R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Radio and Electronics (https://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-electronics-137/)
-   -   are lipos safe? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-electronics/458002-lipos-safe.html)

tony montana 12-02-2010 03:53 PM

are lipos safe?

Ok Im just getting started in the whole lipo craze. I have them for rx's in my 1/8 scale stuff, starter box and I bought one for my sc10. Reading all the warning lables has me a bit nervous. Saying doing this and that may cause a fire. I bought a hyperion 606i charger. So what are the main causes for fire in lipos? Im scared to just leave them in my gargae unattended now reading all the warnings

quixoticboi 12-02-2010 04:28 PM

Don't know about the main reason, but a common reason is using a charger that's not meant to charge lipos (but for NiMH, NiCD), or the charging not having a cutoff and thus overcharging.

ganymede 12-02-2010 04:43 PM

Originally Posted by tony montana (Post 8289578)
Ok Im just getting started in the whole lipo craze. I have them for rx's in my 1/8 scale stuff, starter box and I bought one for my sc10. Reading all the warning lables has me a bit nervous. Saying doing this and that may cause a fire. I bought a hyperion 606i charger. So what are the main causes for fire in lipos? Im scared to just leave them in my gargae unattended now reading all the warnings

Lipo is pretty safe if you handle them right, most lipo fire are caused by user error (overcharging, wrong charging voltage, over discharging, etc).

There are plenty of discussions related to lipo here:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1287041

http://www.rcgroups.com/batteries-and-chargers-129/

Take some time to read them, your family, your insurance agent and last but not least your lipo will thank you... :blush:

All the best!

Toh WL 12-02-2010 07:31 PM

there are also lipo regulator for the 1/8 rx pack.. when the voltage is near low it will give u alarm.. time to stop & charge.