R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2012, 04:35 PM   #106
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,019
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Dibs when you are ready to sell it
I get first dibs...I am local!

Seriously, though I got to run a few laps with it and thought it was nice and smooth and has a stunning look to it. It is a little bigger then I thought it might be, but overall seems like a great option for people with unlimited funds .
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:13 PM   #107
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Ran the Flow last night in 13.5 blinky sedan. It's flawless. Everything you've come to expect from LRP's perfect feel, brakes, etc. It finally feels like an ESC I can install and forget about. No programming boxes, brake or throttle frequencies and other distractions. Just pure, smooth power and great brakes.
Any chance of some help with base settings for boosted? I've got the nosram version installed but yet to run it, some ball park figures would be useful
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 06:34 PM   #108
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,539
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artwork View Post
I get first dibs...I am local!

Seriously, though I got to run a few laps with it and thought it was nice and smooth and has a stunning look to it. It is a little bigger then I thought it might be, but overall seems like a great option for people with unlimited funds .
Looked like most of the AE guys had it at IIC, and from the sounds of it, there is a substantial difference in how well it handles boosted mod
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:28 AM   #109
Tech Regular
 
Timbo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Timbo99 Send a message via AIM to Timbo99 Send a message via MSN to Timbo99 Send a message via Skype™ to Timbo99
Default Oh geez this is gonna hurt

Ok guys,
I have to say it.
Every time,and I say again,every time I used to think ill give lrp a go,the speedy dies or have issues.
I've pulled more than a few apart and I must say these are the worst manufactured esc on the market and have been for years.
From the capacitors,resistors,boards,tabs...even soldering on the board is very,very,very ugly,flimsy,and almost dry solder joins.
Buy a Speedpassion.
Ahhhhh that's better.
__________________
Serpent ERYX/S411 Le#189,#024,TE/Airtronics/MuchMore FLETA 4/Ryan Dezign-
"The finest RC paintwork in Australia"/LEESPEED/Ame T-Shox/THiNK Carbon.
"If at first you don't succeed,.....tell'em it's the "Beta" 1.0 version"
Timbo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:00 AM   #110
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,046
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Hobson View Post
Any chance of some help with base settings for boosted? I've got the nosram version installed but yet to run it, some ball park figures would be useful
Sorry man, we're all blinky in the US these days. :-\
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:02 AM   #111
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,518
Default

Luke, looks like your gonna be your own guinea pig... and not just with your new car
__________________
Xray T4'16, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2016
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RD Disco
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:29 AM   #112
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Hobson View Post
Any chance of some help with base settings for boosted? I've got the nosram version installed but yet to run it, some ball park figures would be useful
really depends on the motor i have bin running 1-3-5-7-6-1-3 on a X12 17.5 with oooo dot timings insert geared 6.7

and it cut off after about 4.55 min and it suits me fine for practice, because then i can just disable mode 7 for racing :-)

but its all about testing and finding the right settings

steven
__________________
Steven Olsen
CAR: Awsomatix A700L.
Nosram 7000 Batteries.
Nosram Comet HD ESC.
Nosram Pure 2 evolution Motor.
StevenOlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:34 AM   #113
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

Have you noticed on your ESC that mode 6, you Can actually go up to a value of 5, rather than the stated "3" in the manual.... On the bench I put it in 4, and anything above 1/4 throttle made the whole car vibrate like crazy... But in "5" it was fine... Strange huh.
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:46 AM   #114
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Hobson View Post
Have you noticed on your ESC that mode 6, you Can actually go up to a value of 5, rather than the stated "3" in the manual.... On the bench I put it in 4, and anything above 1/4 throttle made the whole car vibrate like crazy... But in "5" it was fine... Strange huh.
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:14 AM   #115
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

buckle up for safety.
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:16 PM   #116
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 165
Default How to remove the switch (properly)

Hey guys,

just got my FLOW. Got it all wired up and soldered the two wires of the on off switch together like I always do on my speedos. Then I wanted to test it. So I plugged a battery in. Nothing happened
Used a freshly charged battery, still no reaction.
I almost wanted to give it back to my LHS.
But before that I unsoldered the wires of the switch and tried again.
...and it worked

So just as a tip for those who want to remove the switch:
Just remove the switch and insulate the two wires.
DO NOT SOLDER THEM TOGETHER! (like i did)

Regards from Germany
niemand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:25 PM   #117
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 165
Default

Almost forgot to ask:
Does anyone have a good starting setup for a small low grip carpet track with 17,5T X12 boosted and a good FDR as a starting point?

Really stoked for the first ride with the new speedo
niemand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:33 PM   #118
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,046
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

That switch behavior is explained in the manual. But yeah, that's new on this ESC.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:18 PM   #119
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 165
Default

Damn, you're right
But who reads manuals anyway
niemand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:09 PM   #120
Tech Elite
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,070
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

are the LRP flows 160A?
__________________
yokomo yz-2
Ultraspeed84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12494 11-15-2016 03:57 PM
LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors mok Electric On-Road 697 08-04-2013 01:35 PM
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 09:52 AM
Ask Frank Root.....AE, Reedy, LRP, JC Frank Root Electric Off-Road 568 02-14-2010 01:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0