R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2014, 07:35 AM   #571
Tech Regular
 
tiago890's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Harrison, NJ
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Just purchased a v3.1 stock spec and plan on using it on my 17.5 buggy, cab doesn't fit with the fan mounted on the esc so I was wondering if it was ok to use the esc with out the fan
Thanks
__________________
Sponsors: DaWife Racing and Team Myjob
tiago890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 11:39 AM   #572
Tech Elite
 
GeorgePravata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brooklyn New York GO HARD OR GO HOME!!!!!!
Posts: 3,356
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

Is there and update for the lcd program box
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED,REEDY POWER, AKA, TQ WIRES, SILLYBOYZ PRODUCTS.
GeorgePravata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 03:19 PM   #573
Tech Master
 
13Maschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,552
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to 13Maschine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiago890 View Post
Just purchased a v3.1 stock spec and plan on using it on my 17.5 buggy, cab doesn't fit with the fan mounted on the esc so I was wondering if it was ok to use the esc with out the fan
Thanks
Which buggy are you running?
__________________
SoCal R/C Privateer, find me at either OCRC or SCVRC!
My JUNSI POWERED Rides: Xray XB2 CE, Hot Bodies D413, Kyosho RB6, HobbyWing Xerun 3.1, Futaba 4PX, Futaba and MKS Servos, Speed Passion Hirosaka and HW V10 Powerplants!
First car Kyosho Pegasus and RC10CE! More than 25 years Racing! Happy to lend a helping hand. Just ask! :)
13Maschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 06:59 PM   #574
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Do you guys know the maximum safe limit for hobbywing motor operating temperature ?

My motor and esc is hobbywing juststock 13.5t combo. My gearing ratio is 3.2 for front wheel drive cars. I know 3.2 is over the chart but people in my home track are using that kind of ratios ie. 2.6 - 3.3, Some fast drivers even gearing it as low as 2.6.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:07 PM   #575
Tech Champion
 
FastPete's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,202
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiago890 View Post
Just purchased a v3.1 stock spec and plan on using it on my 17.5 buggy, cab doesn't fit with the fan mounted on the esc so I was wondering if it was ok to use the esc with out the fan
Thanks
Should be no problem, if this is 2WD, just check the temps as usual. And if you can get some air to it through the body that's a plus.
__________________
Authorized Dealer for /Agama / Tekno / Team Associated / Schelle / Hobbywing / PT Racing Shock & Diff oil / Serpent / Tekin / JConcepts / AKA / Proline / Savox / M2C / Picco / www.fiercercsolutions.com Like us on facebook www.facebook.com/FierceRCSolutions
FastPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 09:11 PM   #576
Tech Regular
 
tiago890's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Harrison, NJ
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It's a tlr 22 2.0, I am going to test it tomorrow nd check temps as I go, can you switch between pre set profiles on the esc without the programming card, couldn't find any instructions on how to do it or maybe I'm just blind haha...
Thanks
__________________
Sponsors: DaWife Racing and Team Myjob
tiago890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 04:13 AM   #577
Tech Elite
 
t4m1y4niac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576 View Post
Do you guys know the maximum safe limit for hobbywing motor operating temperature ?

My motor and esc is hobbywing juststock 13.5t combo. My gearing ratio is 3.2 for front wheel drive cars. I know 3.2 is over the chart but people in my home track are using that kind of ratios ie. 2.6 - 3.3, Some fast drivers even gearing it as low as 2.6.
I think 9x'C will just fine for that motor.i use that motor in my touring car.the temperature always around 9x'C.never exceed 100 anyway..never try.
__________________
SABRE S4 by TOP RACING....
t4m1y4niac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 11:36 PM   #578
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,773
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I am not certain about this but I know I'm close...

You will need to save the profiles in the box using a computer first. After that you can access the profiles with just the box by pressing the R/P button after the box says connecting esc and then displays the sw version. This is also how you can check your data log after a run. Might be press and hold of the R/P button. Post up again if you find you're still stuck.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 09:59 AM   #579
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4m1y4niac View Post
I think 9x'C will just fine for that motor.i use that motor in my touring car.the temperature always around 9x'C.never exceed 100 anyway..never try.
Ok many thanks.

So 90 degree Celcius is the upper safe limit.

I will bring my temp gun and check the temp.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 11:09 AM   #580
Tech Regular
 
tiago890's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Harrison, NJ
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I don't have the program box yet, LHS will only have it in late next week, so I wanted to know if I can program it without the card or at least switch to different profiles
__________________
Sponsors: DaWife Racing and Team Myjob
tiago890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 04:34 PM   #581
Tech Regular
 
tiago890's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Harrison, NJ
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Still no program card yet, first race is this Friday and wanted to practice in blinky mode, anyone know how to get this thing into blinky with out using the program card... Thanks
__________________
Sponsors: DaWife Racing and Team Myjob
tiago890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 10:48 PM   #582
Tech Addict
 
Rugspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Palm Deset California
Posts: 506
Default

Need the programmer.....only way
__________________
Steve Burgess
Rugspin Graphix http://www.rugspingraphix.com
FB http://facebook.com/rugspingraphix
Email rugspinner@aol.com
Rugspin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 11:37 PM   #583
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,039
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Any good setting starting point for a v3.1 stock spec in TC 17.5 blinky? Going to give this thing a shot. Heard it was smooth. thx
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 04:35 AM   #584
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 102
Default

Hello,

Im going to "Pilot race"(same staff as ETS) next week.
This winter, i'll run in modified. Someone have a setup for indoor with a 4.5T?

Regards,
Nicolas
nicoo2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 08:56 PM   #585
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,083
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I looked and looked.. and searched without finding an answer. Quick question, can I change the profile and/or set my basic settings (i.e. drag brake) on the unit itself? or does all programing require the programming box?

(EDIT: lol.. the answer is right on this page.. I was scouring very early pages in the thread. )
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -

Last edited by Cpt.America; 09-11-2014 at 03:03 PM.
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing Xerun 120 V2 ESC for 1/10 cjtamu Electric Off-Road 289 09-15-2014 03:52 PM
HobbyWing XERUN 13.5T( V3 ) YZFAndy Electric On-Road 6 03-04-2011 04:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net