R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2014, 06:22 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,052
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

my one concern is about updating it with other firmwares. its not listed on their download page yet. doesnt show the newer r10.1

http://www.teamorion.com/r10-downloads.html

facebook page doesnt say either. somone asked but no reply.

https://www.facebook.com/teamorion
vr6cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 06:35 PM   #17
Tech Regular
 
MaricopaAgent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maricopa, Az
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a few r10's.. Love it when "new" updated ones come out, I get great deals on last years model.
MaricopaAgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 01:30 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,982
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr6cj View Post
my one concern is about updating it with other firmwares. its not listed on their download page yet. doesnt show the newer r10.1

http://www.teamorion.com/r10-downloads.html

facebook page doesnt say either. somone asked but no reply.

https://www.facebook.com/teamorion
Orion have only had a few software revisions for the R10 over the last 3 years so it's hardly something to be concerned about IMO. Most of those were to fix bugs related to using 4 pole motors and 3s batteries which the speedy was not originally intended to use. Hardly a worry for the average 1/10th scale racer. I don't think the new software will be backwards compatible with the original version so likely reason why there is no download available. I was tossing up running Orca motors and speedies before they announced the 10.1. Can't wait to get my hands on one of these bad boys.
__________________
AERCCC - ARCR - RRCSA

Adelaide RC

Walter Rc Hobby
Benzaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 04:16 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 203
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Experiences?

Anyone have a chance to run one yet? Curious to see how it is vs. the old model....which is flippin' awesome.
sir_thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 04:42 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,220
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Evolution rather than revolution one would expect

The new one is based on the 3.1 Hobbywing isn't it?
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 10:23 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,052
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

Ran mine a pack. Its just like a r10pro but I couldnt say if it was faster in 17.5. Felt faster but timing wasnt on for practice. I ran the mod software in blinky. Rather throw on the stock software but dont want to brick it if not compatable with the older firmware.
vr6cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:49 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
vr6cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 4,052
Trader Rating: 124 (100%+)
Default

ok, just confirmed a few things.

Yes the DSB-R will work fine and update the r10.1 without a hitch. Firmware is same as the r10pro's. I checked loaded version against the download ones and its same. Just updated my r10.1 to stock firmware and no problems.
vr6cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 05:23 AM   #23
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr6cj View Post
ok, just confirmed a few things.

Yes the DSB-R will work fine and update the r10.1 without a hitch. Firmware is same as the r10pro's. I checked loaded version against the download ones and its same. Just updated my r10.1 to stock firmware and no problems.
I found the same results last night as well. I installed my r10.1 and didn't have any issues at all with updating or programming on the older program box. I dig the black lead wires too! I will get to run mine tomorrow with a mod tc on asphalt. I don't expect anything odd will happen, it's been rather standard to this point.

Monti
Monti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 07:24 AM   #24
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Ran my 10.1 this past Friday and Saturday in Mod. The ESC ran solid like I expected with 5 turn.

Monti
Monti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 07:50 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Minor improvements in efficiency is all I see. Some "improvements" are just changes with some unknown value. Like the case and different cuts in the heatsink.... ok it's better, but I'm not gonna replace 6 esc's just because black looks cool. I would also be surprised if new firmware is not backwards compatible so I'm gonna wait and see.
__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 07:57 AM   #26
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asc6000 View Post
Minor improvements in efficiency is all I see. Some "improvements" are just changes with some unknown value. Like the case and different cuts in the heatsink.... ok it's better, but I'm not gonna replace 6 esc's just because black looks cool. I would also be surprised if new firmware is not backwards compatible so I'm gonna wait and see.
I concur about not going out and buying them for all of my cars. I wanted a new one for running mod this summer so I figure to give it a shot.

Can you explain the firmware comment?

Monti
Monti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 12:43 PM   #27
Tech Fanatic
 
skrichter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 844
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to skrichter
Default

It appears the nice vertical solder posts have been removed -- would not be a fan if this is true. If someone can confirm. This is one of the reasons I choose the Orions over LRP.
__________________
LiveRC.com | Dirt Heaven Hobby & Raceway
skrichter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 06:08 PM   #28
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Go L.A KINGS!!!
Posts: 112
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the stock firmware is roar legal in blinky mode 17.5 classes? does adjusting all the stock parameters in the stock firmware keep the esc in blinky mode?
Goldfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 09:59 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,220
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skrichter View Post
It appears the nice vertical solder posts have been removed -- would not be a fan if this is true. If someone can confirm. This is one of the reasons I choose the Orions over LRP.
Really? I find the LRP "U" tabs are brilliant to solder to. So easy!
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 11:44 PM   #30
Tech Fanatic
 
stro3579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago/Alabama
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Where is the best place to get the r10.1? Amain and tower hobby have them at $250-269. Was hoping to find one lower then this.
stro3579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
esc, r10.1, speedo, team orion, vortex


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net