Wiki Posts
Search

bullet style lipo balancing

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2010, 08:29 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default bullet style lipo balancing

I'm new to lipo's and was looking into a bullet style protek rc battery. on the battery i'm looking at i see a single 2mm bullet connector between the 4mm pos and neg bullets. i'm not sure how to wire the balancer to the battery. i have an onyx 230 charger and plan on buying the balancer when i get the battery so i'm not sure what wiring or connectors to buy when i make the order. oh and i plan on buying the equinox balancer.
Old 11-23-2010, 08:53 AM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by spyder8c
I'm new to lipo's and was looking into a bullet style protek rc battery. on the battery i'm looking at i see a single 2mm bullet connector between the 4mm pos and neg bullets. i'm not sure how to wire the balancer to the battery. i have an onyx 230 charger and plan on buying the balancer when i get the battery so i'm not sure what wiring or connectors to buy when i make the order. oh and i plan on buying the equinox balancer.
Just a FYI...you may want to check out a Hyperion charger/balancer unit. They charge lipos, NIMH, NIcad, Etc. You don't need to buy a seperate balancer for your Lipo's. It does it all. Hyperion also makes a Duo Charger/Balancer. There very easy to use....even for a beginner.
Old 11-23-2010, 09:16 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

While a charger with built in balancer is always a good thing, it may not make sense financially right now if you already have a charger. If you can afford it though it is the way to go. Using a separate balancer is not bad by any means, it is more work, more wires, and it has limits while balance charging that most chargers with built in balancing will not. The Equinox balancer will only balance charge up to 3A.