R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Radio and Electronics (https://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-electronics-137/)
-   -   Electronics for Tamiya xv 01 (https://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-electronics/686813-electronics-tamiya-xv-01-a.html)

highbeam 12-14-2012 10:32 PM

Electronics for Tamiya xv 01

Hi,

I am a novice in RC cars, 2 weeks ago I did not know the difference between brushed vs brushless motors! I recently purchased the Tamiya xv 01 pro kit.

I have done a lot research for electronics for this chassis but i am not sure whether they will go together and this is where I need help.

These are what I am considering getting:

ESC: Hobbywing xerun V3
Motor: Hobbywing Xerun Sensored brushless motor 8.5T 4000kv
Servo: Savox SB-2272MG Lightning Speed Brushless Metal Gear Digital Servo-savsb2272mg OR Savox SB-2271SG Monster Torque Brushless Steel Gear Digital Servo-savsb2271sg
Radio: FlySky GT3B transmitter
Radio receiver: undecided
Battery: undecided

I will appreciate any opinions/guidance.

Thanking you,

HighBeam

MarkA 12-15-2012 11:35 AM

Your ESC and motor will be fine choices to get started with but your servo may require an external power capacitor in your receiver due to the tendency of Savox servos to cause brownouts. Not a reason to avoid it but just something to be aware of. The radio is a toss-up. If you are ever going to have an inkling that you might want to race, anything Flysky is going to come up short because of it's lag (read this thread for more: http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...3b-vs-4pl.html ) but if you want something very cheap to get your feet wet, it'll do.

valk 12-15-2012 12:11 PM

that servo is rediculous for a 10th scale car. id go with a 1257/58 or even the 1251 as thats a very popular choice for touring cars.

they also have lower models without metal gears in the $40 range but for the $65 a 125x will cost i wouldnt bother with cheaper.