R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2014, 05:15 AM   #76
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disaster999 View Post
The 1 cell that is on the ROAR approval list is the Gen II not the older one most of the car pictures are showing here.
One distinction is that the Gen II has the switch built in ( both the 2 cell and the 1 cell are that way). The 80a has a detached switch.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 09:51 PM   #77
Tech Regular
 
Dray01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

I was not able to find too many details to help with a starting point for this ESC. So I thought I would share my set up. Hope this helps someone.
I was racing against guys with brand name esc motor combos mainly 3.5t. Did not appear to be giving too much away. Finished 2nd. I will tune these more to gain a little more rip. We race on a med/large carpet track.

Gen 2 120 amp
2.02 firmware version
4.0t Trackstar motor second notch on + timing.
35mm roll out

Running mode - Forward/Brake
esc overheat - 125c
motor overheat - disable
reverse speed - 25
voltage cut - 3.0
punch switch point - 50%
1st stage punch - 5
2nd stage punch - 5
th input - line
throttle dead band - 80us
drag brake - 5%
initial brake - drag
brake switch point - 50%
brake strength - 75%
1st stage brake - 10
2nd stage brake - 10
brake input curve - line
boost timing - 25
boost start rpm - 5000
boost end rpm - 18000
boost line slope - line
boost constraint by throttle - no
turbo timing - 24
turbo activation - full th
turbo delay - 0.03
turbo engage slope - 50
turbo deactivate slope 30

Feel free to give some feedback!

Cheers,

Brett
Dray01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 06:23 PM   #78
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

does anybody know if these work with 2 cell as well?
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2016, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 07:50 PM   #79
Tech Regular
 
Dray01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

No, 1 cell only. For 2 cell may want to look at the other ESC's in the range.

Brett
Dray01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 05:40 AM   #80
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

I had something interesting happen this weekend and I am not sure why. I was racing carpet oval truck class and 3 minutes into the run the motor quit. I had steering and the esc looked normal (neutral was blinking and when I pulled the throttle it went full green). I cycled the ecs and still no motor. I pulled the radio trigger a few times and suddenly the motor was back. I have tested the motor on my dyno and it looks fine. Anyone else had a similar issue? This was the 1 cell gen II using a 17.5 motor.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 10:37 AM   #81
Tech Apprentice
 
redline511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mt
Posts: 84
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default 1 Cell

Hey guys i have been running this esc for the 2nd year now and everything is working fine. I have just recently coupled it with the new Nano Tech Ultimate one cell and i picked up some punch. I like this combo and it is working well for me. No problems with the speedo so far. Hope this helps and have fun. I did get the program card for it as well and is a snap to change settings.
__________________
Team Associated Tc6.1 CRC XTi Wc
Tekno Sc410
Durango Dex210
redline511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 09:58 PM   #82
Tech Regular
 
Dray01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
I had something interesting happen this weekend and I am not sure why. I was racing carpet oval truck class and 3 minutes into the run the motor quit. I had steering and the esc looked normal (neutral was blinking and when I pulled the throttle it went full green). I cycled the ecs and still no motor. I pulled the radio trigger a few times and suddenly the motor was back. I have tested the motor on my dyno and it looks fine. Anyone else had a similar issue? This was the 1 cell gen II using a 17.5 motor.
Hi,
The only time I have seen this behaviour is when I dumped running a 4t with a fair amount of boost/turbo. I would be surprised if this is your issue though as you are running 17.5.

BD
Dray01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 04:15 AM   #83
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dray01 View Post
Hi,
The only time I have seen this behaviour is when I dumped running a 4t with a fair amount of boost/turbo. I would be surprised if this is your issue though as you are running 17.5.

BD
Battery was still at 4 volts with the cutoff at 3. Really confused about this one. It is like the command was being sent to the speedo but not going to the motor. Almost like a glitch, interestingly other people had similar problems at that race over the weekend. I did not have the cap pack attached so I am hoping that will cure it.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 03:46 PM   #84
Tech Regular
 
Dray01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Battery was still at 4 volts with the cutoff at 3. Really confused about this one. It is like the command was being sent to the speedo but not going to the motor. Almost like a glitch, interestingly other people had similar problems at that race over the weekend. I did not have the cap pack attached so I am hoping that will cure it.
Out of curiosity did you have esc and motor overheat protection turned off?
I tested this last night and had similar strange behaviour. I hear there is a software update on the way. Hopefully that will help. Hope the cap is the issue as that is a simple resolution.

BD
Dray01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:54 AM   #85
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dray01 View Post
Out of curiosity did you have esc and motor overheat protection turned off?
I tested this last night and had similar strange behaviour. I hear there is a software update on the way. Hopefully that will help. Hope the cap is the issue as that is a simple resolution.

BD
I would have to go back and check on the overheats. I usually don't concern myself with that on a esc for truck oval. We usually have low motor temps because of the short races.
I will check though next week as I am off to another race weekend that is not oval.
What is the recommendation for those settings to avoid a problem?
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 08:17 PM   #86
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How do you set boost with this 1 cell ESC? From what I heard, Boost and Turbo is like stage 2 and 3 surge of power, its SHOULD pretty noticeable when your full throttle to hear 3 different speeds.

I can get Turbo to work since it activates once full throttle, but I can never get boost to work correctly, or I never really notice anything.

Any tips on how to setup boost with 1 cell?

Last edited by disaster999; 01-18-2015 at 08:56 PM.
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:10 AM   #87
Tech Apprentice
 
Teodoras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius
Posts: 83
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disaster999 View Post
How do you set boost with this 1 cell ESC? From what I heard, Boost and Turbo is like stage 2 and 3 surge of power, its SHOULD pretty noticeable when your full throttle to hear 3 different speeds.

I can get Turbo to work since it activates once full throttle, but I can never get boost to work correctly, or I never really notice anything.

Any tips on how to setup boost with 1 cell?
Try boost activation by "full throttle + rpm" it will let you to select from how much rpm boost will activate in stages
Teodoras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:58 AM   #88
Tech Regular
 
Dray01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teodoras View Post
Try boost activation by "full throttle + rpm" it will let you to select from how much rpm boost will activate in stages
Also keep in mind that if you set the turbo activation by full thottle + rpm you need to set the right rpm else you will not see anything. EG: if you are running a 13.5t and set the turbo activation to 30000rpm then you will not engage turbo.
Personally I prefer to activate turbo on full throttle only so i do not need to do the math You still will need to set your boost rpm range though.

What motor and rollout are you running? Maybe we can point you in the right direction with the settings.

BD
Dray01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 04:43 AM   #89
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 626
Default

To set turbo correctly you really need to understand the operating rpm range of your car. A 1 cell 13.5 only has a top rpm of around 12k rpm unloaded (assuming 4 volts).
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 06:29 AM   #90
Tech Master
 
choisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 1,210
Default

May I ask how I can update my esc firmware from 1.06 to 2.xx.
I tried to use the Geforce, downloaded and unzipped it. Able to run the 2.xx from my desktop. But after that, I don't know what need to download and connect in necessary order to update my esc. I also have the track Star program Box.
Please help.
choisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Durango DEX210 Thread KostaG Electric Off-Road 18674 Today 02:10 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0