R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2013, 06:04 AM   #11176
Tech Regular
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a hobbywing xtreme stock 60a esc, I don't own the program box yet. Is there a way of turning off the timing without the program box? (I ran it without the sensor wire plugged in but its not as smooth)
TB03Racer09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:18 AM   #11177
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

If you just set boost and timing to 0, it'll be in blinky mode.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:19 AM   #11178
Tech Master
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TB03Racer09 View Post
I have a hobbywing xtreme stock 60a esc, I don't own the program box yet. Is there a way of turning off the timing without the program box? (I ran it without the sensor wire plugged in but its not as smooth)

Here is the link for the Xtreme stock. If you have the manual you can also look there. It gives you the steps to do it manually. Basically you have to count lights/beeps. Turn on the esc with the red setup button pressed. Hold until the light turns green keep it presses it will beep once for calibration, make sure you hold it until green light. That will get you into program mode.

http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=249
__________________
Hobbywing of North America/FalconSekido www.falconsekido.com
Hobby-Pro USA www.hobbyprousa.com
Dialed RC Hobbies/VP Pro USA www.Dialedhobbies.com
lewis110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 06:31 PM   #11179
Tech Regular
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've tried the set key method and it didn't work. I looked at the manual and it says the set key method is invalid when using firmware with 15 programmable items...doah. I guess I will have to wait until I get the program box
TB03Racer09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:35 PM   #11180
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TB03Racer09 View Post
I have a hobbywing xtreme stock 60a esc, I don't own the program box yet. Is there a way of turning off the timing without the program box? (I ran it without the sensor wire plugged in but its not as smooth)

Ezrun no problem but the xerun series is very limited in programming without the lcd program module
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 11:38 PM   #11181
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robkitetop View Post
Cobra can you confirm this? Manuel of the esc states that 'timing' can be used with both sensored and sensorless motors.

Thanks,

Robbert
Timing will work without a sensor but turbo and other features need to know where the rotor is positioned at any given time to work .
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 01:30 AM   #11182
Tech Rookie
 
Robkitetop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
Timing will work without a sensor but turbo and other features need to know where the rotor is positioned at any given time to work .
Thanks Cobra. So Boost from the STOCK firmware should work with the sensorless motor or are you referring to the 'AMTS' timing in the older MOD software?
Robkitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:23 AM   #11183
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,173
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robkitetop View Post
Thanks Cobra. So Boost from the STOCK firmware should work with the sensorless motor or are you referring to the 'AMTS' timing in the older MOD software?
Boost/Turbo will only work with a sensored motor, with the sensor plugged in. It needs the sensor to know when in the rev range to apply the extra timing.

AMTS should work with a sensorless motor, as this just add's a set amount of timing to the motor, regardless of RPM. Think of it in a similar manner to motor endbell timing, but applied by the ESC.

Regards
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:57 AM   #11184
Tech Rookie
 
Robkitetop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Boost/Turbo will only work with a sensored motor, with the sensor plugged in. It needs the sensor to know when in the rev range to apply the extra timing.

AMTS should work with a sensorless motor, as this just add's a set amount of timing to the motor, regardless of RPM. Think of it in a similar manner to motor endbell timing, but applied by the ESC.

Regards
Ed
Thanks for clearing that up Ed! We can either run 13,5t blinky or 12t sensorless at the race. It's a fast flowing track with a long straight so I need the high RPM of the 12t motor. Going to try to increase the 'AMTS' timing and play with the gearing while monitoring the temps.
Robkitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:00 AM   #11185
Tech Elite
 
BoneCrusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 2,127
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default 12th scale 4.0T speedo setup help

Does anyone have a starting setup I can try for:

12th Scale Modified using a 4.0 Reedy Mach 2 using a Hobbywing V3.1 1s speedo for an indoor ozite track 36 x 80 feet? Including rollout?

What settings after should I play with with different track types? I'm an intermediate skilled driver.

Anyone's help is much appreciated!

Ivan
__________________
ARC R10, 12R5.1, Tamiya Mini, MTS FFv2 Pro, Exotek F1
carcar.ca
BoneCrusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:57 PM   #11186
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: nassau new york
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

When will the V10 motors be in stock.8.5 turn.Thanks.
tripleh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:48 AM   #11187
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: england
Posts: 304
Default

Hi is there any difference between the stock extreme and just stock for 17.5 blinky? Thanks...
__________________
stcc ssb tires, ko ,gm motors, demon products lipos, hobbywing speedo
mwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:15 AM   #11188
Tech Adept
 
RoyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Manteca. CA
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwoods View Post
Hi is there any difference between the stock extreme and just stock for 17.5 blinky? Thanks...
The xtreme stock is 60a and the justock is 45a.
RoyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:58 AM   #11189
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyB View Post
The xtreme stock is 60a and the justock is 45a.
Plus the Xtreme Stock has the additional features of Boost & Turbo settings.
If you're only ever going to race 17.5 blinky then go for the Justock esc. There's numerous racers that use the Justock and like it for it's simplicity, and for it's smooth & reliable performance.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
BSR BT-4 / Turnigy / Hobbywing / Savox / Trackstar
Serpent Eyrx2 & ARC R10, Hybrid / Orca /Hobbywing /Savox / ProAmps
Castle Hill Raceway https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:17 AM   #11190
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,207
Default

Roar approved v10 motors 1 month away.
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0