R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2013, 04:08 AM   #331
Tech Adept
 
Stusdal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried the HW 3.1 1cell esc with a speed passion 3.0 1cell motor?

I recently tried that combination (3.5T motor) with the Andy Moore settings in HW's web page. Compared to my other motors (ThunderPower) it was suprisingly slow.

I want to give it another go and is wondering if anyone has advice as to what way to go with gearing and esc setup. At the moment it's lacking punch and top end speed..
__________________
Serpent || Futaba || Protoform || Orca || GensACE || Sorex ||
*When you are not practicing, remember, someone somewhere is practicing, and when you meet him he will win*
Stusdal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 06:15 PM   #332
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,343
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
I had this same problem with several HW ESCs (from v2.1s to v3.1s) and a Revtech 17.5 motor. Unfortunately, I never resolved that problem with a Revtech motor. I had to switch motors in order to gain braking. I STILL don't know why my Revtech 17.5 had almost 0 brakes, even on full 100% brakes.
I resolved my braking problem by putting a 13.0mm rotor in my D3.5 motor (I'm running a 10.5 in an open touring class). I guess braking strength is a function of both rotor strength and the air gap between the rotor and stator...

Now I'd love to know why my V3 has a nasty habit of shutting itself off... Fresh battery in the car, no collision necessary - I can run the car for a few laps, and if I stop for any reason (e.g., after a few warmup laps) there are times the ESC powers itself off. Anyone else observe this behavior?
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
✯Jackson RC✯Horsham RC✯SJCCR✯
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 07:03 PM   #333
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Are you holding the brake on when you're stopped?
__________________
Team Serpent
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 07:07 PM   #334
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,219
Default

[QUOTE=oeoeo327;12819383]I resolved my braking problem by putting a 13.0mm rotor in my D3.5 motor (I'm running a 10.5 in an open touring class). I guess braking strength is a function of both rotor strength and the air gap between the rotor and stator...

Now I'd love to know why my V3 has a nasty habit of shutting itself off... Fresh battery in the car, no collision necessary - I can run the car for a few laps, and if I stop for any reason (e.g., after a few warmup laps) there are times the ESC powers itself off. Anyone else observe this behavior?[/QUOTE

If your holding the brake while stopped for more than 5 secs the esc will shut down it is a feature of the data logger to save the data.

As for your brakes issue when shimming make sure your rotor is as close to the hall sensor board as possible.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 05:21 AM   #335
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,343
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
Are you holding the brake on when you're stopped?
Just read CobraRacing's post... Wasn't aware of that feature (and, quite frankly, think the 5 second window should be extended a bit - maybe 10 seconds?) - now I'll know not to hold the brake... Thanks for the assistance.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
✯Jackson RC✯Horsham RC✯SJCCR✯
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 03:11 PM   #336
Tech Addict
 
bigcracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 589
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Off the subject thinking of buying Xerun 3.1 for 12 th scale is this a good speed controller for the money I have been running LRPs, will this be a noticeable improvement and do I need to buy the program box also

Thanks Chris
bigcracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 04:13 PM   #337
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
Just read CobraRacing's post... Wasn't aware of that feature (and, quite frankly, think the 5 second window should be extended a bit - maybe 10 seconds?) - now I'll know not to hold the brake... Thanks for the assistance.
5 seconds is.... quite frankly a very long time when racing. How often do you hold down the brakes for more than 1 second?

Heck, 5 seconds is almost half a lap on our medium sized carpet track.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 07:27 PM   #338
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,343
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
5 seconds is.... quite frankly a very long time when racing. How often do you hold down the brakes for more than 1 second?

Heck, 5 seconds is almost half a lap on our medium sized carpet track.
While actually racing - yes, 5 seconds on the brakes would be a long time - but while waiting for the race to start, holding the brake while adjusting the brake endpoint on the transmitter could take 5 seconds (and for whatever reason, I have to hold the brakes while making this adjustment).

I never made this connection, but this is most likely the scenario that powers down the ESC. Knowing that this occurs, I'll avoid doing it in the future.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
✯Jackson RC✯Horsham RC✯SJCCR✯
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 07:43 PM   #339
Tech Champion
 
FastPete's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,202
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcracing View Post
Off the subject thinking of buying Xerun 3.1 for 12 th scale is this a good speed controller for the money I have been running LRPs, will this be a noticeable improvement and do I need to buy the program box also

Thanks Chris
One of the best out there, im sure others will agree. The program box is nice.
__________________
Authorized Dealer for /Agama / Tekno / Team Associated / Schelle / Hobbywing / PT Racing Shock & Diff oil / Serpent / Tekin / JConcepts / AKA / Proline / Savox / M2C / Picco / www.fiercercsolutions.com Like us on facebook www.facebook.com/FierceRCSolutions
FastPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 08:07 PM   #340
Tech Elite
 
JFuel11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,538
Trader Rating: 145 (100%+)
Default New PDF Setup Sheet for V3.1 ESC

Guys,

I wanted to share this Editable PDF Setupsheet I just put together for the Hobbywing V3.1 120 & 100 Amp ESC.

Xerun 120A V3.1 ESC - 12-17-2013.pdf

Let me know if you have any questions.

Alan
__________________
Alan Bachman (AKA - Johnny Rocket Fuel)
Help your fellow racers go faster... You will have more competition!!!
Sponsors:
RC America - XRay - Hudy - Maclan Racing - Xpert Servos - Schelle Racing Innovations - AKA Racing Products - DE Racing - Sticky Kicks - Sanwa
JFuel11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 07:17 PM   #341
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

HELP-

I'm currently using a Hobbywing v3.1 stock spec esc (100a version). Running the updated firmware for the both the 3 in 1 program card, and on the ESC itself. I updated this with software vs. 3.4.

I just switched over to a MM3 transmission, and I need to be able to reverse the motor direction. I know for sure that I can do this with the v2.1 ESC's. But there isn't an option for this on either the PC or the Program Box! Am I just out of luck, or is there a way for me to download an older firmware and flash to ESC back a version to give me this option. I have no other choice other than to buy a new ESC at this point if I can't figure it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated if you could even provide a direct link for me to click on and D/L that'd be the best. I can't find any older firmwares just the 3.4 usblink software.

Thanks so much!

P.S. running in sensorless mode isn't an option, I already tried removing the Sensor wire and switching 2 of the wire on the motor and it gives me this weird half-throttle to full throttle ramp up. Car is not race-able in that state.
captain_brew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 07:17 PM   #342
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

HELP-

I'm currently using a Hobbywing v3.1 stock spec esc (100a version). Running the updated firmware for the both the 3 in 1 program card, and on the ESC itself. I updated this with software vs. 3.4.

I just switched over to a MM3 transmission, and I need to be able to reverse the motor direction. I know for sure that I can do this with the v2.1 ESC's. But there isn't an option for this on either the PC or the Program Box! Am I just out of luck, or is there a way for me to download an older firmware and flash to ESC back a version to give me this option. I have no other choice other than to buy a new ESC at this point if I can't figure it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated if you could even provide a direct link for me to click on and D/L that'd be the best. I can't find any older firmwares just the 3.4 usblink software.

Thanks so much!

P.S. running in sensorless mode isn't an option, I already tried removing the Sensor wire and switching 2 of the wire on the motor and it gives me this weird half-throttle to full throttle ramp up. Car is not race-able in that state.
captain_brew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 09:41 PM   #343
Tech Initiate
 
AllenCheung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: China
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jensen123 View Post
When will that new V3 available in Hong Kong, still waiting now!
T_T
We can sale for you, IF YOU WANT, PLEASE GIVE ME YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS.
AllenCheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 01:31 AM   #344
Tech Apprentice
 
Miholc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Slovenija, Europe
Posts: 66
Default

Hello,

I need your help. I have combo of blue Xerun V3.1 and new 4-pole Tenshock motor 5.5T, about 7.5:1 FDR.

See: 3 Racing Sakura XI Sport

On the first run, the car ran great, motor was about 45C after 5 minute run. On the secong run the first laps were OK, then I lost lot of power till 50% and above 50% throttle I got unmanagable boost of power. The motor was 90C hot after the run!!
I got blinking green light on the controller. I tried it for the third time with new sensor wire, but it was the same, and I stopped after 3 laps. Green blinking light.

I have box stock controller, only calibrated, bought at Giant Shark 3 weeks ago.

Please advise before something goes up in smoke.

My other combos Xerun V2.1 and Xtreme Stock are working perfectly tough.

Thanks for your support! Keep up the great work! Really appreciate that!

Regards,
Miha
Miholc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 09:32 AM   #345
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 357
Questions?? Xerun 120A 1S V3.1

Any updates on ROAR approval for this ESC?
__________________
AW HELL RICKEY, I WAS HIGH WHEN I SAID THAT!
durtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing Xerun 120 V2 ESC for 1/10 cjtamu Electric Off-Road 289 09-15-2014 03:52 PM
HobbyWing XERUN 13.5T( V3 ) YZFAndy Electric On-Road 6 03-04-2011 04:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net