R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2013, 07:12 AM   #316
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,343
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
... reflashing the ESC didn't improve the problem I had with inadequate braking power, although I noticed that the motor used seemed to affect overall brake strength. I ran a Thunder Power 9.5 in my TC this weekend, and had pretty strong brakes. When I swapped the 9.5 for a Murfdogg 10.5, I had virtually no brakes whatsoever. ESC was recalibrated after each motor swap. One thing I noticed after taking both motors apart is that the rotor is closer to the sensor board in the TP; would anyone know if the distance between the rotor and the sensors determines how much braking strength is available?
No one has any insight on this theory? Could this problem be related to the communication between the ESC and the sensor board? If someone could answer this question, I'd be most appreciative.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
✯Jackson RC✯Horsham RC✯SJCCR✯
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 07:16 AM   #317
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I ran a v3.1 Stock Spec with a boosted D3.5 4.5 a few weekends ago and had terrible brakes. I ran it out of the box. I'll try another firmware this weekend and see if that helps.
__________________
Richard G.

Tamiya...
dizope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 11:12 AM   #318
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default Hobby Wing Justock ESC question:

Hobby Wing Justock ESC question:

I installed a justock ECS for use in a 21.5 F1 car with a Futaba 4PKS. The ESC seems to have very limited bottom end (acts as if a torque limiter is on?). I've tried reprogramming the ESC, switching motors, sensor cables, switching radio models and even purchased the programming module with the hope of improving acceleration off the corners, but nothing has improved.

To that end, is this inherent with this ESC model or is it possible that I have a faulty ESC?
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 11:49 AM   #319
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madjack View Post
Hobby Wing Justock ESC question:

I installed a justock ECS for use in a 21.5 F1 car with a Futaba 4PKS. The ESC seems to have very limited bottom end (acts as if a torque limiter is on?). I've tried reprogramming the ESC, switching motors, sensor cables, switching radio models and even purchased the programming module with the hope of improving acceleration off the corners, but nothing has improved.

To that end, is this inherent with this ESC model or is it possible that I have a faulty ESC?
Up the 'Punch' setting using the program box
__________________
MOD: A800 R1 Digital-2 HW G2 4.5T|||VTA: A700 Orca VX3 R1 25.5V16 |||F1:
Roche 2016 R1 Digital-2 R1 21.5V16|||Sanwa M12S|||iCharger 406Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 12:18 PM   #320
Tech Master
 
vivo quevas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central, Ca.
Posts: 1,112
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Madjack I run Juststock in Gt Touring car that uses 21.5 motors. I have good lowend I think you may have a motor or a gearing issue. I do have my DRRS on 9 where is your DRRS set at.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjack View Post
Hobby Wing Justock ESC question:

I installed a justock ECS for use in a 21.5 F1 car with a Futaba 4PKS. The ESC seems to have very limited bottom end (acts as if a torque limiter is on?). I've tried reprogramming the ESC, switching motors, sensor cables, switching radio models and even purchased the programming module with the hope of improving acceleration off the corners, but nothing has improved.

To that end, is this inherent with this ESC model or is it possible that I have a faulty ESC?
__________________
Awesomatix A800 USGT, Awesomatix 800 VTA, , Tamiya Euro Truck, CRC WTF1

http://localrcracing.freeforums.org/
HobbyTown Fresno, Ca. McAllister Racing, Visa/MasterCard's
vivo quevas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:44 PM   #321
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivo quevas View Post
Madjack I run Juststock in Gt Touring car that uses 21.5 motors. I have good lowend I think you may have a motor or a gearing issue. I do have my DRRS on 9 where is your DRRS set at.
My DRRS is set at 9 also. The rollout is at 98 in my F1 so the gear should be spot on based on other ESC's I've used.

I've received some instructions & updates from HW, so hopefully that will help out the issue. Just need to find the time to load and test!
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:27 PM   #322
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
No one has any insight on this theory? Could this problem be related to the communication between the ESC and the sensor board? If someone could answer this question, I'd be most appreciative.
Honestly, not sure on this, never had an issue with the brakes on the V3.

Couple of things to check....
Set your reverse speed to 100%. I know you wouldn't be using reverse, but this can sometimes help with weak brakes.. although I've mainly heard of this on stock motors rather than mods.
Also, when recalibrating the esc, make sure that all end-points are set to 100% on the transmitter, not more or less, and that the trims are all at zero too.

Failing all that, just check the motors are all ok, if you can, switch out the sensor boards and cables, and make sure there aren't any shorts on the terminals.

Oh, and the esc turning off issue, if your setting brake endpoints and holding the brake, the esc has a auto turn-off function if the braks are held for (I think) 5 seconds.

Give those things a try and let us know.
HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:45 PM   #323
Tech Champion
 
FastPete's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,202
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madjack View Post
Hobby Wing Justock ESC question:

I installed a justock ECS for use in a 21.5 F1 car with a Futaba 4PKS. The ESC seems to have very limited bottom end (acts as if a torque limiter is on?). I've tried reprogramming the ESC, switching motors, sensor cables, switching radio models and even purchased the programming module with the hope of improving acceleration off the corners, but nothing has improved.

To that end, is this inherent with this ESC model or is it possible that I have a faulty ESC?
Good ideas posted. Let us know if you get it figured out. Want to get you going!
__________________
Authorized Dealer for /Agama / Tekno / Team Associated / Schelle / Hobbywing / PT Racing Shock & Diff oil / Serpent / Tekin / JConcepts / AKA / Proline / Savox / M2C / Picco / www.fiercercsolutions.com Like us on facebook www.facebook.com/FierceRCSolutions
FastPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:47 PM   #324
Tech Champion
 
FastPete's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,202
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bar View Post
Does anyone know where i can find a blank setup sheet for the hobbywing v3.1?
I will work on getting you one.
__________________
Authorized Dealer for /Agama / Tekno / Team Associated / Schelle / Hobbywing / PT Racing Shock & Diff oil / Serpent / Tekin / JConcepts / AKA / Proline / Savox / M2C / Picco / www.fiercercsolutions.com Like us on facebook www.facebook.com/FierceRCSolutions
FastPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 03:01 AM   #325
Bar
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastPete View Post
I will work on getting you one.
That would be much appreciated
__________________
Luke Burr
Bar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 11:48 AM   #326
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GreatWhiteNorth
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastPete View Post
I will work on getting you one.
I would appreciate one too. I've wondered why one wasn't available on the HW site?
__________________
TLR 22T and Yokomo YZ-2 and 4
www.corvictoria.com
brew99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 01:03 PM   #327
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
No one has any insight on this theory? Could this problem be related to the communication between the ESC and the sensor board? If someone could answer this question, I'd be most appreciative.
The rotor of any motor must be shimmed correctly and that means the rotor must be as close to the sensor board hall sensors as possible or errors will occur like sensorless mode ,weak brakes etc .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:57 PM   #328
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
The rotor of any motor must be shimmed correctly and that means the rotor must be as close to the sensor board hall sensors as possible or errors will occur like sensorless mode ,weak brakes etc .
To add info to cobraracing post:
http://speedyrc.blogspot.com.au/2013...otor-open.html

Info on correct motor shimming
idbdoug
__________________
www.serpentamerica.com
www.r1wurks.com
www.falconsekido.com
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 08:23 PM   #329
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,343
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
The rotor of any motor must be shimmed correctly and that means the rotor must be as close to the sensor board hall sensors as possible or errors will occur like sensorless mode ,weak brakes etc .
Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
To add info to cobraracing post:
http://speedyrc.blogspot.com.au/2013...otor-open.html

Info on correct motor shimming
idbdoug
I tried this theory, using another motor that allows shimming the hall sensors REALLY close to the rotor. The braking performance was actually worse.

I'm using the ESC in an open touring class, so I could install a stronger rotor in the motor and see what happens... I'll report my findings after this weekend's race.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
✯Jackson RC✯Horsham RC✯SJCCR✯
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 09:21 PM   #330
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I had this same problem with several HW ESCs (from v2.1s to v3.1s) and a Revtech 17.5 motor. Unfortunately, I never resolved that problem with a Revtech motor. I had to switch motors in order to gain braking. I STILL don't know why my Revtech 17.5 had almost 0 brakes, even on full 100% brakes.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing Xerun 120 V2 ESC for 1/10 cjtamu Electric Off-Road 289 09-15-2014 03:52 PM
HobbyWing XERUN 13.5T( V3 ) YZFAndy Electric On-Road 6 03-04-2011 04:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net