R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2011, 10:41 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,018
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default 3pks servo activity

just curious if im tripping or if somone else has had a similar issue. I have a 2PL-2.4G i have been using since i started racing. just upgraded to a 3PKS FASST with a ton more features.

for whatever reason though it seems like the throttle servo activity was smoother with the 2PL than with the 3PK on my nitro car. the throttle servo wont return fully to neutral unless you blip the brakes and the carb slide seems to open kinda jerky. i unhooked the linkage and the carb slides smooth.. just not sure why the different radio gives a different result.

i reset the model settings to default. using a 603FF rx in the car and JR Z270 throttle servo.

the only other thing i can think of is the previous owner cut the antenna short. but ive rear that this isnt a big deal for 2.4GHZ systems.

edit; throttle doesnt seem to open completely if i slowly squeeze the trigger. i have to squeeze it quickly to fully open.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:54 AM   #2
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

i dont know if this is your issue but i had a 3pk that when i pulled the throttle 1/16-1/8 finger pull the throttle would go 3/4 open on the motor.. then when i got to 1/2 throttle the carb would go the rest of the way.. what i found on mine was a bad throttle potentiometer.. replace the trigger assembly and all worked well.. sold this radio locally to a guy and has used it for several years now with no issues...

also if you remove the carb linkage does the throttle act the same?? some times a cab sticking will cause this issue.. also a weak servo will cause this if your carb is sticking... jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:03 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,018
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

its possible the pot is bad i suppose though my tc5 drives just fine with the radio. excellent throttle response. i imagine the servos in this car are pretty low end. though it seems to have enough balls to lock the brakes pretty good. ill have to muck around with the travel. have my throttle epa set to like 25 and 90 for the brake, maybe thats not enough travel for the throttle even though the car is full open.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:14 AM   #4
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valk View Post
its possible the pot is bad i suppose though my tc5 drives just fine with the radio. excellent throttle response. i imagine the servos in this car are pretty low end. though it seems to have enough balls to lock the brakes pretty good. ill have to muck around with the travel. have my throttle epa set to like 25 and 90 for the brake, maybe thats not enough travel for the throttle even though the car is full open.
those are about the same setting i had on my throttle settings when the throttle trigger was bad... they should be closer together.. like 50ish on throttle and 60ish on brakes.. just an example... try this... leave throttle alone but use the buttons to move the breaks or throttle epa up and down... by 40-80%.. does the servo horn move when you do this?? if it does you have a bad throttle trigger.. that is what mine did.. i was adding more brakes and i noticed the servo was moving with epa settings.. this should not happen at all... jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:22 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,018
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

to clearify; you mean dont touch the throttle trigger but use the +/- to move the epa?

doing that the servo doesn't move. it only moves if i engage the trigger and adjust it.

though i have to set the brake epa to almost 80 to get it to move any on trigger action.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:26 AM   #6
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valk View Post
to clearify; you mean dont touch the throttle trigger but use the +/- to move the epa?

doing that the servo doesn't move. it only moves if i engage the trigger and adjust it.

though i have to set the brake epa to almost 80 to get it to move any on trigger action.
correct... did you take the carb linkege off and try moving the throttle? does it move free and smooth?
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:32 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,018
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

yes i tried that. carb moves smooth though i havent run the engine today so it might have gummed up a little by sitting.

i plugged my 2pl system back in and it doesnt seem any better. so maybe its just a fubared servo. ill take the steering servo out of my touring car and see how it works.
I have a spare hitec servo i plugged in but it was really jittery and noisy for some reason. didnt try it with the 2pl though.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:51 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,018
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

alright. nevermind. switched my new savox 1258tg in from my touring car and its super smooth and responsive. guess ill just replace the servos in the car. didnt expect them to be amazing for the cost of the car but this jr just doesnt work well at all.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:02 PM   #9
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valk View Post
alright. nevermind. switched my new savox 1258tg in from my touring car and its super smooth and responsive. guess ill just replace the servos in the car. didnt expect them to be amazing for the cost of the car but this jr just doesnt work well at all.
glad you figured it out.. electrical gremlins are the worst.. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:13 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,018
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

now all i have to figure out is how to not break half the fricken car when i tap...
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:01 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net