R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2014, 05:57 AM   #541
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
Was just about to ask the same thing! Will give the new software a try on the dyno tonight and see how it looks. Maybe HW have found a better way of doing things :-)

Or maybe they've just been removed as most people set them way too low which just generates lots of heat and no extra power.
I am very interested in your dyno tests
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:44 AM   #542
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Has the new software been sent to ROAR for approval?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 12:49 PM   #543
Tech Master
 
TJames987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,064
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Hi. Can the Xerun 3.1 be provrammed with the old professional program box? ,
TJames987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 12:58 PM   #544
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
Was just about to ask the same thing! Will give the new software a try on the dyno tonight and see how it looks. Maybe HW have found a better way of doing things :-)

Or maybe they've just been removed as most people set them way too low which just generates lots of heat and no extra power.
It does remove more heat from the motor by removing the options as the software was to confusing for many but i found the options very very useful especially for braking purposes and a much more controlled and softer feel for the ones who have masterd the previous version the 129 i would continue using it as i believe if you run Hobbywing v10 motors you dont have to worry about heat as those motors dont get hot.We made the decision to create this easier version to cater for all drivers not only a selected few factory guys.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 01:01 PM   #545
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJames987 View Post
Hi. Can the Xerun 3.1 be provrammed with the old professional program box? ,
yes you can just update the programmer through your usb link but you will no longer be able to run the 2.1 v esc unless you go back to the older version software which you can do.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 01:01 PM   #546
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
Has the new software been sent to ROAR for approval?
Im doing that now.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 01:37 PM   #547
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
It does remove more heat from the motor by removing the options as the software was to confusing for many but i found the options very very useful especially for braking purposes and a much more controlled and softer feel for the ones who have masterd the previous version the 129 i would continue using it as i believe if you run Hobbywing v10 motors you dont have to worry about heat as those motors dont get hot.We made the decision to create this easier version to cater for all drivers not only a selected few factory guys.
Nice Angelo!

I'll try the new software at the track next week and if the feeling is too different from the previous version, I'll switch back to the 129 so.
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 02:53 PM   #548
Tech Addict
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 655
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've updated my USB link software to 3.43 and my 2-in-1 box in V1.11_120331_V3. There is nothing written on the LCD screen anymore...

And it refuses to connect to my HW v3.0 to do anything... What can I do?
Airwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 04:13 PM   #549
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: wrexham UK
Posts: 77
Default V3.1 blinky

I have posted the below in another section but am looking at what settings can be changed in the blinky setup of the V3.1 stock spec speedo to give a better performance.

Hi

After a little advice I have a 17.5 and run it in my T4-14 I mainly run at Stafford and will be at the next Bedworth meeting. I run it at 2.9 and the motor come off quite hot temp could not say as do not have a temp gun.

The advice that I am looking for is a good gearing and what adjustment I need to do on the end bell trimming

I run it with a V3.1 stock speck speedo in blindly and again not altered any settings in the speedo. Is there also a site to get or see other racers set ups

Thanks
Andrew
andrewd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 03:43 AM   #550
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,447
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

You really need to know where you are temp wise "Quite hot" isn't a lot of use to you. You should be able to get a motor internal temp reading saved in the speedo after the run.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:08 AM   #551
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,223
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Ran the new software on Saturday night, and did a back to back vs 129. Have to say, I preferred the feel with the new, seemed smoother, and more consistent on the brakes. Was a little concerned about losing the boost rpm settings, but if anything boost was being applied smoother than I had setup in 129... Ended up keeping the new software on, as it also showed a slight lap time improvement. This was all in modified mind, so whether there is as noticeable difference in lower powered classes, I can't say.
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:36 AM   #552
Tech Apprentice
 
bluef250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, Il
Posts: 54
Default

So is the boost being applied throughout the entire rpm range now? Ran the new software on a new track last night, tqed and won.
bluef250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 12:54 AM   #553
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Default

hi i bought a new hobby wing v3.1 1 month ago and i ran very good with standard firmware.
I have seen the new v3.2 140627 beta and i put on my esc, the process its ok but when i connect the car to the battery switch on the button of the esc and hold for do the calibrate with radio the fan of the esc its blow up. i change the fan that one goes well but when i drive the car the fan is disconnected automatically , in neutral position the fan its ok but when i full throttle the fan is off ,turn off the esc and the switch on and the fan goes on until i press full throttle ....
i think something is broken when i install the new firmware i try to put the old i have int the esc but the problem continues...
i do the firmware update like the manual of the multiprogram card say...
computer usb - multiprogram card - esc connected to lipo

thank you very much

Last edited by Javier Bas; 08-04-2014 at 08:11 AM.
Javier Bas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 08:32 PM   #554
Tech Master
 
Madulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,011
Default

Angelo, is HW planning on making a JustStock type Esc with a booster for 12scale for blinky only?
__________________
Hobbywing North America Team Driver
hobbywingdirect.com

CARCAR VP carcar.ca
Madulla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 03:11 PM   #555
Tech Master
 
TJames987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,064
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

hooked up the 3.1 to the new programm box and it will never get past either the connecting to PC or connecting to ESC Very frustrated so far. What am i doing wrong?

i cannot get the computer software to work either

It seems to work only when i plug the wire into the fan port (for the box) but wont work from the actual esc wire.
TJames987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing Xerun 120 V2 ESC for 1/10 cjtamu Electric Off-Road 289 09-15-2014 03:52 PM
HobbyWing XERUN 13.5T( V3 ) YZFAndy Electric On-Road 6 03-04-2011 04:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net