R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2014, 09:09 AM   #1126
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

What's the advantage of the new software running on blinky mode? I still use the old software on mine and it was awesome on 17.5 stock blinky TC..
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 12:10 PM   #1127
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,482
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jochim_18 View Post
What's the advantage of the new software running on blinky mode? I still use the old software on mine and it was awesome on 17.5 stock blinky TC..
The new brakes have a much better feeling to me, thats the biggest difference for me
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 04:24 PM   #1128
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

coming from an orion r10 in tc the lrp brakes are 10 times stronger and smooth too
now if only i new how to set it up at the track i might have done better
__________________
yokomo bd7 16_lrp works team-trinity d4 17.5_futaba 4pks_futaba bls
wet/damp car xray t4-14-r10 pro-team wave 17.5 savox 1251
chasingthepack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 06:01 AM   #1129
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,254
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
The new brakes have a much better feeling to me, thats the biggest difference for me
Also much finer adjustments on drag/initial brake and much higher initial drive possibilities.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 02:03 AM   #1130
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

No brakes.

Running off road 6.5t on carpet and at the end of the straight have almost no brakes. Coasts a good 5 meters before slowing down. stock settings out of the box apart from drag brake 5.

Transmitter is standard, no exp etc.

Has anyone experienced this?

Seems as though over a certain rpm brakes are applied at 10%
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T5M | SC5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 08:03 AM   #1131
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,482
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nat Maniac View Post
No brakes.

Running off road 6.5t on carpet and at the end of the straight have almost no brakes. Coasts a good 5 meters before slowing down. stock settings out of the box apart from drag brake 5.

Transmitter is standard, no exp etc.

Has anyone experienced this?

Seems as though over a certain rpm brakes are applied at 10%
Have you tried recalibrating the esc? Is this a new problem or has it always been like that?
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 08:42 AM   #1132
Tech Elite
 
metalnut's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,726
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nat Maniac View Post
No brakes.

Running off road 6.5t on carpet and at the end of the straight have almost no brakes. Coasts a good 5 meters before slowing down. stock settings out of the box apart from drag brake 5.

Transmitter is standard, no exp etc.

Has anyone experienced this?

Seems as though over a certain rpm brakes are applied at 10%
Your capacitor(s) may be bad or not soldered on correctly, double check that.
__________________
Team Nervous | Team Scruffy | Team Orange

"If you ain't first, you're last!"
- Ricky Bobby
metalnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 12:48 PM   #1133
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Have you tried recalibrating the esc? Is this a new problem or has it always been like that?
yep, reset all data on my TX, then re-calibrated, still the same frustrating problem.

Ive run the esc about 4 times in stock 17.5t and cant recall any issues, I then ran an 8.5t, still cant recall this being a problem, i ran an 8.5t last week seeming no issues that I can recall (surely I would have noticed right!?!) last night I had a new 6.5t, surely the motor cant be the issue? I run all LRP X20 motors...
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T5M | SC5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 12:51 PM   #1134
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalnut View Post
Your capacitor(s) may be bad or not soldered on correctly, double check that.
Just checked that, it appears to be soldered correctly, its very frustrating watching cars passing me through these corners!
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T5M | SC5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 01:10 PM   #1135
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Whats bazaar is that if I hold the car in my hand give it full throttle for 2 seconds then apply full brake it stops rock solid. I have new tyres so i cant imagine i'm sliding in a straight line.

Cant understand why its not translating onto the track..
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T5M | SC5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 01:19 PM   #1136
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,754
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nat Maniac View Post
Whats bazaar is that if I hold the car in my hand give it full throttle for 2 seconds then apply full brake it stops rock solid. I have new tyres so i cant imagine i'm sliding in a straight line.

Cant understand why its not translating onto the track..
When you are braking while holding the car in-hand, the only thing acting against the braking force from the motor is the rotating mass of the wheels/tires. When the car is in motion, you have another ~1400g of forward momentum that you are trying to slow down.

Are your throttle and brake endpoints set to 100% when you are calibrating the speedo to your radio?

What gearing with the 6.5t? And can you give us the software version you are using along?
__________________
Chris Hillier | 5280 Raceway | www.5280raceway.com | Racing. Elevated.

Destiny | LRP America | Protoform | Xenon/JFT | Gravity RC | Motiv | Sanwa | Max.FX
LloydLoar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 01:26 PM   #1137
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LloydLoar View Post
When you are braking while holding the car in-hand, the only thing acting against the braking force from the motor is the rotating mass of the wheels/tires. When the car is in motion, you have another ~1400g of forward momentum that you are trying to slow down.

Are your throttle and brake endpoints set to 100% when you are calibrating the speedo to your radio?

What gearing with the 6.5t? And can you give us the software version you are using along?
good point!

Yes after resetting the TX i checked to see that the end points were 100%. I run 22 pinion with 81 Spur. I dont actually know the software, I guess I can only check that with a bridge?
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T5M | SC5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 01:32 PM   #1138
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,482
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nat Maniac View Post
good point!

Yes after resetting the TX i checked to see that the end points were 100%. I run 22 pinion with 81 Spur. I dont actually know the software, I guess I can only check that with a bridge?
If youve never updated it you would still be on the 1.4 firmware. Maybe it would be good to try updating to v4.7 or v5.4, the brakes are something that has changed in these updates. If your running mod i would reccomend v4.7
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 02:06 PM   #1139
Tech Regular
 
Nat Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
If youve never updated it you would still be on the 1.4 firmware. Maybe it would be good to try updating to v4.7 or v5.4, the brakes are something that has changed in these updates. If your running mod i would reccomend v4.7
Thanks for the advice, ill grab a bridge and update. Bit annoying as the one I have in my other car (b44.2) stops it on a dime!

Something doesn't seem right.
__________________
XB815 | XB416 | B5M | T5M | SC5M
FUTABA 4PX | LRP | SAVOX | XP

"The person saying it cannot be done should stop interrupting the person doing it"
Nat Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 02:24 PM   #1140
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nat Maniac View Post
Thanks for the advice, ill grab a bridge and update. Bit annoying as the one I have in my other car (b44.2) stops it on a dime!

Something doesn't seem right.
Also, check leads at the capacitor base
Had one of those crack one time, hidden under heatshrink, not easy to catch

Brakes on LRP's are normally lethal, even with oem firmware
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12540 Yesterday 06:24 PM
LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors mok Electric On-Road 697 08-04-2013 12:35 PM
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 08:52 AM
Ask Frank Root.....AE, Reedy, LRP, JC Frank Root Electric Off-Road 568 02-14-2010 12:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:16 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net