R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2013, 12:53 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Nitro Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Near a beach
Posts: 1,400
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Sanwa/ Airtronics reciever problem

I am running a Sanwa M11x with the 451R receiver, yesterday i has a problem where my steering and throttle would slow up with a delay then the car would freeze. Did a bit of trouble shooting and i think it was a battery issue (7.4v Lipo) but had a similar problem not long ago with another reciever and thought it was the battery but turned out to be the receiver.

My question is there any ways of testing the reciever to see if its faulty.
__________________
Wade Lazich- NSW 1/8 IC State Delegate.
Thankyou for your support- Werks Racing USA/ Pro Rc Supplies/ Aka Aust./ Ryper Hobbies

LRD- Australian distributor of Werks Race Blend 30% fuel. Dedicated solely to the supply of racing products for 1/8 scale nitro Rc. -lazrd.com.au-
Nitro Tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:13 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
gavaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poowong victoria australia
Posts: 439
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitro Tiger View Post
I am running a Sanwa M11x with the 451R receiver, yesterday i has a problem where my steering and throttle would slow up with a delay then the car would freeze. Did a bit of trouble shooting and i think it was a battery issue (7.4v Lipo) but had a similar problem not long ago with another reciever and thought it was the battery but turned out to be the receiver.

My question is there any ways of testing the reciever to see if its faulty.
Had pretty much the same issue with my m12 and 471 receiver in one part of the track loss of signal and would then come good
__________________
Xray xb4 2016
Proamps servo & shortys
Dualsky motor
Hobbywing xr10 pro
Awesomatix a800x
gavaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:17 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
TXRC8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Just had a similar problem yesterday at a RC Pro race. I'm using a M12 with the RX 471 rx in my truggy A main warmup, I would temporarily loose signal, and I also thought it was dead lipo rx pack, changed it out with fresh battery, same issue, I would get a blinking blue light on the RX. Unplugged all servos and transponder and hooked a battery straight to the RX same thing, flashing blue light, then a steady blue light then no light then back to flashing. Tried rebind it, still same issue.
Had no issues with the other RX 471 in the buggy A main at all.
This is the first time this rx has been used, it had 4 rounds of 5 min qual and this started on the warm up table right before the A main.
Any ideas?
__________________
Lance Plant
Sponsors: Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~Pro Line~Avid RC~Airtronics~Werks Racing
TXRC8racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:19 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Forgive me if this is up the wrong road. I haven't had a nitro car since 1969. On a real car a bad sparkplug can cause interference, possible for a glow plug to do the same thing ?
__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:24 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Nitro Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Near a beach
Posts: 1,400
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXRC8racer View Post
Just had a similar problem yesterday at a RC Pro race. I'm using a M12 with the RX 471 rx in my truggy A main warmup, I would temporarily loose signal, and I also thought it was dead lipo rx pack, changed it out with fresh battery, same issue, I would get a blinking blue light on the RX. Unplugged all servos and transponder and hooked a battery straight to the RX same thing, flashing blue light, then a steady blue light then no light then back to flashing. Tried rebind it, still same issue.
Had no issues with the other RX 471 in the buggy A main at all.
This is the first time this rx has been used, it had 4 rounds of 5 min qual and this started on the warm up table right before the A main.
Any ideas?
Yeh myself had 4 round of qualifying then final 3 laps in all went pear shaped.

So what have you done to rectify the problem?
__________________
Wade Lazich- NSW 1/8 IC State Delegate.
Thankyou for your support- Werks Racing USA/ Pro Rc Supplies/ Aka Aust./ Ryper Hobbies

LRD- Australian distributor of Werks Race Blend 30% fuel. Dedicated solely to the supply of racing products for 1/8 scale nitro Rc. -lazrd.com.au-
Nitro Tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:17 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
gavaust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poowong victoria australia
Posts: 439
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXRC8racer View Post
Just had a similar problem yesterday at a RC Pro race. I'm using a M12 with the RX 471 rx in my truggy A main warmup, I would temporarily loose signal, and I also thought it was dead lipo rx pack, changed it out with fresh battery, same issue, I would get a blinking blue light on the RX. Unplugged all servos and transponder and hooked a battery straight to the RX same thing, flashing blue light, then a steady blue light then no light then back to flashing. Tried rebind it, still same issue.
Had no issues with the other RX 471 in the buggy A main at all.
This is the first time this rx has been used, it had 4 rounds of 5 min qual and this started on the warm up table right before the A main.
Any ideas?
Iam wondering if it's a receiver problem maybe caused from heat off the engine or just dodgy receivers my issues were exactly the same as yours I also use my m12 and a different 471 receiver in my 1/10th electric with no problems what so ever
__________________
Xray xb4 2016
Proamps servo & shortys
Dualsky motor
Hobbywing xr10 pro
Awesomatix a800x
gavaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:49 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
TXRC8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Well I got to unpack everything last night from the race out of town and I was eager to diagnose the problem with the receiver in my RC8T/CE. So I put every thing back like it was going into the main and the only thing I had to do was switch models in the radio. I plugged in the 7.4 hump pack plugged in both servos turn the switch on turned the radio on and everything worked normal on the table. No loss of signal, no blinking light on the receiver. I let set on the bench for 15min and constentanly turning the steering and working throttle and break no issues at all. I have not fired it up but I will in the next few days and see how it works. Very strange for sure. Not sure if it needed to reset or something or what. I don't know. I did notice during my inspection at the track that the negative side of my transponder wire at the plug was barely hanging on, not sure if it could have been arching accross to the positive side and causing a short of somewhat and the receiver needed time to reset. I have no clue..
__________________
Lance Plant
Sponsors: Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~Pro Line~Avid RC~Airtronics~Werks Racing
TXRC8racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net