R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2010, 08:23 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
JamminDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 41
Default Receiver Cutting Off

I recently bought my son a Blitz and installed a Spektrum SR300 Receiver and have a Spektrum DX3E transmitter. We are having an issue with power cutting off when full throttle is applied at once. We can slowly ramp up speed, but on a short track, that's no good at all

I'm not electronics savvy enough to troubleshoot this on my own, so any input is deeply appreciated!!
JamminDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 04:04 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 500
Default

The sudden start is pulling enough amps to pull the voltage below the operating voltage required for the reciever of possibly the esc hasa voltage cutoff. It could be several different thongs , but we would need to know

1. Battery M.A capacity
2.type & what kind of motor & Esc.

Check to make sure battery is getting a charge, sometimes settings get changed on a charger by accident.
I've done that more than once.
TOM MAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 05:34 PM   #3
Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 5,606
Default

Try adding a capacitor to the receiver. It will help stabilize the voltage. Commonly called a glitch buster, stutter stopper, etc. A couple of options:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=SPM1600

https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...=ns&pn=NOV5626

Last edited by Dave H; 12-31-2010 at 08:16 PM. Reason: Fixed links
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 11:28 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
[[john]]'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 708
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Try adding a capacitor to the receiver. It will help stabilize the voltage. Commonly called a glitch buster, stutter stopper, etc. A couple of options:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=SPM1600

https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...=ns&pn=NOV5626
As above. It will fix your problem.
__________________
Tamiya M-05Pro | Built and Maintained by B. Portelli.
------------------------------------
rc-mini.net | m-chassis.com
------------------------------------
[[john]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 10:06 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
simplechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,297
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

I buy all my caps on Ebay and solder leads on myself. If you have some spare wire and a servo connector laying around you might want to think about doing that. Paying $6-12 for a single cap isn't worth it to me.

You want to look for low ESR, rated for 10V, 105C, and about 2000-5000uF
__________________
Serpent 811Be - Jammin X2 Carbon e-GT conversion - Axial SCX10 Honcho
simplechamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
dx3e, power loss, receivers, sr300


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D&M Speedway Topeka Outdoor Off-Road JPMSRacing Kansas/Missouri Racing 5448 10-09-2010 08:01 AM
glitching possible cutting off help dhunt488 Nitro Off-Road 8 11-29-2009 06:57 PM
Reciever cutting off? Chill_Will Radio and Electronics 13 03-15-2008 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 10:27 AM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0