R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2013, 12:09 PM   #616
Tech Apprentice
 
Reese Bobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: RSA
Posts: 97
Default

Hey Guys, tough day in the office today. I ran a practice run with the VXX earlier, and all was well. When I turned it on again a few minutes later in the pits, there was no throttle response. Not the end of the world, its happened to me before, re-calibrate if needed and try again. Which I tried, still no throttle response. (No LED’s illuminating at all)

I then thought of trying to check it by connecting it to the program box to have a look, and it didn’t get past the "Loading" stage. I then tried reloading the firmware by connecting it to the USB adapter, which never registered the ESC either. The ESC powers up the receiver and the onboard fan, and that is all it does. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
VBC Wildfires
Orca - Revolectrix - Sanwa - SMC
Reese Bobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 01:53 PM   #617
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscountRCStore View Post
The USB is only necessary when updating (uploading) new software to the program box and ESC.. Once the program box and ESC are updated, they will function independantly.. The program box allows you to switch from blinky to mod (vice-versa) and gives access to all adjustable parameters independant of the USB adapter.. hope it helps..!


..p
Thanks.

I guess I am trying to figure out whether or not the program box comes with functional firmware installed?

The Hobbywing box, for instance, requires the user to update it prior to using it for the first time... Is this the case with the ORCA, as well?
JamesL_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:02 PM   #618
Tech Master
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesL_71 View Post
Thanks.

I guess I am trying to figure out whether or not the program box comes with functional firmware installed?

The Hobbywing box, for instance, requires the user to update it prior to using it for the first time... Is this the case with the ORCA, as well?
James. It depends on what box you get. I believe the vx1 comes with 3.0 software and most of the program boxes come with 3.0 as well. If this us the case you can use them right out of the box. Since 3.3 isn't roar approved yet I think most boxes have the 3.0. As far as I know only the VXX ships with 3.3 software.

I would check with EA and I'm sure he can make sure you get what you need if you order them from him.
__________________
Ryan Gracey

XRAY T4'14/ORCA VXX/ORCA TX 5.0
XRAY XB8'14
Jerz616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:04 PM   #619
Tech Addict
 
Tommy R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

James, FWIW, my newly purchased program box came loaded with 3.03, not 3.3. I bought a cable so that I could update it to 3.3.
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:58 AM   #620
Tech Regular
 
DiscountRCStore's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Niles, Mi.
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz616 View Post
James. It depends on what box you get. I believe the vx1 comes with 3.0 software and most of the program boxes come with 3.0 as well. If this us the case you can use them right out of the box. Since 3.3 isn't roar approved yet I think most boxes have the 3.0. As far as I know only the VXX ships with 3.3 software.
You are correct, Thank you!


..p
__________________
www.discountRCstore.com - Free shipping over $50 storewide

---> Like us on Facebook!
DiscountRCStore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 05:35 PM   #621
Tech Regular
 
stikman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy R View Post
James, FWIW, my newly purchased program box came loaded with 3.03, not 3.3. I bought a cable so that I could update it to 3.3.
Actually your program box come with 3.0
when connect to the ESC with 3.3 it will read 3.03
stikman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 06:23 PM   #622
Tech Regular
 
abi787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bronx-N.Y.
Posts: 300
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to abi787
Questions??

can anybody tell me where can I purchase a ORCA ESC and 17 5 motor.Thanks.
__________________
Team Modelo<My Rides>Xray T4-14,13/Ofna DM1/Top Photon/Associated RC8bMBX5t brushless/Tamiya M06/Ofna TT
Traxxas REVO/MRX4 brushless/Losi 22sct.
Home Tracks:Ft.Knox Rc Park (RCNYC) Bronx N.Y./
MRRC Raceway Manorville Long Island N.Y.
abi787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 07:13 PM   #623
Tech Regular
 
Rob B99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abi787 View Post
can anybody tell me where can I purchase a ORCA ESC and 17 5 motor.Thanks.
Brooklyn hobbies has the esc in stock .. Not sure if the 17.5 are in yet . I believe he ordered some .
__________________
Sweep Racing Tires~TQ wire~ Brooklyn Hobbies ~ Phat Skeemz Paint ~
360v2 New Rochelle
Rob B99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 07:32 PM   #624
Tech Regular
 
abi787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bronx-N.Y.
Posts: 300
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to abi787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob B99 View Post
Brooklyn hobbies has the esc in stock .. Not sure if the 17.5 are in yet . I believe he ordered some .

Thanks.
__________________
Team Modelo<My Rides>Xray T4-14,13/Ofna DM1/Top Photon/Associated RC8bMBX5t brushless/Tamiya M06/Ofna TT
Traxxas REVO/MRX4 brushless/Losi 22sct.
Home Tracks:Ft.Knox Rc Park (RCNYC) Bronx N.Y./
MRRC Raceway Manorville Long Island N.Y.
abi787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 07:47 PM   #625
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,970
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abi787 View Post
can anybody tell me where can I purchase a ORCA ESC and 17 5 motor.Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob B99 View Post
Brooklyn hobbies has the esc in stock .. Not sure if the 17.5 are in yet . I believe he ordered some .
Yes see Chris over at Brooklyn hobbies. They are one of our authorized dealers in the US that carries th line of products and has them in stock.

Thanks.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 01:05 AM   #626
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hey All I have ORCA Vritra VX1-Titanium and I was wondering if it is possible to set it to blinky mode without a programming card?

If it is not possible can other programming be used, E.G. Hobbywing or Speed Passion Reventon card?
ufJmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:46 PM   #627
Tech Regular
 
DiscountRCStore's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Niles, Mi.
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Can any adjustments be made without the program box? Can I switch between blinky and mod without it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Nope. The ESC has no buttons. The box is required for all adjustments.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufJmacca View Post
Hey All I have ORCA Vritra VX1-Titanium and I was wondering if it is possible to set it to blinky mode without a programming card?

If it is not possible can other programming be used, E.G. Hobbywing or Speed Passion Reventon card?
..It looks like that question was asked/answered back on page 7.. I'm sure EA or Keith can reaffirm this for you.. No go on the the other boxes either.. Hope it helps..!

..p
__________________
www.discountRCstore.com - Free shipping over $50 storewide

---> Like us on Facebook!
DiscountRCStore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:49 AM   #628
Tech Addict
 
Tommy R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hey folks,

Last night I was racing in 17.5 TC (blinky) and it looks like my Killshot motor let go and took out my Orca VX in the process. A big flume of smoke was let out after the car quickly coasted to a stop.

I replaced the motor and tried again. The LED on the ESC still blinks blue, but no power to the motor. I can hear a faint noise as I go from brake to throttle, but it's barely audible. Everything else in the car (power to fans, steering, etc.) are all still fine.

So I guess now I need to ask what the repair policy is for Orca? I'm going to need to ship this thing off to get fixed. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Tommy
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 10:07 AM   #629
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 143
Default

Is there any online instructions for these speedos??

Thanks
Bryan D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 12:54 PM   #630
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan D View Post
Is there any online instructions for these speedos??

Thanks
You will find what your looking for here
http://www.orcarc.com/en/supports.asp
__________________
**Ausrab Industries**Destiny RX-10s**Futaba**LRP**GRP**SpeedyRC
Madmaxaus is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net