Wiki Posts
Search

Brushless Motor Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2012, 08:44 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Brushless Motor Questions

Hey guys. Im fairly new to brushless motors, and have a few questions about them...

What are poles on brushless motors (3 pole, 4 pole, etc.) and what is there purpose?

What is the difference between different poles such as 3 pole, 4 pole, and so on so forth?

Hopefully someone can explain it to me and give me advice. Thank you guys for taking the time.
Old 04-05-2012, 09:42 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)

Poles are the magnets in the rotor. 2 pole motor means 2 magnets,4 pole means 4 magnets. Obviously the more magnets the greater the magnetic pull/resistance when the rotor rotates inside the stator. 4 pole motors were basically designed for your 4x4 short course trucks so you don't have to use the large 550 size can which is heavier and designed for a 1/8th size vehicle. So you get 550 power in a 540 sized motor making them perfect for 1/10 4x4 sc. Most all other 1/10 size vehicles will use 540 size 2 pole motors. It's a brief explanation but it should help.
Old 04-05-2012, 10:18 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

elex300 pretty much gave it in a nutshell, but I will repeat with my two cents.

4-pole motors have a smooth powerband with high torque; they can pull heavy vehicles better, but may not be ideal for lightweight setups unless you have lots of room for gearing changes.

2-pole motors tend to rev higher and make lots of power at higher RPMs, but may limit your gearing if you have a heavy car.

In my opinion it doesnt make much difference for most cars. But certain vehicles are heavy or under a heavy load and only have so much room for a bigger motor. In this case a comparable 4-pole motor would run smoother, it would run cooler and it would increase gearing options.
Old 04-06-2012, 06:13 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Originally Posted by elex300