checkers seem great for getting motors to the same settings but how do you know what settings are best?

example: i buy a motor, throw it on the checker and sure it gives me info. then what? what am i looking for in the data that tells me to +/- timing or change to a different rotor, etc..? do you first run the motors on track to set them to the best performance, check 'em and then use that as a baseline and just set every other motor up to those settings?
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Da4head
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net