R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2012, 12:07 AM   #46
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hobbyking??
That is where i got them from.

regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
i also want to buy one, but their web blocked in our region (Hong Kong).....any help ?
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:28 AM   #47
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Hobbyking??
That is where i got them from.

regards Roy
Yes, Hobbyking.
They replied my email and said their web is for oversea customer, not for the guy in Hong Kong.
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:46 AM   #48
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,104
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Weird

E-bay???


Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
Yes, Hobbyking.
They replied my email and said their web is for oversea customer, not for the guy in Hong Kong.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:24 PM   #49
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
Yes, Hobbyking.
They replied my email and said their web is for oversea customer, not for the guy in Hong Kong.
That's odd as Hobbyking has on their web site information about picking up your order at their office in Hong Kong. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._contactUs.asp

Quote:
Visiting our office
Should you wish to collect your parcel from our office in Hong Kong, please contact us prior to arriving to ensure your order is ready for collection.
Contact them again and ask how you can order the motor from them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob
Weird

E-bay???
The only ones I see on Ebay are being sold through Ebay merchants for over the top mark ups.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
Castle Hill RC On Road Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
FatBear RC Videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjiAhwa-rk5Vas2rv5IBD4A
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:13 PM   #50
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
Yes, Hobbyking.
They replied my email and said their web is for oversea customer, not for the guy in Hong Kong.
Use VPN to access their website
__________________
SMOKEM --- HIRO SEIKO --- YOKOMO
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:24 PM   #51
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veecee View Post
Use VPN to access their website
Thanks for everyone to drop some comments regarding my reply.

By some computing methods (VPN....etc) to reach their web --- it is not a problem for me.

The main problem is a get the response from Hobbyking directly (not ebay). They will not selling items to local customer where in HK.

So, i believed no matter how i place an order via different approach. At the end, when they found the shippng address is in HK or i pick up in their office/warehouse.
They will consider it is local customer's order......then, they will cancel the order.............
mos-leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:52 PM   #52
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mos-leung View Post
They will not selling items to local customer where in HK.

So, i believed no matter how i place an order via different approach. At the end, when they found the shippng address is in HK or i pick up in their office/warehouse.
They will consider it is local customer's order......then, they will cancel the order.............
That is just weird

I mean why do they have it on their web page that you can pick up your order in their Hong Kong office if they don't let you do that???

It's unfortunate that they don't have those motors in their US, EU or AU warehouses as you might have been able to order one from those warehouses.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
Castle Hill RC On Road Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
FatBear RC Videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjiAhwa-rk5Vas2rv5IBD4A
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:26 PM   #53
Tech Regular
 
KC10Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What's the deal with the tabs on these motors? How exactly am I SUPPOSED to solder my ESC wires to these tabs?
KC10Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:53 AM   #54
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Tonight i will be testing a silver trackstar 17.5T motor for the first time, it already looks great but have to wait untill tonight to see how they perform on the track.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:46 AM   #55
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC10Chief View Post
What's the deal with the tabs on these motors? How exactly am I SUPPOSED to solder my ESC wires to these tabs?
Tin your wires.
Tin the tabs.
Lay the wire in the notch on the tab.
Touch a hot iron to your wire until the solder flows.
Done.

This is probably the best motor tab design I've seen.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:27 PM   #56
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Tried to change the timing on silver trackstar 8.5 but it wont let me.
Loosened the 3 screws and tried to rotate the endbel but it does not work.
Took the 3 screws and the alu plate off and tried to move it; still no luck (and I did not dear to put to much force on it!).
And on the red one, no problem to change the timing!!
Am I doing something wrong?
kusal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:09 PM   #57
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by addicted2blue View Post
Tonight i will be testing a silver trackstar 17.5T motor for the first time, it already looks great but have to wait untill tonight to see how they perform on the track.
I've been testing the silver trackstar motor and i can anoustly say this motor works great, the first drive on the track was even my fastest time of today.
The motor didn't get hotter then 48c and i had the feeling the motor has more potential then i already used today.
Will continue testing this great motor.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:02 AM   #58
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,023
Default

Great to see so many of you having great results, not me. I ran the 13.5 in boosted and it lasted 2 heats and the motor just lost power. Don't know if it was the magnet or the winds. Haven't had time to open it up to figure out... I'm a fan of Turnigy products and enjoyed everything I bought from them (chargers, batteries, outrunner/inrunner motors etc.) except this motor. Never went above 80 deg C and it still died. Maybe its good for blinky....
__________________
/Adrian.

RC FB Pages Subscribed:
facebook.com/EPBuggy
facebook.com/AllStarChampionship
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:44 PM   #59
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
Great to see so many of you having great results, not me. I ran the 13.5 in boosted and it lasted 2 heats and the motor just lost power. Don't know if it was the magnet or the winds. Haven't had time to open it up to figure out... I'm a fan of Turnigy products and enjoyed everything I bought from them (chargers, batteries, outrunner/inrunner motors etc.) except this motor. Never went above 80 deg C and it still died. Maybe its good for blinky....
That's kinda worrying, considering I should be receiving mine later this week. Also the 13.5t.
ericmaxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:27 PM   #60
gom
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 147
Default

I ran the 17.5 motor in blinky and it worked great! Timing set to 37 degrees and it never ran hotter than 120F.

I am also running a couple good Turnigy batteries and I think their products have a very good price to performance ratio.
gom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turnigy Trackstar 150A 1/8 scale brushless esc? Rich68 Electric Off-Road 143 05-26-2014 12:19 AM
Anyone use the Turnigy TrackStar 150amp ESC???? 440swinger-kid Radio and Electronics 11 05-26-2011 04:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:54 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net