R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2011, 08:34 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 260
Default Cutting servo wires

I'd like to trim one of my servo wires to give some more room in my radio box. Bad idea or is it considered ok?
ratjayfala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
jag5508's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,577
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratjayfala View Post
I'd like to trim one of my servo wires to give some more room in my radio box. Bad idea or is it considered ok?
It's not a big deal I've trimmed them myself you can buy new plugs and a crimping tool too if you want it to look factory .
__________________
TOYZ 4 BOYZ
jag5508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:49 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Or resolder them to the circuit board.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:20 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
jag5508's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,577
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
Or resolder them to the circuit board.
I've done that too but I'm not crazy about taking a soldering iron to a $100 servo .
__________________
TOYZ 4 BOYZ
jag5508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:39 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It's easy, 25W iron with a pencil point. No problem.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 01:15 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
jag5508's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Of Heaven
Posts: 1,577
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
It's easy, 25W iron with a pencil point. No problem.
Yeah I've done it a bunch of times then I bought the plugs and crimping tool much easier . You don't have to take anything apart just put your electronics in and put the plug on . You can set the lengths for everything with it servo's , speedo , transponder .
__________________
TOYZ 4 BOYZ
jag5508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 12:49 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 39
Default

Any info on where to buy new plugs and a crimping tool
Nitro Basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 02:52 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Norheimsund, Norway
Posts: 783
Default

Any decent hobbyshop should have these plugs, but i don't know about the crimping tools (is it necessary at all?). If i were to do this as o.p. is going to, i would have just cut them to desired length and soldered them back together putting shrink wrap on the wires. Or buy new plugs, crimp them with an regular plier and solder them on to the plugs aswell to get a good joint.
__________________
Read more about my homeplace in New York Times (LOL)
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/11/world/europe/11norway.html?_r=2&scp=1&sq=hardanger&st=cse
Lars in Norway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:21 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
cherokee95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The "big city" in South Dakota
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Here ya go. They have ends to.
click
cherokee95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:12 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
johnny t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,289
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

dont know about you guys cutting and splicing and soldering. do it like the factory I say.

I got this one, does pro quality crimps.

http://www.hansenhobbies.com/product...ools/crimp_dx/

don't like the pins they sell though. just doesn't fit well as I like in the connectors plastic housing. anyone know of a good source for OEM spec'd pins for futaba and hitec?
johnny t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Servo wire length daveflyr Radio and Electronics 12 02-15-2011 08:51 AM
R603FS and 7.4v servos - wiring issues. RX cutting out.. RACETEK Radio and Electronics 12 12-26-2010 09:34 AM
Shortening servo wires Accord Electric On-Road 12 12-01-2003 01:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:13 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net