R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2014, 03:19 PM   #11566
Tech Addict
 
Pygmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 506
Default

I've just upgraded my SCT Pro Esc to the latest firmware, and now overheat protection can't be disabled anymore (it's grayed out).
Can this be fixed ? My overheat would kick in a tad to early so I want to be able to disable it.
__________________
"If it ain't broken, take it apart and see how it works."

LOSI Ten SCTE [ Build : http://bit.ly/VsAulx ]
Pygmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 04:40 PM   #11567
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pygmy View Post
I've just upgraded my SCT Pro Esc to the latest firmware, and now overheat protection can't be disabled anymore (it's grayed out).
Can this be fixed ? My overheat would kick in a tad to early so I want to be able to disable it.
The temp cut off is set at between 105 and 125 degrees c so of your triggering the cut off you are running aggressive settings not normal .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 06:22 PM   #11568
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,770
Default

I have the new LCD Professional Program Box.

I run two cars, one with a JustStock and one with XERUN 120A V3.1 2S

any way I can use the program box with both Esc's?
Currently I have to downgrade the program box firmware to see the Justock and then upgrade it to see the v3.1
__________________
A800 HW XR10Pro HW G2 4.5T|||B5MFL HW StockSpec Team Powers 17.5|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 |||F1:
Xray X1 2016, HW V3.1, Ride XR Tires, D4SS 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 06:24 PM   #11569
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayL View Post
I have the new LCD Professional Program Box.

I run two cars, one with a JustStock and one with XERUN 120A V3.1 2S

any way I can use the program box with both Esc's?
Currently I have to downgrade the program box firmware to see the Justock and then upgrade it to see the v3.1
You need the 3 in 1 multifunction box to run the both versions .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 10:32 AM   #11570
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
You need the 3 in 1 multifunction box to run the both versions .
this is the one I have:

http://www.falconsekido.com/products/lcd-program
__________________
A800 HW XR10Pro HW G2 4.5T|||B5MFL HW StockSpec Team Powers 17.5|||VTA: Awesomatix EVO 1.1 Orca VX3 |||F1:
Xray X1 2016, HW V3.1, Ride XR Tires, D4SS 21.5|||Futaba 4PX|||iCharger 308Duo
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 02:09 PM   #11571
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayL View Post
Yes that will allow you to run both .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 06:40 AM   #11572
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,811
Default How to get smooth reverse settings

Can someone share the software/settings required to get a smooth transition from reverse to forward on an Xtreme stock?

Currently using the latest blinky software and there is a distinct pause-then-lurch as you go from reverse to forward. Makes no difference whether you wait at neutral.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 08:18 AM   #11573
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
Can someone share the software/settings required to get a smooth transition from reverse to forward on an Xtreme stock?

Currently using the latest blinky software and there is a distinct pause-then-lurch as you go from reverse to forward. Makes no difference whether you wait at neutral.
I tried loads of stuff trying to make this work:

930 and 508 firmware
Xtreme Stock and an Xerun 60A
Several makes of motor
Different DRRS, neutral width, sensor cables etc.

Nothing worked. It looks to me like the ESC gets lost on the sensor position when going from reverse to forwards, so you get inconsistent behaviour. Sometimes it will get stuck for a couple of seconds before taking off.

In the end I gave up and went with a different ESC for my GT12, which did sadden me as I love HW ESCs, but decent reverse for club racing can be worth a lot of laps.

I don't know if the v3 is any better; in general it seems to be better with sensor issues so it might be.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 09:26 AM   #11574
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
I tried loads of stuff trying to make this work:

930 and 508 firmware
Xtreme Stock and an Xerun 60A
Several makes of motor
Different DRRS, neutral width, sensor cables etc.

Nothing worked. It looks to me like the ESC gets lost on the sensor position when going from reverse to forwards, so you get inconsistent behaviour. Sometimes it will get stuck for a couple of seconds before taking off.

In the end I gave up and went with a different ESC for my GT12, which did sadden me as I love HW ESCs, but decent reverse for club racing can be worth a lot of laps.

I don't know if the v3 is any better; in general it seems to be better with sensor issues so it might be.
What ESC did you switch to?

I gave up on Hobbywing ages ago after sticking with them for far too long. Software for the older speedo's never got sorted properly after years of updates. v3 may be better (friends who race seem happier) but I've got no intention of spending money on Hobbywing any more. I'm only using the ESC in my daughters car but I'm not even sure it is good enough for a 7-year-old!
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:26 AM   #11575
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleburr View Post
I tried loads of stuff trying to make this work:

930 and 508 firmware
Xtreme Stock and an Xerun 60A
Several makes of motor
Different DRRS, neutral width, sensor cables etc.

Nothing worked. It looks to me like the ESC gets lost on the sensor position when going from reverse to forwards, so you get inconsistent behaviour. Sometimes it will get stuck for a couple of seconds before taking off.

In the end I gave up and went with a different ESC for my GT12, which did sadden me as I love HW ESCs, but decent reverse for club racing can be worth a lot of laps.

I don't know if the v3 is any better; in general it seems to be better with sensor issues so it might be.
Even better than reverse for more laps is not having to use reverse!

Also that pause before the start after reverse is programmed into the ESC so you don't destroy the drivetrain. You're not supposed to be able to hammer it from reverse to forward instantly.

The Hobbywing escs are fantastic. They've been used to win a whole bunch of competitions in both on and offroad.

I figure if it's good enough for the top names in racing (Andy Moore, Atsushi Hara, Paul Lemieux, etc...) I should be OK with it too.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 03:01 AM   #11576
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
Even better than reverse for more laps is not having to use reverse!

Also that pause before the start after reverse is programmed into the ESC so you don't destroy the drivetrain. You're not supposed to be able to hammer it from reverse to forward instantly.

The Hobbywing escs are fantastic. They've been used to win a whole bunch of competitions in both on and offroad.

I figure if it's good enough for the top names in racing (Andy Moore, Atsushi Hara, Paul Lemieux, etc...) I should be OK with it too.
Hara probably doesn't have to lap backmarkers 10 times a race, being driven like they're a pinball in a machine bouncing from barrier to car to barrier.

For my TCs and buggy I wouldn't run anything other than a HW. But for club level GT12 racing (which at times isn't much better than banger racing), decent reverse is a must. Horses for courses.

Also, I've been racing long enough to know what a reverse delay is. If the delay was intentional it would be consistent, and wouldn't sometimes need the car to be pushed to get it going again.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 08:27 PM   #11577
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 747
Default Just Stock software

Just got two HW Just Stock ESCs for USVTA and USGT racing. What is the latest software version for this ESC and what do I have to do to get it installed on my ESCs?
John Wallace2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 02:38 PM   #11578
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wallace2 View Post
Just got two HW Just Stock ESCs for USVTA and USGT racing. What is the latest software version for this ESC and what do I have to do to get it installed on my ESCs?
V3 508 zero timing is the latest.

Please search my tutorial on youtube.Hobbywing usb link tutorial that will explain what to do step by step.

Regards Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 02:40 PM   #11579
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,206
Default

Just so you guys are aware it is the responsability of the seller to warrant your product and the last resort will be to contact the factory.So if you bought your product from the Hong kong online stores the product must be returned to them for inspection,repair or replacement.

Remember warranty is from date of sale with proof of purchase if a proof of purchase is not offered then the product is warranted by day of manufacture which can be an issue come time for warranty so please safe guard that proof of purchase or its going to be hard for me to help out.

Thank you for your understanding .

Angelo
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 03:10 PM   #11580
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,938
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

is a warranty card supposed to be included in the box? got my just stock yesterday from pete and its not in front of me, but i thinking i dont recall seeing one ? and is ther any new updates for the just stock esc that i should look into? not to familiar with that line .

and BTW thanks to Pete at fierce for the fast shipping now i can race it tomorrow .
__________________
Alan Hall
AE B5r
AE B5/SC10
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0