R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2014, 11:47 PM   #781
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,020
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Damn!
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 12:13 AM   #782
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,047
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Damn!
Josh,

Just go to bed. It will make more sense in the morning...LOL

G-night.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 08:18 PM   #783
Tech Initiate
 
PEEKracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 45
Default

Does anyone know where I can find the 3.3 .bin firmware for the VXX? It's not listed on the Orca site, and if you try the one for the VX it tells you it's incompatible.
PEEKracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 09:32 PM   #784
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,087
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

http://team-ame.com/ame/downloads/
PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:16 PM   #785
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Having a little issue with my orca VXX
I installed a brand new VXX in my car along with a Reedy 4.5
Calibrated the speedo to my radio and everything seems fine in blinky.
Then I used the program card to the manuals recommended settings for mod 4.5 and everything went well except under low throttle the motor isn't smooth, almost like a cog like a sensorless motor from a slow start. Once revs goes up it smooths out. Switched back to blinky and the cog went away. Also in reverse it's smooth in either mode.

What could be the problem? I tried another motor and sensor wire.
Played around with very low timing/turbo settings and still doesn't matter. Anything besides blinky is not smooth at low Rpms

Would appreciate any help.
__________________
XRAY T4 14 - Orca - Futaba
Serpent 811 Cobra GT-E - Tekin - Hitec
Serpent 811 BE 2.0 - Tekin - Hitec
Voltron989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 02:31 PM   #786
Tech Regular
 
stikman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltron989 View Post
Having a little issue with my orca VXX
I installed a brand new VXX in my car along with a Reedy 4.5
Calibrated the speedo to my radio and everything seems fine in blinky.
Then I used the program card to the manuals recommended settings for mod 4.5 and everything went well except under low throttle the motor isn't smooth, almost like a cog like a sensorless motor from a slow start. Once revs goes up it smooths out. Switched back to blinky and the cog went away. Also in reverse it's smooth in either mode.

What could be the problem? I tried another motor and sensor wire.
Played around with very low timing/turbo settings and still doesn't matter. Anything besides blinky is not smooth at low Rpms

Would appreciate any help.
try to reset the ESC and see if the problem will go away.
stikman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 03:10 PM   #787
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Reset how? I put everything back to default a few times using the program card and Ive recalibrated the radio and esc(hold brake and turn on)
Is there another way to zero everything out?
__________________
XRAY T4 14 - Orca - Futaba
Serpent 811 Cobra GT-E - Tekin - Hitec
Serpent 811 BE 2.0 - Tekin - Hitec
Voltron989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 06:37 PM   #788
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,087
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

A few posts up...

STEP 4: RESETTING THE SYSTEM TO UPDATE SOFTWARE

You must reset the system to the default setting every time you update the software. This is to make sure that the ESC and Program Card synchronize to each other correctly.

- Plug the ESC to the batteries and the Program Card
- Turn on the ESC
- Go to the Advanced program
- Enter either Stock or Modified mode as you would normally use
- Go to “Load Default”
- Press “ENTER”
- “Load Default Successful” message will be displayed
- Go to “Send” and press “ENTER”
- Turn off ESC and unplug batteries
- Turn on ESC to drain the capacity and wait 30 sec
- Turn the ESC off
- Plug the ESC to batteries and reprogram the ESC that you had before the software update.
PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 03:50 PM   #789
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Anyone have have a boosted touring car setup for this motor. Running on outdoor asphalt

Orca Vritra VX

LRP X-20 7.5t (what timing insert should i use)

Along with a boosted setup what gearing

Thanx
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 09:44 AM   #790
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

is there a email for support for ORCA that someone actually responds?
I emailed them from the contact email address on the website on sunday and no response.

Im about to throw this POS esc in the garbage. I've tried everything to smooth out the start/initial throttle on this esc with no luck what so ever.
I've reset and recalibrated the esc dozens of time. I tried another motor and sensor wire and removed all the timing from the motor (0 degrees)
with no timing programmed everything is smooth but if I even put just 1 degree of timing its rough again. Removing the timing from the motor helped somewhat but not very much.
I run on a very large track with a 220ft back straight theres no way in hell I could run with all the timing turned down.
The motor im using is a reedy 4.5T, Do I need a orca motor to be able to have it work properly?

If someone has a direct email to someone that could help me id really appreciate it.
__________________
XRAY T4 14 - Orca - Futaba
Serpent 811 Cobra GT-E - Tekin - Hitec
Serpent 811 BE 2.0 - Tekin - Hitec
Voltron989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 11:21 AM   #791
Tech Elite
 
B00t13g's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Calibrate your radio.
__________________
Mackenzie Meyercord
Rc America, Xray, MOTIV, Avid, Team EAM, Apex Rc Pro Shop, Pro Spec USA, Sanwa, RSD
B00t13g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 11:33 AM   #792
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Calibrate your radio.
I have calibrated the radio to the ESC a bunch of times.
Doesn't make sense that it would be the radio anyways with no timing everything is fine, as soon as I go 1 degree of timing then it's rough again.
If it was a calibration problem I'd expect to have problem with or with out timing.
__________________
XRAY T4 14 - Orca - Futaba
Serpent 811 Cobra GT-E - Tekin - Hitec
Serpent 811 BE 2.0 - Tekin - Hitec
Voltron989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 11:40 AM   #793
Tech Master
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltron989 View Post
I have calibrated the radio to the ESC a bunch of times.
Doesn't make sense that it would be the radio anyways with no timing everything is fine, as soon as I go 1 degree of timing then it's rough again.
If it was a calibration problem I'd expect to have problem with or with out timing.
try resetting the esc or reinstalling the software. What software are you running?
__________________
Ryan Gracey

XRAY T4'14/ORCA VXX/ORCA TX 5.0
XRAY XB8'14
Jerz616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 11:41 AM   #794
Tech Regular
 
emacrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Having trouble with the USB link, the driver installer pops a message that it coudnt copy or install the INF files.

help with this
__________________
Agama A215
Ko Propo | Highest RC | Team Orion | Sweep |
emacrimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 11:51 AM   #795
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz616 View Post
try resetting the esc or reinstalling the software. What software are you running?
Purchased the ESC and card from superior 2 weeks ago and they came with the v3.3 software. I've reset it a million times unless there's another way to reset it besides putting it back to default and loading new settings.
Also did what was mention above which is the same way but leave ESC unplugged with switch on to drain caps after switching to default.
__________________
XRAY T4 14 - Orca - Futaba
Serpent 811 Cobra GT-E - Tekin - Hitec
Serpent 811 BE 2.0 - Tekin - Hitec
Voltron989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net