R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2011, 03:35 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default FlySky GT3b Hack Tech Thread

Many of you probably don't know about all these amazing mods we are doing in the FS-GT3B Thread. Probably because its so LONG, and you don't hear about any of it till page 100. So here's a thread dedicated to all the tech of the mods. Feel free to ask questions as well.

Alright so here's the story, to sum up how this all came about.

Most of this all started when a local RCT member, PSX, decided to take the leap and popped open the gt3b. Originally he simply took the original FW on the GT3B, decoded it and modified it to fix the issues. Lack of trim, expo, etc. But he continued his quest for a better radio and developed his own firmware. Currently this firmware supports a alot of new features....now many other users, including myself, are working on ways to make the radio better.

There are also alot more mods, and services offered for the GT3B, which i'll be posting them in the next few posts. However i do have a small website which i was selling electronics for RC Rock Crawlers, due to my push for a very advance crawling features out of the GT3B, i have taken it under my wing, to make it easy for everyone to have a affordable radio. I sell firmware hack kits, pre-hacked gt3b's, here soon hack kits for all the mods, and easy to understand instructions and tutorials. Most of this is found at www.overkillrc.com . Most of my tutorials are forum posts scattered around over on RCC, but soon will be pdf's available on my website.

i belive this is all the new features the firmware offers in addition to the ones already there...there may be more

- 3-8 channels
- ~15 model memory depending how many channels your firmware is
- Sub trims
- More trim value (up to 99)
- copy models
- fixed expo
- Model reset
- Channel speed
- 4WS Mixing
- Dual ESC Mixing
- Dual ESC steering
- Multi Positions Switches (Up to 8 True positions out of a single push button)
- Key Mapping (any key can control any channel in many different ways)
- Calibration Menu
- Key Test Menu
- Backlight on time
- Inactivity Alarm
- Adjustable Low volatge warning
- Adjustable Maximum End Points (Up to 200% i think)
- Adjustable dead zone for steering and throttle
- Turn keep beeps on/off
- Adjustable long press delay


The Trim and d/r keys can do this

- nothing, it is possible to assign each button individually as key
- trim of channel 1/2
- dualrate of steering/forward/back
- expo of steering/forward/back
- change channel "n" value in range -100...100
- subtrim of channel "n"
- 4 wheel steering mix -100...100%
- DIG throttle mix -100...100%
- Multi-POsition, switches position up/down
- steering speed turn 1...100%
- steering speed return 1...100%


They Can be setup to act like this

- momentary, hold left/right trim key to get end values,
when nothing pressed, servo is at centre
- no long keys, long press is the same as short press
- autorepeat is on
- long press of one of trim keys will reset to
centre/reset value
- long press of trim key will set to coresponding end value

And they can have an adjustable step rate, opposite click reset, reversed, etc.

And the Keys (ch 3 button, back button, end button, and the trims if set individually)

- nothing
- switch channel "n" value from one end value to opposite end
value.
- reset value of channel "n" to centre
- switch crab (CRB) no-crab (NOC) for 4 wheel steering
- switch DIG mix between -100 and 100 (more useable when using
return to previous val key setting)
- Multi-POsition, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
- Multi-Position Reset, switches position to first one
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:36 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default Overkill RC links

Overkillrc offers alot of stuff for the gt3b. Such as DIY hack kits, pre hacked GT3B's, and more. Please follow this link to see all the products

http://www.overkillrc.com/products.h...=0&sort=normal

OverkillRC's FW Kit Install guide

OverkillRC's Firmware Archive (of all past and current FW's)
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:36 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default Important links for this thread

As important tech is posted, i'll update this post with a link.
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics

Last edited by losikid67; 08-04-2011 at 03:46 PM.
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:36 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default FS-GT3B thread links, thanks to Quang Voung

Here is the links QuangVuong has assembled on page 100 of the FS-GT3B thread


Quote:
Originally Posted by QuangVuong View Post
Links!

QuangVuong Donate-only a few $ per month Would be great, just to keep the pics alive.


PSX Donate(TBA)

HOW TO: Reprogram the GT3B Radio

Lipo/Other Battery Mod

Regulator Mod

Diode Mod

PSX Firmware Generator

Custom Firmware
All downloads are still at the same address:
https://github.com/semerad/gt3b/tree/master/Releases
And beware that You must click at the file first, then other WEB page will show and at this next page select "raw" at the header of file.

New Firmware Help-
FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter

FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter

FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter

Service Menu

GT3B Review

Insight of the GT3B

Reptile's GT3B Steering Bearing Mod - Pics here of steering adaptor, which is a KO type wheel. Round with a flat side.

Useful links!

PSX
FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter
FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter

FireFrenzy's Tutorial on Reprogramming the GT3B
FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter

STM8S Mod from 305

losikid67 Overkill RC 3pos Switch Adaptor

Preprogrammed GT3Bs and Reprogramming Accessories from OverKill RC

People Offering Reprogramming Services
Australia
NSW
QuangVuong - $5 per radio. An extra $5 for a bearing mod. Plus postage both ways.

America
Arkansas
Smoedog -$5 per radio + shipping

California
Mattyhawk -
$5 to open the radio to do any mod
$10 Recom Voltage Regulator (VR)
$5 Re-Programming
$5 Make the radio Lipo ready (requires VR mod)
$5 Bearing Mod
$5 LED Indicator
$2 Re-Flash Firmware
The Works (VR, re-program, lipo & bearing mods ): $25
Return postage paid by customer.

Colorado
losikid67 - $10 for first reprogram (will include 4-pin header) and $2 for each additional future program + shipping both ways

Jefferson City, Missouri
bugman72 - $10 + shipping for the reflashing service, $5 + shipping for the bearing mod

Chicago, Illinois
beemerfan - $10 + all shipping costs for reflashing

Indiana
Fixitrod - $10 plus postage both ways

Portland Oregon (Pacific Northwest)
Robs Pics - $10 plus return shipping

Canada
British Columbia
Kamlooper - $10 plus shipping

Where To Buy the STM8S?
Overkill RC - $25
^This is more expensive as it is a premade kit for you to reprogram your kit without any other accessories.^

element 14-$15.71

Digi-Key-$9.60

Mouser-$9.60

UK Farnell-7.23 Pounds

Micro 4 You Studio-$16

Future Electronics-$8.55

Please PM me if you know any stores, which sell the STM8S board. Please send me a link of the item.

Please PM me with your area and price you are offering to reprogram the GT3B. I will be adding to this list.

If Ive missed your tutorial, or something useful, please PM me and Ill add you here. Sorry if I did miss you.
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:37 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Here is some of the stuff i've posted over on RCC to get people started

_____

FAQ

Where do i find the 8ch and 6ch rx's
What Rx's work with the GT3B


How do i calibrate my GT3B

How do i Bind a 3CH rx to the radio

How do I BIND a 6CH rx to the radio?

Template/HOW-TO setup Dual ESC

Trouble Shooting

I broke my programmer in two, it still won't read swim

I can't figure out how to setup dual esc

I keep getting a error message "STVP GUI has quit working"
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics

Last edited by losikid67; 08-04-2011 at 03:50 PM.
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:04 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Great work on the mods folks

Just wondering if you have considered approaching the manufacturer and if so were they interested at all in offering a fully featured / modded radio for sale ?

Cheers
__________________
Slash Platinum
Xerun 150, Tenshock SC401 3500kv
Gensace 40c
crusey_aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:27 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sarasota FL
Posts: 2,049
Trader Rating: 48 (93%+)
Default

How does the - Inactivity Alarm Work? i got a Buddy that uses this radio and he seams to leave it on all the DANG time! LOL
tcb22185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 06:56 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crusey_aus View Post
Great work on the mods folks

Just wondering if you have considered approaching the manufacturer and if so were they interested at all in offering a fully featured / modded radio for sale ?

Cheers
No i don't think we have...but FLYSKY won't offer such options, they don't even fix their own firmware for well known bugs (expo)


Quote:
Originally Posted by tcb22185 View Post
How does the - Inactivity Alarm Work? i got a Buddy that uses this radio and he seams to leave it on all the DANG time! LOL
It starts beeping after no input for a settable amount of time
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:01 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
Default

so what are the ups and downs of this radio is it worth it or should i just save a little extra and get a used futaba
umpgotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:04 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,100
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpgotti View Post
so what are the ups and downs of this radio is it worth it or should i just save a little extra and get a used futaba
$35 Radio and receiver...2.4ghz. $8 for extra receiver. You cannot even buy one Futaba receiver for that price...(p.s...I ran Futaba for almost 20 years, it is not 4PK, but again...$35 USD).

Overall...for club race, using on car, it is the best thing that you can get for $35. But if you are planning to use it for National or higher competitive level...get FUTABA.
__________________
SPEED PASSION - King Golden, Speed Passion USA, Speed Power, Hirosaka Pro Products, East Coast Bodies, Awesomatix USA, Roche USA, Schumacher Racing, Hurricane Motorsports, Serpent America, Sweep Racing USA. http://www.spautomobile.com/en/index.asp (SPEED PASSION AUTOMOTIVE)
NEW Speed Power/Speed Passion direct sale site - http://shop.speedpowerrc.com/
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:09 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
Default

well i am just getting back into rc after like a long time out and i do plan on racing but i doubt it will be serious for a little while till i get everything back up too par and such...i have been contemplating this radio for quite sometime. so is the radio still decent without the hacks and upgrades or should i shell out the 70 bucks and get it upgraded. and where is the best place to buy it from...
umpgotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 04:14 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpgotti View Post
well i am just getting back into rc after like a long time out and i do plan on racing but i doubt it will be serious for a little while till i get everything back up too par and such...i have been contemplating this radio for quite sometime. so is the radio still decent without the hacks and upgrades or should i shell out the 70 bucks and get it upgraded. and where is the best place to buy it from...
Its decent not hacked, but expo don't work and a very limited trim.

The new firmware improves by a ton.

If you want to hack it yourself, Hobbypartz sells it the cheapest, but now you have to have $50 min order before free ship so you need to throw in some lipos or extra rx's.

If you don't want to hack it yourself, overkillrc.com would be the best place to get it. I sell them pre-hacked. And their brand new. All i do is take it out of the box, pop the top off, program it, cut the slot so it can easily be updated, power it up, calibrate it, and put it back in the box. I sell those at $70 + ship. It includes the programmer and equipment to update the firmware if you ever wish to.
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 12:45 PM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
Default

ok so say i get it through you and it doesnt work is there some kind of guarantee for it.....
umpgotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 01:57 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
losikid67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpgotti View Post
ok so say i get it through you and it doesnt work is there some kind of guarantee for it.....
Yea if its DOA i'll replace it. But i do turn it on, calibrate the st, th. and check all the buttons. So theres no reason it shouldn't work, unless its damaged in shipping. If it is damaged in shipping i only send radios via insured mail so it'll be covered by usps.
__________________
www.OverkillRC.com

Custom RC Electronics
losikid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:15 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 306
Default

Can we have this thread clear of questions about the radio please? not being funny but this is supposed to be a thread posting completed modifications for the radio, not questions about how it is in stock form. use the Flysky GT3b Transmitter thread here FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter

we don't want the useful information in this thread cluttered up with and lost within questions from people too lazy to use the uberthread which contains the answer to every possible question you could ever have and some that you would never have, at least three times.
__________________
- Does being on fire count as fixed? -
skree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FLYSKY GT3b Transmitter interplanet Radio and Electronics 4852 09-29-2017 12:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:49 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net