R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2014, 12:17 PM   #496
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hello guys,

I ran last sunday with my TP powered VBC on a big outdoor asphalt track and I had issues with my Hobbywing V3.0 esc: at the end of the day, it seems that the speedo didn't work anymore; I had to pull the car to make it go forward...when I pulled the car, the motor begin to turn and seems to work properly.

I tried to change the motor, the sensor, the gearings and other stuffs (calibration,...) but I can't make it, I still had this problem. I put my motor on another esc and it works properly. I assume that there is something broken into the speedo, am I right?

Can someone help me to deal with it? Did someone already had the same issue?

Thanks for answering,
Best regards,
G-rem
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 12:18 PM   #497
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

(sorry, double post)
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 06:31 PM   #498
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,476
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-rem View Post
Hello guys,

I ran last sunday with my TP powered VBC on a big outdoor asphalt track and I had issues with my Hobbywing V3.0 esc: at the end of the day, it seems that the speedo didn't work anymore; I had to pull the car to make it go forward...when I pulled the car, the motor begin to turn and seems to work properly.

I tried to change the motor, the sensor, the gearings and other stuffs (calibration,...) but I can't make it, I still had this problem. I put my motor on another esc and it works properly. I assume that there is something broken into the speedo, am I right?

Can someone help me to deal with it? Did someone already had the same issue?

Thanks for answering,
Best regards,
G-rem
If u r using a ko radio, recalibrate radio!
idbdoug
I'd
__________________
www.fantomracing.com
www.serpentamerica.com
www.reflexracing.net
www.gizmoracingusa.com
www.falconsekido.com
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 08:13 PM   #499
Tech Fanatic
 
Leester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wrong Planet
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 20 (95%+)
Default

I ran the V3.1 in the Open Modified Class @ the Reedy Race last week. The V3.1 performed flawlessly throughout the entire event. It ran cool with great braking that NEVER faded all week/end long. I qualified P5 and finished P4 in the Triple A Mains. Andy Moore was awesome helping me get the V3.1 fine tuned for the event. We made a few boost/timing changes and a tweak on the gearing and I never touched it the rest of the week.

Thanks Andy... You're the MAN!

Lee Passehl
Leester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 01:45 PM   #500
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,765
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I'd love to see the settings you settled on along with motor, rotor, gearing, timing. I'm guessing the Tamiya Track is about 150'x60'?
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 02:41 AM   #501
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

After a 5 min. run my V3 doesn't turn off when i press the brake for 6 sec (Brakes are on 100%).It doesn't turn off even when i try to shut it down from the switch button so i have to unplug the cables.If i press the button for some more seconds, sometimes it shut down but most of the times switch to calibration mode.I already have install the latest firmware.Any ideas why this happens and how i'll resolve this problem?
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 02:45 AM   #502
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,219
Default

Its not a software issue its hardware issue .It will shut down once the voltage regulator circuit cools down about 5 mins.It needs a modification with a piggy back voltage regulator on top of the original.Will need to go back to the distributor to send back to factory.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 03:02 AM   #503
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Thanks Angelo.Unfortunately for some reasons i cannot go back to the distributor or send it back to the factory for the modification.I'll live with this issue until i get another one.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 03:38 AM   #504
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,219
Default

I know its a pain but cooling it down is good for the esc.
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 04:48 PM   #505
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 181
Default

I run 13.5 boosted TC and I am struggling to get top end from this speedo. I have a speed passion mmm motor and wondered what the maximum turbo timing I can add. I currently have 11 degrees on motor. 30 boost, 4000-16000 and tried 24 turbo. I upped this to 34 and the top end was a little better but I'm not sure I should go any higher.

Do I just need to gear up? I am currently 6.13 FDR.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The xerun 3.1 just isn't as fast on the straight as the SP Reventon Pro. What am I doing wrong?
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 11:59 PM   #506
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
I run 13.5 boosted TC and I am struggling to get top end from this speedo. I have a speed passion mmm motor and wondered what the maximum turbo timing I can add. I currently have 11 degrees on motor. 30 boost, 4000-16000 and tried 24 turbo. I upped this to 34 and the top end was a little better but I'm not sure I should go any higher.

Do I just need to gear up? I am currently 6.13 FDR.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The xerun 3.1 just isn't as fast on the straight as the SP Reventon Pro. What am I doing wrong?
Hi,

you have to change your FDR, with a 10.5t boosted on a big track I ran 5.7!

As you must know the maximum electronic timing you can add via the speedo is 64. So, if your track doesn't need a lot of power, you can "transfer" boost to turbo to have a better top speed. Try 24 boost and 40 turbo (be aware of checking your temp).

Best regards,
G-rem
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 02:06 AM   #507
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
I run 13.5 boosted TC and I am struggling to get top end from this speedo. I have a speed passion mmm motor and wondered what the maximum turbo timing I can add. I currently have 11 degrees on motor. 30 boost, 4000-16000 and tried 24 turbo. I upped this to 34 and the top end was a little better but I'm not sure I should go any higher.

Do I just need to gear up? I am currently 6.13 FDR.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The xerun 3.1 just isn't as fast on the straight as the SP Reventon Pro. What am I doing wrong?
Is this the Toro 120A ESC that you asked about on the Bedworth site? It's not a Hobbywing (just a clone) so the performance may not be up to scratch. The genuine Hobbywing v3.1 is as fast as anything else out there (and faster than most). See confirmation here from Cobra:

Quote:
Originally Posted by chachotu View Post
hello i have bought a sky rc toro 120, is the same esc than hobbywing v3.1?? it,s very similar if not the same shape??
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Zero association .Skyrc and Ztw both based in china manufacture those v3.1 looking escs which we deem as counterfiets for the likes of TPowers ,ZTW brand,Skyrc ,G force and some others.

Dont be fooled thinking you have purchased a Hobbywing Oem product of a brand as you havent .
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 03:00 AM   #508
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 181
Default

Hi Dale, yes it is the same speedo I was asking for advice on the Bedworth FB page.

I purchased it from a UK shop after much research and reading reviews. It is the black aluminium cased version.

Fair enough it's a clone but the build quality and performance seems very good. As does punch. Just lacking top speed.

As it is obvioulsy NOT a Hobbywing and now I know I shall not post in this thread and move my questions to the Toro thread instead.

Apologies for any harm caused here I was just looking for help.

It has been mentioned that the TOTAL allowed timing between motor and ESC is 90 degrees and not 64, is that correct? And that 22 on motor, 34 boost and 24 turbo would be okay, a total of 80. Is that correct?

Cheers for your help
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 03:31 AM   #509
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
Hi Dale, yes it is the same speedo I was asking for advice on the Bedworth FB page.

I purchased it from a UK shop after much research and reading reviews. It is the black aluminium cased version.

Fair enough it's a clone but the build quality and performance seems very good. As does punch. Just lacking top speed.

As it is obvioulsy NOT a Hobbywing and now I know I shall not post in this thread and move my questions to the Toro thread instead.

Apologies for any harm caused here I was just looking for help.

It has been mentioned that the TOTAL allowed timing between motor and ESC is 90 degrees and not 64, is that correct? And that 22 on motor, 34 boost and 24 turbo would be okay, a total of 80. Is that correct?

Cheers for your help
You can run upto 64 steps on the ESC (boost+turbo).

You can then turn the motor timing up until its hitting its temperature limit (about 75 celcius for the SP motors).

Don't worry about what the theoretical maximum in actual real degrees of timing is. It's a moving target, and not really important. I've ran motors on the dyno at 64 boost and 50deg on the endbell and it still worked (got bloody hot though and didn't have any more power than at lower endbell settings). Temperature is the limit we always hit first.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 05:41 PM   #510
Tech Regular
 
OttoKrosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Hobbywing v3.1 ESC and program questions

Ok, I have a V3.1 and like it so much I want another for car #2.

My problem is I'm trying to update the program box to the V3.42 software and I don't think it's working out. I did the update and it said it was successful, only thing is the update that shows up is labeled: V1.17_140315, and I don't seem to have any other options to choose from.



The download into my PC was a problem and it would not show a linked icon on my desktop, I had to execute the download via my laptop, which did show a linked icon. The page doesn't seem to display correctly because I can't scroll or slide the view with the bottom slider adjuster, there is none to manual operate.

Little help......anyone have a similar problem that can guide me though this?



Thanks,
__________________
This space for rent.

Oo=00=oO
OttoKrosse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing Xerun 120 V2 ESC for 1/10 cjtamu Electric Off-Road 289 09-15-2014 03:52 PM
HobbyWing XERUN 13.5T( V3 ) YZFAndy Electric On-Road 6 03-04-2011 04:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net