R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2013, 06:11 PM   #331
Tech Fanatic
 
elee32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: lambertville, nj
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penz316 View Post
Hi,

Is they are someone else who are running 17.5T Blinky with the Orca VX VRITRA ? Before, I was running a Tekin RS (very brutal but seen to have more top speed).

For now I have :

Innital brake : 30
Drag brake : 0
Brake Freq : 1k
Punch : 10
PWM : 8k (Maybe try 32k ? Does that make a big difference ?)

Motor : Novak Ballistic
I would turn down your initial brake setting. everything else looks ok for 17.5 blinky!
__________________
Eric Lee, sponsored by shipping and handling..
elee32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 03:58 PM   #332
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penz316 View Post
Hi,

Is they are someone else who are running 17.5T Blinky with the Orca VX VRITRA ? Before, I was running a Tekin RS (very brutal but seen to have more top speed).

For now I have :

Innital brake : 30
Drag brake : 0
Brake Freq : 1k
Punch : 10
PWM : 8k (Maybe try 32k ? Does that make a big difference ?)

Motor : Novak Ballistic
Definitely have the wrong gearing or something!!
I was able to gear my car to the point where it was too fast and needed to slow it down.. Also noticed the temps on my motor were much lower than with my old RS, I calibrated it and uploaded the 3.0 and it was perfect with default settings but I'm going to get some help with the settings when I start racing outdoors this coming Saturday.
JOE SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:29 PM   #333
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongbenghui View Post
Anyone know what is the size of the thru-hole on the PCB for Battery & Motor connection ? I want to know if QTEQ connector will work on Orca VX-1.

See http://www.multiverse.jp/QTEQ/englis...rterminal.html
They are ok. I use them on VX-1 and VX regular.


cheers
chobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:39 PM   #334
Tech Adept
 
Penz316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOE SI View Post
Definitely have the wrong gearing or something!!
I was able to gear my car to the point where it was too fast and needed to slow it down.. Also noticed the temps on my motor were much lower than with my old RS, I calibrated it and uploaded the 3.0 and it was perfect with default settings but I'm going to get some help with the settings when I start racing outdoors this coming Saturday.
Well,

i'm running between 4 and 4,5 FDR.

I've run this week-end and it's was better ... I remove timing on the motor (Ballistic) and it's start to work's pretty good.
__________________
Alex Fournier
Team Associated | Reedy | Team Scream Racing | Hyper Hobbies
Penz316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 02:13 PM   #335
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penz316 View Post
Well,

i'm running between 4 and 4,5 FDR.

I've run this week-end and it's was better ... I remove timing on the motor (Ballistic) and it's start to work's pretty good.
I'm at 96/46 3.9 fdr and its fast for the track I've been going to cause its small
( thunder power 17.5 35 degrees timing) the motor doesn't even get hot to touch but if I geared lower it would be to fast for a small track with a lot of turns...
Go up in pinion size and watch temps and you'll be a lot faster, don't go above 160-170 degrees
JOE SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 04:22 PM   #336
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Eden NSW
Posts: 123
Default

Hey all, was just after some advice. Is it possible to use the new orca vx1 esc for 2 cell mod touring? All the parameters seem the same as the vx and the only thing I can really notice is the lower heat sink so I guess heat might be an issue. Any thoughts would be great.
AKRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 05:07 PM   #337
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKRacing View Post
Hey all, was just after some advice. Is it possible to use the new orca vx1 esc for 2 cell mod touring? All the parameters seem the same as the vx and the only thing I can really notice is the lower heat sink so I guess heat might be an issue. Any thoughts would be great.
only for s1
__________________
Orca www.ChubbiesCarShack.co.uk TDX SMC RC Airbrush Fundecal
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 08:27 PM   #338
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default

Does this speedo have solder holes like Lrp or posts like orion R10? What does the back end of the speed control look like?
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 10:29 PM   #339
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,954
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

.
__________________
TEAMORCA.SHOP

Last edited by MDawson; 04-24-2013 at 10:42 PM.
MDawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:34 AM   #340
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 8,970
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default Authorized ORCA Dealers

Just want to give an update to some new Authorized ORCA dealers in the US. These are shops that are selling the ORCA products here in the US now. Any other shops interested in carrying the line can contact me as well.

Awesomeatix USA (Mike Hanulec).
Superior Hobbies, Orlando FL
Osmon Racing products. California.
Middle River Hobbies. Maryland.
Team EAM. Tennessee.

There are several others in the process of setting up accounts and getting the products in stock.

Thanks!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | ProSpec America | Killer Concepts | AVID.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:59 AM   #341
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racing4Evo View Post
Does this speedo have solder holes like Lrp or posts like orion R10? What does the back end of the speed control look like?
first version was holes new version has postes
__________________
Orca www.ChubbiesCarShack.co.uk TDX SMC RC Airbrush Fundecal
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 06:59 PM   #342
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 2,087
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig W View Post
first version was holes new version has postes
Do you mean the Vritra VX now comes with posts like the VX-1 has?
PROMODVETTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:18 PM   #343
Tech Addict
 
Mugen10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Mugen10 Send a message via Skype™ to Mugen10
Default

I went to the Orca web site and I cant find the specs for each esc. It gives some detail but not motor limit or Amp output. I would like to have more details before investing in a new product.
Also more info on the interface. I hear about a chip and a usb. Do I need to buy something to program the esc? I guess i just need to call. Feels so old fashion.
__________________
Central Kentucky Racing
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Xray T4
Mugen10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 03:07 PM   #344
Tech Addict
 
Bigz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 603
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugen10 View Post
I went to the Orca web site and I cant find the specs for each esc. It gives some detail but not motor limit or Amp output. I would like to have more details before investing in a new product.
Also more info on the interface. I hear about a chip and a usb. Do I need to buy something to program the esc? I guess i just need to call. Feels so old fashion.
go under the support tab (orca website) and look undert the manual.

over 4.5 turn motors
peak curent of 720a

etc...

you will need to buy the usb link to upgrade to the 3.0 version, but i think they all come w/ that now anyway.

you will need to buy the program card to program the esc to your liking. the esc is so nice, you won't hear anyone complain about it. Very smooth, easy to program w/ card, no need for computer.
__________________
Radiopost : EA Motorsports : Orca : Reflex Racing/RSD : Wild Turbo Fans : Franchise Racing Products : RCAmerica : Hudy : Xray : Diggity Designs:
Bigz84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 03:58 PM   #345
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugen10 View Post
I went to the Orca web site and I cant find the specs for each esc. It gives some detail but not motor limit or Amp output. I would like to have more details before investing in a new product.
Also more info on the interface. I hear about a chip and a usb. Do I need to buy something to program the esc? I guess i just need to call. Feels so old fashion.
I'd recommend this ESC to anyone and everyone, I feel it gets better every time I run it.. The program card has the newest software installed from the factory. The program card is so easy to use and its not plastic like other program boxes, it's aluminum.
On another note, on my way to the track this morning I spilled my 20oz coffee while driving, with my car on the passenger seat and you know the rest. Thought it was going to be out of service but I plugged it in and it was fine ( smells like coffee though). Because it works after literally getting soaked in coffee, I will buy another just to have
JOE SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:43 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net