R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2012, 05:34 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
NolanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Westmont
Posts: 2,425
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yeah that whole not blinky capable at the Nationals....I have heard its good boosted though before this just never seen one, held one, or seen one on sale in the US.
__________________
Mod Touring Car
Mod 12th
Nitro TC
Nitro GT
Wheeler and Mod Buggy
NolanP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 05:50 PM   #17
Tech Regular
 
Craig W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: stoke on trent
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Craig W Send a message via Skype™ to Craig W
Default



The up take in UK as been slow on VX

I have 1 VRITRA VX COMPETITION ESC TITANIUM in stock

they have gone massive in Europe

like i said before vx is the best smoothest esc i have drove all firmware is done in house easy to setup
__________________
Orca www.ChubbiesCarShack.co.uk TDX SMC RC Airbrush Fundecal
Craig W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 12:35 PM   #18
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,061
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

So, correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems like you can't adjust the Vritra VX without the settings box which isn't included, and costs another $50? Does that sound accurate?

Anybody in the US want to buy a NIP orange VX?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 01:55 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
So, correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems like you can't adjust the Vritra VX without the settings box which isn't included, and costs another $50? Does that sound accurate?

Anybody in the US want to buy a NIP orange VX?
The programmer card came included with the pro spec mk.II. Weird they don't include it with the VX now.

There's a couple of guys I know that very likely have several of these cards. They only need one each. Maybe they could sell you one cheap. I'll try to ask for you. Unfortunately I haven't seen them lately.

If I had more than only one, I would just send you one for the cost of shipping.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:04 PM   #20
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,061
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, that's nice of you guys.

I can't believe Orca would sell an ESC that you can't use without buying another piece. That's the dumbest goddamn thing I've ever encountered in this hobby.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 02:24 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,051
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Thanks, that's nice of you guys.

I can't believe Orca would sell an ESC that you can't use without buying another piece. That's the dumbest goddamn thing I've ever encountered in this hobby.
Well, that would make this a $270 speed control...that I cannot currently use at any ROAR race or race that follows ROAR rules. Wow!

Thanks for saving me a bunch of money Syn!
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 03:06 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Thanks, that's nice of you guys.

I can't believe Orca would sell an ESC that you can't use without buying another piece. That's the dumbest goddamn thing I've ever encountered in this hobby.
What if you bought two speedos? You really want to pay for an extra programmer?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 03:23 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
peter_robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: On the Lake
Posts: 3,206
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Thanks, that's nice of you guys.

I can't believe Orca would sell an ESC that you can't use without buying another piece. That's the dumbest goddamn thing I've ever encountered in this hobby.
What do you mean? This is an industry standard... Tekin has done it for at least the 2years I have been back into racing now. I'd much rather face buying a $50 handheld versus hauling a laptop to the track!

Rest assured that ORCA is in the process of getting the VX ROAR approved. You guys have to remember that ROAR is a very stale organization and work at whatever pace they see fit, you can't have any expectations from ROAR as either a consumer or manufacturer. Good membership deal right? :P
__________________
For orders or inquiries, email sales@rc-trim.com. Follow RC-Trim on Twitter and Facebook

RC-Trim | Serpent USA | On-Point | Trinity | Revtech | ORCA | BSR | KO Propo | PT RC Racing Oil | WTRC | rcpitwhores.com
peter_robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 03:52 PM   #24
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,061
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The Tekin can be adjusted with its buttons. The Orca has no buttons. The Tekin also isn't $220.

I like the cap and the fan included, and the ESC is beautiful. It's a shame I can't use it.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:08 PM   #25
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,311
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

So you can't even set it up to run in your car without that box? Did I understand that correctly?
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:10 PM   #26
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,061
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraig View Post
So you can't even set it up to run in your car without that box? Did I understand that correctly?
Reading the manual, it looks like it defaults to blinky with no drag brake, but I haven't verified that. But you certainly can't change it, there's no buttons on the unit itself. It does look like you can set endpoints as well.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:15 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,321
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Reading the manual, it looks like it defaults to blinky with no drag brake, but I haven't verified that. But you certainly can't change it, there's no buttons on the unit itself. It does look like you can set endpoints as well.

Yes the default is a very "soft" blinky setup, and basic transmitter setup can be done via on/off switch.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Team VBC HK
Team R1WURKS
EMR Factory LLC
AWESOME Graphics
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:27 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,051
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter_robinson View Post
Rest assured that ORCA is in the process of getting the VX ROAR approved. You guys have to remember that ROAR is a very stale organization and work at whatever pace they see fit, you can't have any expectations from ROAR as either a consumer or manufacturer. Good membership deal right? :P

Boy have we heard this party line before...Seems like all of the other manufacturers seem to be able to figure it out. Hobbywing V3 is on the list and that just came out. Obviously you have a problem with ROAR, but let's no pretend like Orca has not had issues in the past either understanding or implementing the correct pattern for blinky approval. You may not like ROAR, but at least there is something to verify that these manufacturers are properly implementing an industry standard.
__________________
Xray | Hudy | Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | Protoform | Proline | 2mm Designs
artwork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:30 PM   #29
Tech Initiate
 
Hoot RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 27
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraig View Post
So you can't even set it up to run in your car without that box? Did I understand that correctly?
You can only set your end points without the program box. You need the box for everything else or it will just run as factory default settings.
The Orca VX ESC would have to be the best ESC I have ever used for onroad, it is so smooth and with the Orca motor it's very fast in comparison to other brands. We have done a lot of testing with the Orca ESC in stock and mod on road and found it very reliable.
__________________
Hoot RC
sales@hootrc.com.au
www.hootrc.com.au The shop for RC Racers.
Hoot RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:36 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
peter_robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: On the Lake
Posts: 3,206
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
The Tekin can be adjusted with its buttons. The Orca has no buttons. The Tekin also isn't $220.

I like the cap and the fan included, and the ESC is beautiful. It's a shame I can't use it.
I thought you were saying the Speedo couldn't be used at all without the programmer.. I get it now. Yes the Tekin has like what 5 settings from the button, but does anyone actually use the presets? I have yet to meet someone that refers to their tekin setting in "Button Clicks."

What about 1S racing, you can't use a Tekin with 1S without buying a hotwire, a RX pack or booster, and a Laptop/Netbook...

I think it' a little unfair to say it's the silliest thing in RC to not include the programmer. Last season I tried every controller from LRP to Hobbywing to Tekin in my pan cars, and at the rate the other guys speedos blow up and/or fail I would gladly spend the extra bucks for ORCA quality.
__________________
For orders or inquiries, email sales@rc-trim.com. Follow RC-Trim on Twitter and Facebook

RC-Trim | Serpent USA | On-Point | Trinity | Revtech | ORCA | BSR | KO Propo | PT RC Racing Oil | WTRC | rcpitwhores.com
peter_robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net