R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2013, 03:35 PM   #496
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 751
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cridd View Post
I have the lrp flow works team and mode two brake ramp and brake type in version 3.3 I don't understand what that does? can somebody explain it?
It is difficult to explain exactly what it does but the basics are this.
A lower value makes the brakes weaker, both drag and push brake will be effected. The purpose of the ramp is to change the relationship between high speed brake and low speed brake. An example is going down the straight and you lift for the sweeper and the car gets loose if the drag brake is too high. By lowering the brake ramp number the brake effect at the end of the straight is reduced. But like I said it will effect the brakes through the entire range so if you lower the ramp you might have to increase your drag brake a little to compensate.

It really is a driver feel preference so there is no right or wrong but what you think works best for you. As grip increases you can increase the ramp value.
I hope this helps.
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:42 PM   #497
Tech Master
 
Cridd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Cochran View Post
It is difficult to explain exactly what it does but the basics are this.
A lower value makes the brakes weaker, both drag and push brake will be effected. The purpose of the ramp is to change the relationship between high speed brake and low speed brake. An example is going down the straight and you lift for the sweeper and the car gets loose if the drag brake is too high. By lowering the brake ramp number the brake effect at the end of the straight is reduced. But like I said it will effect the brakes through the entire range so if you lower the ramp you might have to increase your drag brake a little to compensate.

It really is a driver feel preference so there is no right or wrong but what you think works best for you. As grip increases you can increase the ramp value.
I hope this helps.
Sounds like I need to do a lot of testing to get the best feel. A lot more complicated than I thought. Thanks for the information.
__________________
Chris
B6D / T5M / SC5M
Cridd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:04 PM   #498
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,755
Send a message via AIM to JustWill75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Haynes View Post
Yes i have for the past month with no issue so far, you have to disable the driver signature enforcement requirement in windows, then install the lrp link and driver.
I cant get his to work Bro. Does anybody have a step by step to do this. I notice on the LRP said this will not work with windows 8......
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED // REEDY POWER // BLAST RC
JustWill75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:34 PM   #499
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,040
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I'm selling a brand new Lrp flow if anyone is interested.
__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 01:54 PM   #500
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Hi guys,

Is there any advantage to the Works Team over the standard Flow for running in 13.5 Boosted?

Thanks
Dan
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 03:07 PM   #501
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 234
Default

Anybody else running a 13.5 Orca tx with the flow works and finding it a bit flat/slow?

Last edited by Mi4cxl; 05-13-2013 at 02:37 AM.
Mi4cxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:50 AM   #502
Tech Regular
 
spencehotbodies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashmaster View Post
Hi guys,

Is there any advantage to the Works Team over the standard Flow for running in 13.5 Boosted?

Thanks
Dan
The only difference I found is the heat build up, I run the 2 nosram versions. The works does have more fets to handly the heat.
__________________
Xray T416- Xray X1-Spec-r-Sanwa-Orca-Ame-Arrowmax-Wild turbo fans
West London Race Club
spencehotbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:08 AM   #503
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Thanks for that - did you have thermalling issues with the non works version then?

Just pondering what to go for as I'm unlikely to run mod!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spencehotbodies View Post
The only difference I found is the heat build up, I run the 2 nosram versions. The works does have more fets to handly the heat.
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:12 AM   #504
Tech Regular
 
spencehotbodies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashmaster View Post
Thanks for that - did you have thermalling issues with the non works version then?

Just pondering what to go for as I'm unlikely to run mod!
Hello

No problem with heat, I run 13.5 boosted as well. Just back to back running there was a heat difference when checking the speedo.
__________________
Xray T416- Xray X1-Spec-r-Sanwa-Orca-Ame-Arrowmax-Wild turbo fans
West London Race Club
spencehotbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 04:07 AM   #505
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,335
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mi4cxl View Post
Anybody else running a 13.5 Orca tx with the flow works and finding it a bit flat/slow?
I ran it in 17.5 and found was hard to get bottom end out of it.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:00 AM   #506
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
I ran it in 17.5 and found was hard to get bottom end out of it.
I'm not getting top or bottom end. Smooth as butter on power. But just doesn't seems to have the legs when compared to an x20/flow setup.
Mi4cxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:07 PM   #507
Tech Adept
 
yumlailai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Richmond
Posts: 228
Default

Will the old Bridge work with the Flow esc update? I just tired and it doesn't seemed to work.....
yumlailai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:40 PM   #508
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,539
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yumlailai View Post
Will the old Bridge work with the Flow esc update? I just tired and it doesn't seemed to work.....
No
Need ver2 bridge
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 02:08 AM   #509
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default

I am currently running a reedy sonic 13.5 with my flow in boosted class and have speed but I am still left needing some more compared to the competiton.
I was wondering what motor combo's everyone is running with the flow. How's the x20/flow combo holding up or anyone run the flow with the GM or vampire motor.
__________________
www.cmcc.org.uk
www.mmrflux.co.uk
www.hpiracing.co.uk
www.hotbodiesonline.com
Jamesalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 08:06 PM   #510
Tech Adept
 
Bill K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Im running the FLOW Works team, installed with stock firmware running a Thunder Power 17.5 motor. Can anyone suggest settings for the esc? The way I have it now works, and with extremely low motor temperatures but Im feeling it a bit weird to drive.

Thanks in advance
Bill
Bill K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12494 11-15-2016 03:57 PM
LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors mok Electric On-Road 697 08-04-2013 01:35 PM
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 09:52 AM
Ask Frank Root.....AE, Reedy, LRP, JC Frank Root Electric Off-Road 568 02-14-2010 01:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0