R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2013, 09:44 AM   #61
Tech Master
 
Nego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: FL
Posts: 1,264
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
I guess most 12R5.1 have similar Set up LOL



what gauge wire is that? looks clean man!!
__________________
Project X 1/10 pancar,17.5GT,1/12 BMI Copper head.
Nego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 12:30 PM   #62
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default can't get into sensored mode

I have been reading this thread in hopes of setting up this ESC for 1 cell on my CRC XTI. I can't seem to get it to work in sensored mode. I purchased the program card and set it to sensored only and it still will not work when I plug in the sensor wires but seem to work well when I unplug the sensor wire. Any suggestions are appreciated.
astgerma52sp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 04:48 PM   #63
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Well, I just got this esc & I'm glad to hear that the program card will cure all the things I'm experencing. I found on on ebay that was here in the states. Should be here Thursday.
Here's my layout. Not exactly how I wanted to do it, but the short wires on the cap pack made it imposible to mount it without adding 6o the wires. Didn't want to do that until I have a chance to run it to make sure eferything is working properly.
Thanks for answering all my questions here,
Attached Thumbnails
Turnigy Trackstar 120 A 1 cell esc-hpim1499_2.jpg  
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 12:54 PM   #64
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 66
Default

I've got the Gen II model and am getting it ready for some GT12 racing.

Punch rates, are they reversed on the Gen II as well? Is it right that if I want maximum punch, I take it I set the "1st stage punch rate" to 1?

Thanks in advance. I'm a little confused (as usual).

Tony.
tonybod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 10:17 AM   #65
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,280
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

I have a Gen II in my GT12 and ran it last night. I have it on profile 1 (just to get away from the one called modify) set up for blinky (boost and turbo = 0). I jacked the brake rate up to 100. I left the punch at default for throttle and brake. I touched nothing else and this thing runs like a champ.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 02:30 PM   #66
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: new jerz
Posts: 111
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

just bought one. has anyone got any more comments on the genII?
knightrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 08:04 AM   #67
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,280
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to liljohn1064 Send a message via MSN to liljohn1064 Send a message via Yahoo to liljohn1064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knightrider View Post
just bought one. has anyone got any more comments on the genII?
Get the program card from Hong Kong. Download the Hobbywing 3.1 1S manual as it has a better explanation of each of the functions you can program. To put it in Blinky mode you need to set Boost and Turbo to 0*.

I now have 3 and they are more than worth it.
__________________
John Higgins
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 10:14 AM   #68
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: new jerz
Posts: 111
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

yeah i almost forgot that but i was able to add it to my order. i cant wait to try this thing in comparison to my justock to see the pros and cons of both
knightrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 09:16 AM   #69
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,841
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone give me some pointers on how to program this ESC?

I dont have the program card but do have the USB link from SkyRC and I can get into the program of the ESC just fine. But I dont know where to start with boost and turbo etc.

Also can you run this ESC sensorless? I tried running the motor without the sensor and its slow, but plug the sensor back in and I can tell a noticeable difference in speed. Its just the included sensor on the Trackstar motor is way too damn long. I didnt notice any options for me to turn sensorless mode on or off in the program on the PC

Thanks
disaster999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 05:02 AM   #70
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 628
Default

Good news gang,the GenII's are now ROAR legal. Alas not the original 1s though. The 80a was approved also.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 06:43 AM   #71
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,841
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 1 cell is ROAR approved

http://www.roarracing.com/approved_non_timing_escs.php
disaster999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 02:30 PM   #72
Tech Regular
 
Dray01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disaster999 View Post
Can anyone give me some pointers on how to program this ESC?

I dont have the program card but do have the USB link from SkyRC and I can get into the program of the ESC just fine. But I dont know where to start with boost and turbo etc.

Also can you run this ESC sensorless? I tried running the motor without the sensor and its slow, but plug the sensor back in and I can tell a noticeable difference in speed. Its just the included sensor on the Trackstar motor is way too damn long. I didnt notice any options for me to turn sensorless mode on or off in the program on the PC

Thanks
Hi, I have just received my esc so am by no means an expert. However I believe that you will need to program card to change the settings away from default. Please see http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...X365809X50.jpg
I would suggest to run the sensor cable as this will make the power delivery smoother as well as allow you to make use of boost and turbo settings.

All the best.

Brett
Dray01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 05:17 PM   #73
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,841
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The USB link from SkyRC works no problem.

I found a shorter sensor cable and that made a difference. Seems like the ESC wouldn't engage turbo without the sensor.

The turbo timing works like a charm now and reacts with different timing inputs. Still don't know what boost does.
disaster999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 07:41 PM   #74
Tech Regular
 
Dray01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disaster999 View Post
The USB link from SkyRC works no problem.

I found a shorter sensor cable and that made a difference. Seems like the ESC wouldn't engage turbo without the sensor.

The turbo timing works like a charm now and reacts with different timing inputs. Still don't know what boost does.
Nice one!
Yep as you noted. You need the sensor cable connected so the ESC can dynamically change the timing of the motor. This is what boost and turbo are.
Below is the manual for the HW v3. This should provide some context on boost vs turbo. Basically Boost will add timing though acceleration and allow you to accelerate faster and turbo will add more top end.
These do need to work together and can be a little tricky to get right. Keep in mind that you may need to adjust gearing to suit the boost and turbo settings as well as control heat. More timing normally equals more heat.

http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/hobb...nV3_Manual.pdf
Dray01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 08:24 PM   #75
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,841
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Dray, That manual helped a lot.

Ill play around with the settings, I just gotta bring my laptop to the track now :/
disaster999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Durango DEX210 Thread KostaG Electric Off-Road 18686 12-06-2016 09:39 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0