R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2014, 06:41 PM   #1141
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Also, check leads at the capacitor base
Had one of those crack one time, hidden under heatshrink, not easy to catch

Brakes on LRP's are normally lethal, even with oem firmware
I'll definitely take a closer look at the leads, but if I'm getting strong brakes holding the car in my hand would that not be affected if the leads to theccapacitor were not connected correctly?
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T4.2 | T5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 07:03 PM   #1142
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Here are some close up pics of the capacitor leads, seems ok to me. There are some kinks in the leads caused by the angle required to mount the capacitor on the B5M, who knows if there are broken inside...
Attached Thumbnails
New LRP Flow Esc-fwt1.jpg   New LRP Flow Esc-fwt2.jpg   New LRP Flow Esc-fwt3.jpg  
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T4.2 | T5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 04:42 PM   #1143
Tech Elite
 
Graham11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Having same issue, no brakes basically. Rolls to a stop.
__________________
Hot Bodies Racing - Team Pro-Line - Maxy's Fuel - LRP - Trinity
Hobby Hut - Trains N Lanes - Mushroom Bowl - LCRC
Graham11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 03:20 PM   #1144
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham11 View Post
Having same issue, no brakes basically. Rolls to a stop.
Mines gone back to the retailer who will perform some initial analysis then they said it would go to LRP for full testing. As soon as I get a response on what the problem is/was ill let you know
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T4.2 | T5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 04:03 AM   #1145
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 383
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just thought id let everyone know that i put a new novak gtb3 esc in the buggy and still the same issue...tried my other almost new motor...still the same issue.

Im going to call the retailer and ask them to send it back to me. I still cant figure out what the problem is. Changed motors, sensor cables...bloody mistery

going to take it to the track on Friday and get a few other opinions

perhaps user issue!?!?
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T4.2 | T5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 05:03 AM   #1146
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nat Maniac View Post
Just thought id let everyone know that i put a new novak gtb3 esc in the buggy and still the same issue...tried my other almost new motor...still the same issue.

Im going to call the retailer and ask them to send it back to me. I still cant figure out what the problem is. Changed motors, sensor cables...bloody mistery

going to take it to the track on Friday and get a few other opinions

perhaps user issue!?!?
Have you checked your transmitter? Reset it, rebind, re-calibrate to esc?
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 07:32 AM   #1147
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 318
Default

Nat Maniac how loose is your slipper? i have found before a real loose slipper can be the cause of bad brakes....
Smartypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2014, 06:54 PM   #1148
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nat Maniac View Post
Just thought id let everyone know that i put a new novak gtb3 esc in the buggy and still the same issue...tried my other almost new motor...still the same issue.

Im going to call the retailer and ask them to send it back to me. I still cant figure out what the problem is. Changed motors, sensor cables...bloody mistery

going to take it to the track on Friday and get a few other opinions

perhaps user issue!?!?
I don't have off-road experience, so I could be way off.

Before I went full mod in my TC, I ran a 10.5 with a healthy dose of boost with a 6.5 FDR (on the low side) with a Viper. The power was fine, but brakes were garbage. Going up to a 7.5 FDR gave me far better braking performance.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 11:15 PM   #1149
Tech Adept
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a Nosram Comet Evo which I believe is identical to the LRP Flow. It seemed to work fine with my 21.5 R1 Wurks motor until I reach around 70-100% throttle input. I'm not sure how to describe the problem but the motor seems to be cogging a bit as I go back and forth between 70-100% throttle input. In some cases the motor even slows down at full throttle. I've changed the sensor wire and I'm running the ESC in blinky mode with no timing. Has anyone else experienced this issue with this motor and how to fix it?
jdawg81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 11:51 PM   #1150
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

What's your timing settings on your R1 21.5?
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 12:12 AM   #1151
Tech Adept
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post
What's your timing settings on your R1 21.5?
It's at 30 degrees. I have tried different timing settings on the motor and the only time it seems to work ok is at zero timing.
jdawg81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 12:17 AM   #1152
Tech Master
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kagoshima, Japan
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg81 View Post
It's at 30 degrees. I have tried different timing settings on the motor and the only time it seems to work ok is at zero timing.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MzE39EdYvnc

This video might be of use when it comes to setting the R1's timing.
EDWARD2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 12:45 AM   #1153
Tech Adept
 
jdawg81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MzE39EdYvnc

This video might be of use when it comes to setting the R1's timing.
Thanks for the link to the video. Unfortunately it did not help with solving this issue as it does it at all timing settings. I soldered an Orca RX2 motor to the ESC and noticed it does the same thing so I think it's an issue with the ESC and not the motor.
jdawg81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 10:10 AM   #1154
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tustin,CA,USA
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDWARD2003 View Post
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MzE39EdYvnc

This video might be of use when it comes to setting the R1's timing.
Thanks for the link, nice video. It shows similar readings to the motolyser.. but there are unsolved mysteries regarding the R1 motor still..

teardown and comparison between timing readings of a killshot and R1
torg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 03:39 PM   #1155
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 56
Default Update of Flow software om WIN 8.1 PC

Dear Friends

Anyone to help ... cant install driver for usb-bridge ver.2 ... WIN says it has to be certified by LRP, and it isn't. Any posibilities to install driver another way.

When I open the software and connect to the esc, and click ok, the program shuts Down (it does it also on a WIN 8.0 PC with the driver installed) ... any suggestions?

For your orientation, the program is runned in administrator mode, and the profiles on the PC has got assigned the rights to run the program also.

Best wishes; Jens
jensroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12494 11-15-2016 03:57 PM
LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors mok Electric On-Road 697 08-04-2013 01:35 PM
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 09:52 AM
Ask Frank Root.....AE, Reedy, LRP, JC Frank Root Electric Off-Road 568 02-14-2010 01:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0