Turnigy 5000mah pack at 7000mah!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Turnigy 5000mah pack at 7000mah!

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2010, 06:06 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Turnigy 5000mah pack at 7000mah!

Hey guys I'm not sure exactly what's happening here. I have tried with 2 different chargers and same effect. One is a team Orion twin spec adavantage and the other is a venom pro charger. Batterys just keep chargeing on both chargers and not cutting off. I'm charging at 3.3amps on both and its been over 1.5 hours and they are still only at 3.82v per cell.

Is this normal on new batteries as I'm quite new with li-po and I have also double checked voltages with a good quality MM and it's showing pretty much same voltage.
Old 11-06-2010, 08:52 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Thats huge mah for it to only be at 3.82v/cell (roughly 41% capacity).

Are you absolutely sure you're charging on lipo mode? Its not cutting off since its not getting to 4.2v/cell (max cell voltage). As long as you're charging in lipo mode and its operating correctly, the CC/CV mode will terminate after voltage has reached 4.2v/cell.

both chargers are operating correctly in lipo mode, it sounds like both chargers have serious accuracy issues with their mah measurements. One charger I might understand, but two? Doesn't seem likely. That number simply can't be what it appears to be.

How old are these lipos, how many cycles? What brand, mah, C rating? You're balance charging?
Old 11-06-2010, 09:20 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)