R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2014, 12:51 AM   #31
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wallace2 View Post
All the motors so far have been used. I got a new D4 motor this morning and have the readings on it. I'll retest after this weekend after a few runs and see if there is any change after a few runs.
Doh! I just finished a 2nd run of motolysing. Forgot my new 21.5 D4, I'll do it tomorrow.

Also going (try) to put together a certified 21.5 killshot.
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 08:05 PM   #32
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torg View Post
Doh! I just finished a 2nd run of motolysing. Forgot my new 21.5 D4, I'll do it tomorrow.

Also going (try) to put together a certified 21.5 killshot.
Round 3

There's a lot of crappy sensor boards out there, that's for sure. And I am not going to blame the motolyser, you can see it with your naked eye. Look at the bottom of this Trinity one... it's a wee bit off.



Evaluating Misalignment of Hall Sensors in Brushless DC Motors
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 08:26 PM   #33
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torg View Post
Round 3

There's a lot of crappy sensor boards out there, that's for sure. And I am not going to blame the motolyser, you can see it with your naked eye. Look at the bottom of this Trinity one... it's a wee bit off.



Evaluating Misalignment of Hall Sensors in Brushless DC Motors
But of course, after speed reading your reference it's very obvious HAHAHA! You know if you press the down button while running the motor, you can see the differences in timing of each hall sensor, which results from misaligned sensors. .
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 05:55 PM   #34
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

Updated with a couple of new Tamiya 54275 TBLM-01S 16Ts

torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 11:59 PM   #35
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

Round 4

Includes peek inside the motolyser itself.
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 07:49 PM   #36
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

Tried the new 114 build of the motolyser at the track today. It is completely different from previous version. Will have to re-run tests on all my motors. I just realized I misunderstood the symmetry part, thought it was timing board related, wrong.. it was magnet related.

Quick test introduced, motor running for 2 seconds and then presenting the result
Introduced Current Test, to verify current consumption when running with end-bell timing
Introduced the "Magnet Symmetry" measurement -> A good magnet read low values (0-5)
Enables the possibility to enter upgrade mode from the main menu
Reduced current measurement noise
Improved startup sequence

"The magnet asymmetry is the deviation from an ideal magnet with identical sized sectors for magnet North and South poles. In the ideal case each pole occupy half the rotor, resulting in a sector of 180 degrees for each pole. However, this is often not the case due to manufacturing tolerances. A perfect magnet with ideal sectors would result in an Asymmetry of 0."

Interesting... the certified Killshot motor I tried today had readings at 26-27. The same 21.5 killshot with timing all the way up resulted in current overload. Which previously I had only seen on much lower wind motors.

http://motolyser.com/release/MotolyserUserGuide.pdf
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 07:55 PM   #37
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

my 21.5 R1 gave magnet symmetry of 0
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 08:00 PM   #38
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

It will be helpful to see how bad a motor really is with a higher symmetry value.
__________________
TEAMORCA.SHOP
MDawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 01:13 AM   #39
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torg View Post
my 21.5 R1 gave magnet symmetry of 0
Well they said they had good magnets. Torg you have a PM
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 10:39 AM   #40
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torg View Post
It is completely different from previous version. Will have to re-run tests on all my motors.
To clarify, the timing numbers I read out are the same...

It's just the tests themselves that have changed from the old manual speed control to motor condition and current tests.

The motor current test for instance, previously I did some at 17%, 50% and 100% which will show different KV and RPM numbers. Later I got lazy and just ran them at 50%, now you can't change it. I don't know what speed % that is at... So they have given us a test where you don't know the input parameters for what is displayed on screen.

I sent a question to Motolyser asking if they could explain what this test actually does. If not I'll have to fire up IDApro on that .mot file
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 10:13 PM   #41
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

"From release #114 the test voltage is adjusted automatically to 3.7V / cell. The reason for this is that people experienced great impact of supply voltage when testing"
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 04:02 AM   #42
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 811
Default NEED SOME HELP LOADING 114

TORG or anyone

Dowloaded the update software and it wouldn't install on my window 8 computer (DFU error). Got it installed on my Windows XP, got the motorlyser connected to the PC and the upgrade tool recognized the motorlyzer.

Then it says select file from the file dialog box and here I find nothing to select -- WTF am I doing wrong? I don't see anywhere on the website for downloading updated software files? Well there is a button for that but it gives me Korean gibberish which when translated is just instruction for hooking up the motorlyser to the computer.
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 06:36 AM   #43
Tech Addict
 
Jethroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 568
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

The firmware file is separate from the update tool. Sounds like you need to grab the .mot file also.

Update Tool
Firmware File
__________________
JustRacin'
-------------
"Shut up and Drive!"
Jethroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 10:57 AM   #44
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 411
Default

FYI, I use it on my windows 8 laptop, not sure if I did the right-click run as admin when installing or not.
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 11:53 AM   #45
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethroz View Post
The firmware file is separate from the update tool. Sounds like you need to grab the .mot file also.

Update Tool
Firmware File
I've been to the firmware file many times and the only thing that is there is (there are no .mot files to grab) - I even used the link you sent. I have every thing working I only need the 114 firmware so the update tool can find it. But first I have to fine it.

? Version1 ࢢ Release Notes Motolyser Feature upgrade tool These release notes are related to build # 114 - Condition test is now running a quick test of 2 seconds. - Introduced quick current test, to verify current consumption when running on endbell timing. - Improved startup sequence - Introduced the "Magnet Assymetry" measurement -> Good magned read low values ​​(0-5) - Enables the posibility to enter upgrade mode from the main menu - Reduced current measurement noise For latest news, please visit www.motolyser .com and register for the Motolyser newsletter. HOW TO ENABLE THE UPGRADE MODE: (Build # 114 and later) - Start your PC application (this application) - Select the. Mot file you want to upload - Connect te USB cable between the PC and Motolyser - Scrol the main menu and select the "Firmware Upgrade" - The Motolyser is detected by the PC - Click the upgrade button (Build prior to # 114) - push the button on the Motolyser with a small device - while pushing the button, plugging in the USB cable - the LCD backlight should start blinking,
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:49 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net