Wiki Posts
Search

Switching to Lipo?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 07:36 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Switching to Lipo?

Hello everyone,

Ive been out of RCs for about a year but am slowly getting back into it. Most all of my batteries no longer hold a charge long so ned new, but was debating to switch to lipo. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing so? Also, what would i need to convert my vehicles to it? I have a bone stock slash and a mod slash with a mamba max brusless system. Also a few onroad cars coming.

Thanks for your input,
Tyler
Old 11-27-2011, 07:48 AM
Tech Adept

http://knol.google.com/k/a-beginner-...ymer-lipo-etc#

make sure your electronics can handle 3,7V per cell

Last edited by minilantern; 11-27-2011 at 08:06 AM.
Old 11-27-2011, 07:53 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

Lipo is the only way to go.
Only bad is dont leave charging without supervision in case it starts fire.
I have been using them for 2 yrs charging 4 days a week no problems.
My son & I race have 15 batts. practice a lot.
Old 11-27-2011, 09:17 AM
Tech Initiate

Thanks for the help. I defently want to go with LiPo, but what would be a good charger and batteries to buy? Like I said before, I have a bone stock slash, and a Slash with a Mamba Max sidewinder brusless system in it. Also a few onroad cars on the way as well. Andi f possable, without breaking the bank lol.

Also, I notice on the lipo pack, they have another plug in spot, do I need to connect that to the truck in any way or is that for charging purposes only?

Thanks again
Old 11-27-2011, 09:32 AM
Tech Addict

That plug is only used to plug into your charger when u do the balance charge mode.
Since u r just starting this is the best bang for buck:
http://www.hobbypartz.com/73p-ac680-accharger.html

U can plug in your house or auto, will do any battery & charge at decent rate.
Free shipping over $50.
GenAce batterys are also good price quality.
Old 11-27-2011, 09:35 AM
Tech Lord