R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2014, 02:29 PM   #1036
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

I have just installed a new LRP Flow Worksteam in a newly build Tamiya TRF418.

The below mentioned problem is present both in the stock 1.4 firmware and the 4.7 firmware, which I upgraded to. I did a reset after the update as instructed.

My problem is that the motor starts running slowly by itself, especially after power on or after running the motor and breaking. And when holding a steady throttle the motor revs up and down in increment steps.

I have calibrated 10 times, tried 6 different motors (LRP and other brands), 3 different sensor wires and re-binding.

I have tried to disable every timing, turbo etc. in the esc, but the problem persists.

The speedo has replaced a speed passion speedo, and everything worked (and still does) with that esc.

No doubt it is the esc. But what can cause the speedo to behave like this?

I have read about similar problems, but can't find a solution or answer to the problem.

Help is much apreciated.
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12

Last edited by Salkin; 08-07-2014 at 04:29 PM.
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 04:28 PM   #1037
Tech Adept
 
peter.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: netherlands
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salkin View Post
I have just installed a new LRP Flow Worksteam in a newly build Tamiya TRF418.

The berlow mentioned problem is present both in the stock 1.4 firmware and the 4.7 firmware, which I upgraded to.

My problem is that the motor starts running slowly by itself, especially after power on or after running the motor and breaking. And when holding a steady throttle the motor revs up and down in increment steps.

I have calibrated 10 times, tried 6 different motors (LRP and other brands), 3 different sensor wires.

I have tried to disable every timing, turbo etc. in the esc, but the problem persists.

The speedo has replaced a speed passion speedo, and everything worked (and still does) with that esc.

No doubt it is the esc. But what can cause the speedo to behave like this?

I have read about similar problems, but can't find a solution or answer to the problem.

Help is much apreciated.

You have mail

greetings peter
peter. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 04:50 AM   #1038
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salkin View Post
I have just installed a new LRP Flow Worksteam in a newly build Tamiya TRF418.

The below mentioned problem is present both in the stock 1.4 firmware and the 4.7 firmware, which I upgraded to. I did a reset after the update as instructed.

My problem is that the motor starts running slowly by itself, especially after power on or after running the motor and breaking. And when holding a steady throttle the motor revs up and down in increment steps.

I have calibrated 10 times, tried 6 different motors (LRP and other brands), 3 different sensor wires and re-binding.

I have tried to disable every timing, turbo etc. in the esc, but the problem persists.

The speedo has replaced a speed passion speedo, and everything worked (and still does) with that esc.

No doubt it is the esc. But what can cause the speedo to behave like this?

I have read about similar problems, but can't find a solution or answer to the problem.

Help is much apreciated.
Solved the problem by buying an LRP X20 motor. Works fine now.

Rationale: maybe you have another brand motor that works with the Flow, maybe you don't. To be safe, buy a LRP X20 motor.
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:08 AM   #1039
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,458
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Trying to find power with this esc. Was recommended this esc for stock. I have to say my other brand feels way more aggressive. This feels sluggish. I'm on the stock firmare. Added a little drag brake and that's it. Does the update help the feel for stock? Or are there parameters I'm missing. Tried upping initial feel and that made things worse. Any help appreciated

Stock TC- medium size asphalt track medium grip level
Jamison R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 06:53 AM   #1040
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,015
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

J -- the flow works really well in stock. The only perf new firmware gives you are braking profiles. Blinky drive profiles are unchanged.

Maybe you got the wrong motor or gearing?
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / Shop@ Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:16 AM   #1041
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,458
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Gonna try gearing change today. Im running Actinium on timing mark 4 with a 3.6 fdr. Should I try 3.3ish? It just feels slower down the straight is my only real issue. The feel in the infield is pretty nice.
Jamison R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 01:50 PM   #1042
Tech Apprentice
 
mark-rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 75
Default

SO, I just updated to my flow works to V3.8 for pro buggy running X20 7.5 and realised there is NO turbo timing mode! Whats the deal with that?? I love the new brake settings but No turbo? Guess I'm going to have to go back to the basic firmware..
__________________
ANSWER-RC, Sworkz, X-Act, Xpert RC, ROSSMOD
mark-rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:30 PM   #1043
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,030
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

That's pretty odd, especially as the onroad one does have it.

I guess it is the "worlds" firmware, so is exactly as they ran at the worlds perhaps with no turbo?

Very odd to release it like that though.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 06:00 PM   #1044
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,015
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
Gonna try gearing change today. Im running Actinium on timing mark 4 with a 3.6 fdr. Should I try 3.3ish? It just feels slower down the straight is my only real issue. The feel in the infield is pretty nice.
One less tooth
Make sure your at the CCW #4
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / Shop@ Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 06:21 PM   #1045
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,394
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
Trying to find power with this esc. Was recommended this esc for stock. I have to say my other brand feels way more aggressive. This feels sluggish. I'm on the stock firmare. Added a little drag brake and that's it. Does the update help the feel for stock? Or are there parameters I'm missing. Tried upping initial feel and that made things worse. Any help appreciated

Stock TC- medium size asphalt track medium grip level
Intial drive will make the bottom end feel a little more aggresive, but it won't change too much. I ran 3 or 4 with the stock firmware. I think a lot of times going from a punchy esc to a smooth one the smooth one will feel slow just because you dont get the power in a burst, even though it isn't. I know Manny up here yesterday ran a 3.78fdt on his Actinium on max timing with a flow, and it was plenty fast
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 07:22 AM   #1046
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Using a Flow Works Team with a 6.5T LRP X20 motor in a Tamiya TRF418 on medium sized asphalt tracks, are the standard settings in the 4.7 firmware a good start or are there any obvious changes I should make to the settings?
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 10:17 AM   #1047
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,394
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Yes, the default settings are a good place to start
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/LRP/Sweep Racing/RSD/Middle River Hobbies/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 01:00 PM   #1048
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Yes, the default settings are a good place to start
Thanks
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 01:40 AM   #1049
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

I'm using the a Flow Works Team with an X20 6.5T motor.

Is the speedo/motor temp readout on the speedo reliable in any way?
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:48 PM   #1050
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Hi all,

Thinking about pairing a FLOW works with my r1wurks 17.5. From this thread i've heard that the Flow doesn't like to work as well with other brand motors. Has anybody tried this combination?

Thanks
Zhangesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12494 11-15-2016 03:57 PM
LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors mok Electric On-Road 697 08-04-2013 01:35 PM
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 09:52 AM
Ask Frank Root.....AE, Reedy, LRP, JC Frank Root Electric Off-Road 568 02-14-2010 01:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0