R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2011, 04:50 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
fullytwisted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default mmp and tekin 5.5 problem

I just bought a mmp and a takin 5.5 combo... now the problemis when I run a 2c 5000mah the motor seams to hit a rev limit and just surges on top . But I have no problem with a 3c5000mah..any help would be help full..it is censored I have it hooked up right..
fullytwisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fullytwisted View Post
I just bought a mmp and a takin 5.5 combo... now the problemis when I run a 2c 5000mah the motor seams to hit a rev limit and just surges on top . But I have no problem with a 3c5000mah..any help would be help full..it is censored I have it hooked up right..
a 5.5 on 3s, holy flying f-bombs i bet thats a bullet
__________________
Team Associated SC10- LRP - Viper VST10.5
Losi SCTE - Viper VTX10R - Viper VSTXL 4.5
Savage XL - Dynamite Big Red .28
Viper RC - MIP - PM Hobbycraft - Pro-Line - Spektrum
calo247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 11:55 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

My guess would be high amp draw causing the internal bec to have issues

Bypass the bec and see if it helps

Cheers
__________________
Slash Platinum
Xerun 150, Tenshock SC401 3500kv
Gensace 40c
crusey_aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 03:55 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
fullytwisted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Ya its way to fast for our track.. and how would i bypass the bec exactly. Not to sure on hoe to do that. I'm kinda new to this.. and thanks for the quick response you guys ..
fullytwisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 04:02 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What brand and spec are you batteries ?


A couple of ways to bypass the internal bec

Plug in a normal RX pack style battery to power you receiver
Disable the internal bec by removing the red wire in the throttle lead

Or

Install an external bec
Gets wired up like this




Cheers
__________________
Slash Platinum
Xerun 150, Tenshock SC401 3500kv
Gensace 40c

Last edited by crusey_aus; 08-01-2011 at 04:14 AM.
crusey_aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 07:56 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
fullytwisted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default

thank you. ill try that.. just one more question ..do I plug the external bec into an aux port on the receiver?..
fullytwisted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 03:12 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Any spare port will do

Cheers
__________________
Slash Platinum
Xerun 150, Tenshock SC401 3500kv
Gensace 40c
crusey_aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18835 09-11-2017 07:44 AM
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 05:57 AM
Tekin 5.5 sc4x & Castle MMP cogging 99trouble Electric Off-Road 16 04-11-2011 09:22 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net