R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Old 10-29-2011, 12:45 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Default Tekin RS vs. HobbyWing XERUN 120A

Hi Guys,

In the market for a ESC for my upcoming s411 build. Im fairly new to electric RC and looking to get the most bang for the buck with newB driving skills.

Outside of the feature sets of both esc, would i really benefit from going with a known(popular) racing brand like tekin or would I do fine breaking into the racing scene with a hobbywing esc? the cost difference between the two brands seems significant enough to leave me wondering what exactly am i paying for if i decide to go with a tekin brand esc.

The idea of having a ESC that supports 3.5t motor and still be relatively low in price has me leaning towards the hobbywing esc.

what are your thoughts? is tekin worth the extra $$$?

Thanks for your time guys
VexVegaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 02:36 PM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)

The tekin is definitely worth the extra money. Electronics WILL fail and it's good to know the company is there to take care of you when it does.
Old 10-29-2011, 03:43 PM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

You gotta think about price. Do you think the HW will fail within 4 months of purchase. If so the Tekin is the best bet. If you think it will last more than 4 months then IMO the Tekin warranty/support is a moot point considering the repair cost of the Tekin is probably not much less than a new HW esc.

People seem generally satisfied with both the Tekin RS/RS pro and the HW 1/10th ESC's. Remember HW manufacturers Orion ESC's and I am seeing more and more of the Orions around the pits.
kcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:36 PM   #4
Tech Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACRBling View Post
The tekin is definitely worth the extra money. Electronics WILL fail and it's good to know the company is there to take care of you when it does.