Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Modifying a controller for a quadriplegic? >

Modifying a controller for a quadriplegic?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Modifying a controller for a quadriplegic?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2011, 03:33 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Modifying a controller for a quadriplegic?

Hey there,

I'm a total novice when it comes to RC stuff (well other than a basic RC car when I was about 10, many moons ago!) and am also a quadriplegic (since not quite so many moons ago.) I would love to be able to fly an RC plane and am sure it should possible with the right adapted controls. I was hoping somebody here might be able to give me some advice on how feasible the idea is..

I'd have to use my mouth for control so was thinking if I had a small joystick set up for the elevator and rudder, with a variable resistor next to it for throttle, then I should be able to handle a basic three channel aircraft shouldn't I??

If that idea is sound, then how would I go about getting it built? Could I buy an existing transmitter, get it dismantled then modify or replace the components I need to make them accessible, then have them mounted in a way so I can get to them?

Hope someone can give me some feedback either way, I'll try not to get my hopes up too much!

Cheers.
Old 05-09-2011, 03:56 AM
Tech Rookie

I just came across the product "Futaba 3FR" (I can't paste links yet sorry) three channel, single joystick controller.. maybe that could be a good starting point to try and modify to be accessible for me?
Old 05-09-2011, 06:15 AM
Tech Champion