R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2014, 04:05 AM   #11656
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

When you have the default timing insert in the motor, i believe the motor timing is 37.5 degrees(correct me if i am wrong)
This with the timing on the esc when using stock maps can be with the wrong FDR be to much and smoke the LRP motor.
What track are you running with what car??
Spur? pinion?

Regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by rsterren View Post
ah ok, I have the 27 (default) timing thingy on the motor..
17.5 turns

That has to be added to the esc timing then? to calculate total timing?
and then it might get to much... I get it..

thnx!
R.
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 04:18 AM   #11657
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 735
Default

Any word on the ROAR approval of the V3.1 1-cell model?
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:34 AM   #11658
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
When you have the default timing insert in the motor, i believe the motor timing is 37.5 degrees(correct me if i am wrong)
This with the timing on the esc when using stock maps can be with the wrong FDR be to much and smoke the LRP motor.
What track are you running with what car??
Spur? pinion?

Regards Roy
yes could be 37.5, i'm running a fdr of 5.8 in a ta06, before the set was in a tt01 m-chassis conversion running about the same fdr.
so thats not to much i guess..
last time i had to change sensor wire after the sensors got lost (esc blinking green/red).
The motor and the esc dont feel hot btw, can easely touch them..
rsterren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 12:59 AM   #11659
Tech Addict
 
Johnny-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 735
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Any word on the ROAR approval of the V3.1 1-cell model?
A few pages back Angelo stated this....

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
V3.1 1s now roar approved ciming next is the stock spec for approval.
__________________
Products I run
| Hobbywing | Gens Ace | Highest Servos | Sanwa | Team Associated | AKA |
Johnny-RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 12:14 PM   #11660
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Esc timing vs motor timing vs gearing

Ok this may be a silly question and may have been answered already but how is it best to set up the esc,motor and gearing for booted TC?
High esc timing, low motor timing, high fdr?
Low esc timing, high motor timing, low fdr?
Middle of the road on all 3?
Is it track/motor dependant?
Any help/advice would be great
Thanks
Paul
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 05:50 PM   #11661
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Three possible causes .

1.The esc sensor circuit has failed
2.The Motor sensor board has failed (possible damaged hall sensor)
3.1 of the phases is faulty ( not possible in your instance as you said it works off the ground)

Look at trying a new motor first .
Thanks for the feed back.
I changed the motor with one of the same make but it was the same. I lowered the timing and it seemed to work with the car on the ground. I'll test it out on the track. Is it possible that the V3.1- 1 cell it just will not work with all motors?
Friulimotosport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 02:09 AM   #11662
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutley001 View Post
Ok this may be a silly question and may have been answered already but how is it best to set up the esc,motor and gearing for booted TC?
High esc timing, low motor timing, high fdr?
Low esc timing, high motor timing, low fdr?
Middle of the road on all 3?
Is it track/motor dependant?
Any help/advice would be great
Thanks
Paul
A lot of it depends on the motor. All motors have a point at which adding more timing (ESC or Endbell) just creates more heat and no extra power. But it varies from motor to motor so you'll need a dyno to figure out exactly what the maximum settings should be. Even then it may not be possible to run those settings as it may still overheat.

Gearing is track, grip and motor dependent. If you've got wheelspin off the corners gear up. If it feels sluggish gear down. On a small/tight track you'll need a smaller gearing to keep the motor RPMs up in the peak power band. On a big track you'll need a bigger gearing, again to keep the motor in its peak power band.

The easiest option is to find someone fast (with the same motor/esc as you) and steal their settings.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 04:39 AM   #11663
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 32
Default nice 1

wow it amazing! 9club
3p3p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 10:13 AM   #11664
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
A lot of it depends on the motor. All motors have a point at which adding more timing (ESC or Endbell) just creates more heat and no extra power. But it varies from motor to motor so you'll need a dyno to figure out exactly what the maximum settings should be. Even then it may not be possible to run those settings as it may still overheat.

Gearing is track, grip and motor dependent. If you've got wheelspin off the corners gear up. If it feels sluggish gear down. On a small/tight track you'll need a smaller gearing to keep the motor RPMs up in the peak power band. On a big track you'll need a bigger gearing, again to keep the motor in its peak power band.

The easiest option is to find someone fast (with the same motor/esc as you) and steal their settings.
Thanks - stealing setting is fine but I'm a bit sad in that I like to understand the details of what's happening when setting up speedo,motor and gearing to get the best. The info you've provided is great.
Next question then is what order should you begin the setup process of these 3 things?
Start by getting the gearing right then fine tune the speedo and motor timing? Or get the timing right and play with the gearing?
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 12:41 PM   #11665
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 74
Default

Hi guys, I have a xerun 2.1.
Are there any controindications to run with 3s lipo and 5600 Kv motor ?
Everyone use 2s, so I have no informations with a possible use at 3s, but I think this should imply lower ampere so better efficient and low temp.
Any opinions ?
maRRRco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 07:40 AM   #11666
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutley001 View Post
Ok this may be a silly question and may have been answered already but how is it best to set up the esc,motor and gearing for booted TC?
High esc timing, low motor timing, high fdr?
Low esc timing, high motor timing, low fdr?
Middle of the road on all 3?
Is it track/motor dependant?
Any help/advice would be great
Thanks
Paul
As Dale has said motor timing is dependant on the motor itself (having found the sweet spot i always left it alone).
Esc timing is track dependant.
Gearing for boosted 13.5 i always ran a FDR of about 7.00.

At a new track i would adjust in this order

Boost and turbo
Gearing (if after altering boost and turbo it still seemed slow)
markrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:27 PM   #11667
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 191
Default

V10 hobbywing 13.5 motors
Any thoughts anyone
Is there a version one and two?
Thanks in advance
__________________
XRAY T4 2014
HOBBYWING V3.1
HOBBYWING MOTORS
ATLASCOPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 02:53 PM   #11668
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markrobinson View Post
As Dale has said motor timing is dependant on the motor itself (having found the sweet spot i always left it alone).
Esc timing is track dependant.
Gearing for boosted 13.5 i always ran a FDR of about 7.00.

At a new track i would adjust in this order

Boost and turbo
Gearing (if after altering boost and turbo it still seemed slow)
Thanks, I'll have a play
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 11:30 PM   #11669
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,992
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

ok guys. I've been following this thread for a little while and this Saturday was the first day I got to run my Justock in an actual event. Its running the latest '508_notiming' firmware (at least according to the program, there is no other version out there) - and I have the LCD box and the software..Running USVTA rules with the novak ballistic 25.5 motor

so here's my issue - how the heck do you get more brakes out of it?? I'm running the brake force set of 87.5% (radio EPA is set at 140%) and it still feels like it just slows the car down, not stops it. If I had to jam on the brakes to avoid driving thru another driver, I'm up the creek - there's nothing there to stop.

I tried setting the brake EPA at 100%, then increasing it on the radio - nothing
Messed with expodential, positive AND negative - nothing
changed drag brake in the software - nothing

so what's the trick?? I'm used to speedos where you need to set it with less brakes because the 'standard' setups are too strong. I've run several other brands before switching, so I'm fairly certain its not something I have wrong in the settings.

help?!?!?!?!?

on a plus side - this has got to be the SMOOTHEST speedo I've ever run. Can't wait to throw my 1s in my 12th scale
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 03:10 AM   #11670
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,265
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
ok guys. I've been following this thread for a little while and this Saturday was the first day I got to run my Justock in an actual event. Its running the latest '508_notiming' firmware (at least according to the program, there is no other version out there) - and I have the LCD box and the software..Running USVTA rules with the novak ballistic 25.5 motor

so here's my issue - how the heck do you get more brakes out of it?? I'm running the brake force set of 87.5% (radio EPA is set at 140%) and it still feels like it just slows the car down, not stops it. If I had to jam on the brakes to avoid driving thru another driver, I'm up the creek - there's nothing there to stop.

I tried setting the brake EPA at 100%, then increasing it on the radio - nothing
Messed with expodential, positive AND negative - nothing
changed drag brake in the software - nothing

so what's the trick?? I'm used to speedos where you need to set it with less brakes because the 'standard' setups are too strong. I've run several other brands before switching, so I'm fairly certain its not something I have wrong in the settings.

help?!?!?!?!?

on a plus side - this has got to be the SMOOTHEST speedo I've ever run. Can't wait to throw my 1s in my 12th scale
Try setting the ESC brake level to 100%, and also make sure when you calibrate the brakes that the EPA is at 100%. Then put the reverse speed to 100%. Sounds weird, but this can have an effect on the brake level of some speedo's.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net