R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2010, 04:41 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
oldpugva's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 401
Arrow Spektrum DX3E Lights

My DX3E has green and red lights to show battery charge on the transmitter. The transmitter used to have just the green light on. Recently, the red light is showing about 1/2 intensity as well.

No - I do not need to change batteries. In fact, I replaced batteries twice and I am replacing all of the batteries with new.

The point is - my performance on my truck is also suffering. The transmitter seems to work fine, but the truck slows down after just a minute or two.

Here is what I think:

1. Perhaps there is something wrong with the transmitter. Not supposed to be seeing two color lights at the same time (unless the batteries are dying).

2. I also think my NIMHs need cycling. They are a few months old and I charge them on an Onyx 230. No cycling.

Comments? Anyone else seen this issue with their Spektrum?
__________________
<Straights are Easy>
| AE | LRP | Tekin | Spektrum |
RCRNV Twitter |RCRNV Web |RCRNV Facebook |
oldpugva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 05:11 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpugva View Post
My DX3E has green and red lights to show battery charge on the transmitter. The transmitter used to have just the green light on. Recently, the red light is showing about 1/2 intensity as well.

No - I do not need to change batteries. In fact, I replaced batteries twice and I am replacing all of the batteries with new.

The point is - my performance on my truck is also suffering. The transmitter seems to work fine, but the truck slows down after just a minute or two.

Here is what I think:

1. Perhaps there is something wrong with the transmitter. Not supposed to be seeing two color lights at the same time (unless the batteries are dying).

2. I also think my NIMHs need cycling. They are a few months old and I charge them on an Onyx 230. No cycling.

Comments? Anyone else seen this issue with their Spektrum?
try a brand new battery(maybe borrow one) if that doesnt fix it something wrong with the receiver or radio.

Horizion has very good customer service. After you try a new battery and if that doesnt fix it call horizion customer service. They will tell you what you need to do.
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 07:10 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
bu1seabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I have a DX3e and it has similar issues...the red light comes on at some point and I cant get it to "bind" with the receiver...at all...

this is very frustrating...this unit worked very well in my sons crawler just 4 weeks ago...not sure what to do...send it back...possibly...

IDEAS?
bu1seabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 01:47 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
oldpugva's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 401
Arrow

Bingo - you hit the nail on the head. I cannot get it to bind either. It has not 'lost' it's bind, but I cannot re-bind to anything else.

I am going to give them a call and see what they say.
__________________
<Straights are Easy>
| AE | LRP | Tekin | Spektrum |
RCRNV Twitter |RCRNV Web |RCRNV Facebook |
oldpugva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 03:54 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
oldpugva's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 401
Arrow

I called them. Guy said 'we have not heard of that before'. Right...

Also said to go to their web site and fill out their form to send the transmitter back in for repair.

OK - have not heard of this before... Send the transmitter back in for repair...

Interesting...
__________________
<Straights are Easy>
| AE | LRP | Tekin | Spektrum |
RCRNV Twitter |RCRNV Web |RCRNV Facebook |
oldpugva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 04:04 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
bu1seabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

yeah no kidding...back in...hmmm

i'll get mine sent it in...

gotta love it Huh?
bu1seabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 05:10 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
oldpugva's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 401
Arrow

Annoying... thinking of changing brands. However, I do see a lot of Spektrums at the tracks. Must be bad karma...
__________________
<Straights are Easy>
| AE | LRP | Tekin | Spektrum |
RCRNV Twitter |RCRNV Web |RCRNV Facebook |
oldpugva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 02:26 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
bu1seabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i got the same karma Bro...it sucks...the esc's i have are going back too...maybe its just the black hole of electronics death at my hobby table...LOL

take care and good luck
bu1seabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Axaial SCX-10 Jeep JK scaler SMaxxin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 06-19-2010 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 10:58 PM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0