R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2014, 09:41 AM   #511
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The current version of the USB Link Software is v3.42 .. it is the program for your PC.

The current version of the LCD Box Software is V1.17

If you open the USB Link Software on your PC their is a menu item at the top called "Device" - make sure you have it selected to what you are trying to update .. either the ESC or the LCD Program Box, each has their own software versions.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 10:49 AM   #512
Tech Regular
 
OttoKrosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
The current version of the USB Link Software is v3.42 .. it is the program for your PC.

The current version of the LCD Box Software is V1.17

If you open the USB Link Software on your PC their is a menu item at the top called "Device" - make sure you have it selected to what you are trying to update .. either the ESC or the LCD Program Box, each has their own software versions.
THANK YOU, that does help to clear the fog.

My learning curve is still very steep with all the new technology, being away from RC cars for over 25 years has it's downside.
__________________
This space for rent.

Oo=00=oO
OttoKrosse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:01 PM   #513
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Esc advice

I searched this forum for an official hobbywing forum and could not find one. I am looking for a hobbywing esc for mod touring car. I am not sure whether I will use a 3.5, 4.0 or 4.5 turn in a associated tc4 for now.... I believe I may have at least two choices within their line of esc....what say you... FYI this is for a large track only...
SouthFloridaApp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 08:28 PM   #514
Tech Champion
 
FastPete's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,202
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthFloridaApp View Post
I searched this forum for an official hobbywing forum and could not find one. I am looking for a hobbywing esc for mod touring car. I am not sure whether I will use a 3.5, 4.0 or 4.5 turn in a associated tc4 for now.... I believe I may have at least two choices within their line of esc....what say you... FYI this is for a large track only...
V3.1 120A
__________________
Authorized Dealer for /Agama / Tekno / Team Associated / Schelle / Hobbywing / PT Racing Shock & Diff oil / Serpent / Tekin / JConcepts / AKA / Proline / Savox / M2C / Picco / www.fiercercsolutions.com Like us on facebook www.facebook.com/FierceRCSolutions
FastPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:56 PM   #515
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,765
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Run the V3.1 120A Xerun

Best ESC for mod sedan imho.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 12:15 PM   #516
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 143
Default

sorted

Last edited by Bryan D; 07-13-2014 at 02:42 PM. Reason: sorted
Bryan D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 02:57 PM   #517
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,796
Default

angelo: any update on the new blinky esc, timeline wise?

We are trying to create an 'equal' F1 class running a fixed timing 21.5T motor, and are looking for a 'no timing options' ESC that is inexpensive and rumors say the JuStock will be discontinued, but it would be perfect
__________________
MOD: A800 R1 Digital-2 HW G2 4.5T|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 24K |||F1:
Xray X1 2017 HW XR10 StockSpec R1 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 06:50 AM   #518
Tech Master
 
sohlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Outside NYC
Posts: 1,737
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

I have a Xerun 120a v3.1 and it won't connect to my PC. Connected ESC to LCD box to PC as directed in the manual. Running 3.42 on Windows 7 Starter. LCD box is running v1.17_140315. I can connect ESC to the LCD box no problem, but not PC. Same result for all my ESCs. Any suggestions? Thanks for your time.
__________________
Steve Sohl
sohlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 06:58 AM   #519
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sohlman View Post
I have a Xerun 120a v3.1 and it won't connect to my PC. Connected ESC to LCD box to PC as directed in the manual. Running 3.42 on Windows 7 Starter. LCD box is running v1.17_140315. I can connect ESC to the LCD box no problem, but not PC. Same result for all my ESCs. Any suggestions? Thanks for your time.
Could be the order of the steps.

1. Start the USB Link Software
2. Connect the ESC to the Computer via the programming box.
3. Turn the ESC on. (must be connected with batteries)
4. The program should recognize your ESC.

* Make sure under the Device Menu at the top that "ESC" is selected.
* Try different USB Ports
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 07:31 AM   #520
Tech Master
 
sohlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Outside NYC
Posts: 1,737
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. My LCD box connects to PC no prob. I've tried just about every order combo with no success. The only thing I have not tried is "run as administrator" as suggested by Slotmachine. Hope thats it. Will try that tonight.
__________________
Steve Sohl
sohlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 08:17 AM   #521
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sohlman View Post
Thanks. My LCD box connects to PC no prob. I've tried just about every order combo with no success. The only thing I have not tried is "run as administrator" as suggested by Slotmachine. Hope thats it. Will try that tonight.
Just to cover the basics ..

1. You should have your program box connected to the PRG/Fan Port (not the RX plug).

2. The leads to the box/esc should be plugged in correctly +/- (this appears upside down when looking down at the box)

3. Once the LCD box connects .. hit the first button on the box if nothing happens .. it should say connecting to ESC.

4. Run as Administrator.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 08:37 AM   #522
Tech Champion
 
FastPete's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,202
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sohlman View Post
Thanks. My LCD box connects to PC no prob. I've tried just about every order combo with no success. The only thing I have not tried is "run as administrator" as suggested by Slotmachine. Hope thats it. Will try that tonight.
Good luck and report back.
__________________
Authorized Dealer for /Agama / Tekno / Team Associated / Schelle / Hobbywing / PT Racing Shock & Diff oil / Serpent / Tekin / JConcepts / AKA / Proline / Savox / M2C / Picco / www.fiercercsolutions.com Like us on facebook www.facebook.com/FierceRCSolutions
FastPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 05:48 PM   #523
Tech Master
 
sohlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Outside NYC
Posts: 1,737
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastPete View Post
Good luck and report back.
Worked. Not sure why the "run as admin" makes a difference, but I'm also a Mac guy so I guess I should just be happy. I am. Thanks guys.

And by the way, great speedo. I have a few and plan to buy more.
__________________
Steve Sohl
sohlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:11 AM   #524
Tech Adept
 
hobie814's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 108
Default

Hi,

Yesterday I decided to make the update to the 3.42 version of the USB link. I did the installation on my PC, everything ok. Then I updated my box and then my ESC. Everything seems ok but when I start again my ESC, I could not make the throttle adjustment, I push the button 2 seconds but no red light and when I released my finger from the button, the ESC just switched off. Then I connect my box again and I got the following message: software has to be updated. But both software are updated apparently. Can somebody help me? Thanks in advance.

Bruno
hobie814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 06:46 AM   #525
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobie814 View Post
Hi,

Yesterday I decided to make the update to the 3.42 version of the USB link. I did the installation on my PC, everything ok. Then I updated my box and then my ESC. Everything seems ok but when I start again my ESC, I could not make the throttle adjustment, I push the button 2 seconds but no red light and when I released my finger from the button, the ESC just switched off. Then I connect my box again and I got the following message: software has to be updated. But both software are updated apparently. Can somebody help me? Thanks in advance.

Bruno
Which ESC are you using?

Hold the power button until you start to hear 'beeping' - usually 3+ seconds.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | KO Propo | Hobbywing HWNA | R1Wurks | BSR Tires
5280 Raceway - www.5280raceway.com
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing Xerun 120 V2 ESC for 1/10 cjtamu Electric Off-Road 289 09-15-2014 03:52 PM
HobbyWing XERUN 13.5T( V3 ) YZFAndy Electric On-Road 6 03-04-2011 04:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net