R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2014, 04:27 AM   #1066
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Use the default!!

Timing just go with the 37.5 (max) temps will be fine with a reasonable FDR over 6min.

I'm running that with 3.91 - 4.12 FDR and my car smokes almost everyone at my track for acceleration and top end.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 12:12 PM   #1067
Tech Regular
 
JDJamminX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 493
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reg View Post
Awesome news,
Will they put the setups on that they used?
Or could someone let me know a good setup to use with the new update and timing insert for the 13.5 x20,I run on a medium size Tarmac track,
Regards
Goto: http://www.lrp-americastore.com/cont...apGuide-EN.pdf

The blue highlight is the stock setting and most used. Good starting point.
__________________
LRP - MUGEN - AKA - OCRC - UPGRADE - SCHELLE - DE RACING
JDJamminX1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 12:31 PM   #1068
reg
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 151
Default

Thanks chaps,
Cplus what spur and pinion are you using to get them figures?

JDJamminX1 thanks for the link, it shows zero boost,but does say if using boost
Don't run a total of 90 deg of timing,how close to that do you chaps run
reg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 03:50 PM   #1069
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I run 48p as my track gets a lot of rubber & debris.

I have 74&73 tooth Spurs and 32-37t pinions. 74 and 34 achieves 4.02 on my car (TRF418, 1.8 internal)

Your FDR will depend on what car you are running.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 06:56 AM   #1070
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lenham, Kent, UK
Posts: 50
Default

I see on the LRP web site that there is new firmwear (V5.4) for these ESC's What is the differance from the V4.7 firmwear ?
shrek54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 07:02 AM   #1071
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrek54 View Post
I see on the LRP web site that there is new firmwear (V5.4) for these ESC's What is the differance from the V4.7 firmwear ?
5.4 for stock, 4.7 for mod.
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 07:03 AM   #1072
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lenham, Kent, UK
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salkin View Post
5.4 for stock, 4.7 for mod.
Yep got that, but what's the change?
shrek54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 08:00 AM   #1073
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,394
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrek54 View Post
Yep got that, but what's the change?
5.4 has brakes and boost timing options specific for slower motors
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 12:22 PM   #1074
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Read back one page where I explained it.....
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 04:36 PM   #1075
Tech Master
 
Cridd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

it is for touring car though not offroad?
__________________
Chris
B6D / T5M / SC5M
Cridd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:01 AM   #1076
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

it does seem to focus on on-road mostly, but they do they is for offroad and onroad in the pitch.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 09:36 PM   #1077
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Big oops for me.

I loaded the new firmware a few days ago and then went for a run this morning, leaving all settings at default and 37.5 insert (as before)

I was thinking "wow, this is really hauling ass.....


Oh no"

Motor was sounding awful after 5-6 (quite fast!!) laps. So brought into the pits.

I was thinking, crap, default must have torque timing or some level of boost.

Nope. Neither.

Was trying to listen for some noise, with a mild rev on the bench and the thing locked up. Smoked. Dead. Crap. The whole stator is destroyed. The magnet on the stator was in many pieces all wedged inside the can. Not pretty.

I have just realised I forgot to reset to default and re-do the TX settings.

Doh! That must have been it.

So now to order a new motor for the final 2 rounds of the season. I'm tossing up between another x20 and a D4 maxzilla.

Then explaining to my wife about how annoyed with myself I am we have the best conversation about RC ever


Last edited by cplus; 10-12-2014 at 03:03 AM.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 12:25 AM   #1078
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

From this.....


To this.....!


Not my best effort....

Last edited by cplus; 10-24-2014 at 03:57 PM.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 04:44 PM   #1079
reg
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 151
Default

I am being thick,what did not doing the resets do to blow the rotor?
reg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 05:54 PM   #1080
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Not sure. But it is the only thing (the firmware) that has been changed in quite a while, and they warn you that it needs to be done.

It may just have been that when I thought I was pulling a small bit of throttle for the Rev in the pits it was actually a lot and the unloaded RPM went through the roof??

What ever it was, it was catastrophic.

I've ordered a new motor and will update the ESC again and go through the steps properly this time. If that leads to a lunched motor, it will be on LRPs dime and not mine!!
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12494 11-15-2016 03:57 PM
LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors mok Electric On-Road 697 08-04-2013 01:35 PM
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 09:52 AM
Ask Frank Root.....AE, Reedy, LRP, JC Frank Root Electric Off-Road 568 02-14-2010 01:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:55 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0