R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2011, 11:10 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default AMBRC transponders and other forms of racing

Just wondering if anyone has tried to rig up an AMBRC transponder to work in other forms of racing like dirt bikes and go carts.

anyone try it?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 11:30 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,211
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

IRRC amb makes loops/transponders for just about everything that people race...



hence the reason why they can rape everyone on prices...
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 08:08 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:03 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 11,223
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Each system they make though uses it's own decoder and as far as I know the "parts" don't work together...IIRC. I don't see why you couldn't use the R/C stuff for a different application as long as meet the systems requirements. As far AMB goes the R/C stuff they sell is the cheapest system they offer no matter how much we bitch about the cost.
__________________
High Velocity Racing ~ 92zero designs ~ LiveRC ~ Dirt Heaven Hobby and Raceway ~ Paint by Venom Designs/Jim Neubert ~

"I'm not saying kill all the stupid people. I'm just saying take all the warning labels off and let it sort itself out!"
racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:53 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 541
Default

The big problem using the small ones we use would be range. When you get much distance between the small transponder and the pickup loop the signal strength goes down. Other than that they would work fine.
__________________
__________________________________________
Did you bother to read the fine manual yet? (RTFM)
bentgear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:10 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

So signal strength might be an issue?

From what I understand in motocross, they also use 7 digit amb transponders.

I noticed that the new amb transponders can handle up to 16v. I wonder if the old ones can handle that and if higher voltage will increase the signal.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 11:47 AM   #7
Super Moderator
 
racer1812's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 11,223
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

My question would be what do you want to use it for and can you mount it so it's within a foot of the loop when it crosses it?

IIRC, each decoder is designed to read only one type of amb transponder, as in the system they sell specifically for karting might not read our PT's. I can't be sure though..
__________________
High Velocity Racing ~ 92zero designs ~ LiveRC ~ Dirt Heaven Hobby and Raceway ~ Paint by Venom Designs/Jim Neubert ~

"I'm not saying kill all the stupid people. I'm just saying take all the warning labels off and let it sort itself out!"
racer1812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 12:54 AM   #8
Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 6,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
So signal strength might be an issue?

From what I understand in motocross, they also use 7 digit amb transponders.

I noticed that the new amb transponders can handle up to 16v. I wonder if the old ones can handle that and if higher voltage will increase the signal.
Believe the previous version was rated for 4 to 8 volts.

More info on the various systems, and contact info:

http://www.mylaps.com/index.php/us_e...oduct_overview

Includes people who race, marathons and such. It's my understanding it all started with a disputed RC race.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 08:14 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
CR0SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: EL Jebel
Posts: 1,489
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I talked to AMBC about getting a timing system. We have a motocross track and a rc car track. I wanted to get one system two timing loops and the various transponders. I was told this would not work. We would need to have a individual system for each track. The systems are not compatible.
__________________
You know the guy that beat you at the last race? It was not because of his car, or motor, or battery, it is because he was a better driver. Now go practice so you can beat him.

Visit my Youtube channel for HD R/C videos. http://www.youtube.com/user/DHCross1
CR0SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2004 Reedy Sedan ROC mo Racing Forum 830 05-29-2004 07:52 AM
www.racingrccars.com 2004 race update empire racing Track Locator Forum 80 03-15-2004 11:44 AM
Can San Diego support an R/C Track? futureal Racing Forum 111 08-08-2003 09:18 AM


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 01:50 AM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0